We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11408 North 30th Street, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #39 of 159 hotels in Tampa
1 review
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for our weekend getaway to Busch Gardens. The location was great and the staff was very friendly. We took advantage of the free shuttle which was very convenient. For a buffet breakfast, there were lots of choices. The staff even made modifications on one particular food item for me.
The rooms were clean and seemed to be newly updated. They had a mini living room as well as a separate bedroom. I would definitely stay there again on my next trip to Busch Gardens.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    109
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
139
62
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here two nights recently and enjoyed our experience. The rooms were spacious and decorated nicely. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the entire setup of the room was great. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the proximity to Busch Gardens was great.

The only drawback was the breakfast in the morning. It was fairly standard food that did not have a lot of taste.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We booked this place because of its proximity to Busch gardens, and could not be happier with our choice.
Great staff, fantastic breakfast, good pool for the kids, huge clean rooms and quiet night sleep what more could we ask for....oh that's right they also saved us $15 a day in parking at Busch gardens by shuttling us too and from the park. We will be back.
Also forgot to mention their room service menu is good and very reasonable pricing, no gouging.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in between a road trip and we fancied Busch Gardens. Hyatt came highly recommended through a friend and we were disappointed from the off. We arrived late on the first night and we were given a room that stunk of drugs and tobacco and the night porter could not help us try and swap our rooms. So we ended up with a loud air blower to try and rid of the stench as it was unbearable. Next day the supervisor was helpful enough to whack points not my gold Hyatt membership but these points are not enough to use back in the UK I have just discovered making the points redundant. This has made me angry as our overall trip was ruined. The rooms had stains along the floors and the pay per view films we watched late at night after busch gardens kept on having a failed stream so our viewing stopped and started every 10 minutes.

Breakfast ends at 9.30 every morning and one of the mornings I came down pretty much at the last moment. I tried to salvage something but the moment 9.30 hit the staff did a clean sweep of putting all the breakfast times away while m trying pick something out. A bit of understanding would of been great.

On the small amount of positives the staff were friendly and the shuttle service to the park was much appreciated.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartow, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this Hyatt Place with our 24 Polk State College students and 3 other chaperones and a bus driver while attending a music symposium at the Univ. of South Fla. We were very pleased with our room (immediately next to elevator yet quiet, 4th floor) which was a king room. Upon arrival in the room, it was slightly musty (not as fresh(cleaning product) smelling as many in which we've stayed), but all appeared quite clean and once the a/c was turned down a bit, it smelled better throughout the stay. (We also noticed dehumidifiers in the hallways and some of the students commented on musty smelling rooms.)
Thought about rating 4/5 due to musty areas, but so much else made up for it I decided to keep at 5 stars. I attribute the musty smell more to facilities issues than actual housekeeping. Our room was very clean, well appointed, and very comfortable. The refrigerator had no freezer, however, my 'freezer packs' (for keeping insulin cold as we travel) stayed frozen in the mini-fridge for 2 days when we turned it on coldest setting. The shower was great! No tub (step-in shower w/ nice glass doors!), grab bar, non-slip mat provided, and ample space. The shower head had good pressure, no soft water (thank goodness!), and the shampoo was good. (see pictures)
The bed (king) was pillow-top comfortable with plenty of pillows, soft clean sheets, warm, soft thick covers. Slept great!
The room was spacious for husband and me and in addition to the bed and shower/toilet areas included a queen sofa bed, desk w/ chair, wet bar area, 42" lcd tv, and nice size vanity area which opened to the bed area. The small closet also contained a safe, iron & ironing board and enough room for plenty of hangup clothing. The door to the closet was mirrored - so no shortage of mirrors.
The students were staying 4 to a room and with the way the rooms were laid out - were more comforable with the king bed & queen sofa bed set-up than if they'd been in the 2 double bed rooms which were unavailable. With the vanity and wet-bar areas - there was plenty of prep space for all the students to work on their appearance at one time.
This facility is one of the best in which we've stayed when traveling with school groups. It was convenient to USF and provided breakfast as part of the room cost. This is a great help to our students who are usually short on funds and big on appetites. The breakfasts consisted of 2-3 hot dishes (2 egg offerings and waffles) along with 2-3 fruits, milk, juices, coffee, little donuts, bagels, variety of toasting breads, yogurt, cereal, hot oatmeal and all the fixins for those items you would want. The staff did a great job keeping up with the breakfast rush of students who were preparing for long days of rehearsals.
The staff was friendly and helpful - even the young man sweeping the hallway offered to help with my luggage as I was leaving - very kind! We checked in at 4:30 and they had all the room keys ready and packaged for each room of students & chaperones (we had 10 rooms, I believe).
Basically the same room layout & amenities as the Lake Mary (FL) Hyatt Place we stayed back in August - except that the shower door at the Tampa location was full closure instead of partial closing. Tampa had the better shower enclosure!
Although we felt quite safe inside the hotel - we cautioned the students about going out alone at any time - esp. at night. The area surrounding the hotel is primarily business and other hotels which makes the area around the hotel a target for 'transient' crime. Just be smart about not going out alone and pay attention to surroundings.
Note if viewing our uploaded pictures...these pics were taken upon our departure - the room had not yet been serviced. It was actually very nice upon arrival.
We plan on returning to this hotel next year for the same event!

Room Tip: 414 was next to elevator (as was room 416 and 415 was across from elevator). We only had noise issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

There are closer hotels to Busch Gardens but this is the nicest we've stayed in and you need to take the shuttle with any of them. The included breakfast is actually good (how rare.) The rooms are nice but the couch in our room was a bit worn. Free internet, freindly staff, pool is ok. If you travel with kids there is some seperation from the king bed and the pull out sofa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Went to Bulls game for frat reunion. Close and nice place. Hyatt Place is becoming a preferred place for us in out of the way places in big cities. Very quiet. Nice room with big shower instead of useless tub. Breakfast was nice with "egg mcmuffin" and scrambled eggs. Nice reception at check in. Would return.

Room Tip: We were in 401...end of the hall...very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Busch Gardens

Address: 11408 North 30th Street, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Tampa
#30 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Busch Gardens 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Tampa/Busch Gardens, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, features 126 newly converted rooms. Each spacious guest room features a high-definition 42in. flat panel television that easily integrates with laptops and other electronic devices, refrigerator, coffee maker, plush Hyatt Grand Bed and a comfortable Cozy Corner with sleeper sofa. The Hyatt Place Gallery offers an innovative approach to select service dining. Complimentary continental breakfast buffet is inclusive every morning and features complimentary Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Place Tampa
Hyatt Place Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa
Hyatt Busch Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.