We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, close to USF and VA Hospital” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11408 North 30th Street, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #43 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great spot, close to USF and VA Hospital”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a little gem -- the place is quiet, has an excellent warm breakfast selection (for free) and has likely the most friendliest staff I've run into for a while. You are literally across the street from the University of South Florida, and about 2 blocks away from the Haley (Tampa) Veterans Affairs Hospital. I think you're about a half mile away from Busch Gardens too. If I had a need to come back to the area, I think I'd pick this place in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    105
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
134
60
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just stayed two nights for a business trip in Tampa. Rooms are clean but showing its age. Free breakfast selection not bad. Staffs are great, very friendly and handled me a giant chicolate chip cookie and a bottle water at check in:). Overall a great value for the price I paid.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our family stayed at this Hyatt for graduation from USF. It seemed to be totally full for that weekend, however, we never felt crowded. The pool never had more than a few people in it, I worked out alone in the fitness room, breakfast was not busy at all and parking was easy. The rooms were nice - the setup was great with each side kind of sectioned off. We had everything we needed for our stay. As a note, someone complained about no microwave - we didn't have one in the room, but there is one that stays out in the breakfast area if you need one. The breakfast was really good and they have plenty of room to sit and eat. The pool area was nice and the ability to get almost anywhere in Tampa was great. The only two things I'd point out are the elevators could be slow - there are only two and the hotel was full. And the rooms smelled a little damp - both of them. I noticed dehumidifiers in the hallways, so it could have just been a humidity thing. The smell wasn't overwhelming, just noticeable and I did not notice any water damage or anything obvious. The staff was really great to work with - very pleasant. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I don't know that any rooms were better than others because of how the hotel is situated. Maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Since I learn a lot from reading other people's reviews, I decided to leave my own. I ordered two rooms for two nights. The Good-The staff is great and quick to help you solve any problems and always smiled and said hello to you. So I applaud their efforts. I am allergic to feather pillows so they traded the pillows out for non-allergy ones. Thank you! Don't be afraid to order food from the hotel either, it was suprisingly good. The Bad-The rooms haven't been updated for what looks like 20 years. Sagging couches, stained furniture and rugs, there was no hot water in one of the rooms. And the rooms had a slight odor to them (like dog). The mattress was the worst ever with so many lumps in it I had a terrible backache by morning. And there is no microwave in the room. The elevator was one of the slowest moving thing I have ever had to wait for. There are only two baggage carts so you may have to wait for one upon check-out (or for check-in). And usually you will have do this one on your own. The fitness center was nice, we didn't get to use the pool as they had a large group(s) of children visiting at the time. At over $169 a night, I expected a little better room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at a Hyatt Place and I am growing to love this chain. The customer service is fantastic - the staff gave me a tour when I first arrived and explained everything thoroughly. They greet you as you enter and exit the hotel. The rooms are well designed and spacious - I feel like I am getting so much for my money. This one is within view of Busch Gardens and USF, so a great location if either of those places are your destination. It was quiet, clean, and comfortable. I love the shower, good pressure and spacious. The breakfast is vast, with many selections, hot and cold. The only reason I gave it a 4 out of 5 was that it was difficult to regulate the temperature in the room. I couldn't get it just right - it was either too humid or too cold. Other than that, I would highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We took our kids to the Hyatt Place and it was a great price to be close to Busch Gardens. I had read reviews about how courteous the staff was and it was absolutely true! Hugo helped us on many occasions and he had only started a couple of weeks ago. Everyone was so helpful and polite and truly went out of their way to help us. The rooms were good in size and had a nice sitting area for our family. The only thing I didn't love is that the parking lot lights were very bright so in the middle of the night, I wasn't sure if it was morning or not. If we head back to Tampa, we would stay here. The free breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you are planning a trip to Busch Gardens, this hotel is less than 5 minutes away and they offer some great amenities such as breakfast buffet, 24 hour menu, bar, shuttle service, etc. they also have a nice pool and fitness center. The immediate neighborhood is not the best, but it is fit next to the park and a very close drive to many chain restaurants. The rooms are oversized with a separate living and sleeping area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Busch Gardens

Address: 11408 North 30th Street, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Tampa
#28 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Busch Gardens 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Tampa/Busch Gardens, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, features 126 newly converted rooms. Each spacious guest room features a high-definition 42in. flat panel television that easily integrates with laptops and other electronic devices, refrigerator, coffee maker, plush Hyatt Grand Bed and a comfortable Cozy Corner with sleeper sofa. The Hyatt Place Gallery offers an innovative approach to select service dining. Complimentary continental breakfast buffet is inclusive every morning and features complimentary Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Place Tampa
Hyatt Place Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa
Hyatt Busch Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.