We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel for Busch Gardens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11408 North 30th Street, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel for Busch Gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt Place for 2 nights over Memorial Day weekend while we visited Busch Gardens. It's very convenient to Busch Gardens - right down the street - so the location and TripAdvisor reviews helped us choose. The whole area that Busch Gardens is located in is pretty run down with a lot of vagrants, so we wanted a nice hotel that helped us feel relatively safe. When we pulled up, it was a relief to see the Hyatt Place had a welcoming exterior. We're spoiled and we're used to 'Disney level' hotels and service, so of course it wasn't up to those standards. But the staff were friendly and we checked in with no issues. The room was a little beat down. The spaciousness and the tv were nice. Even the beds were comfy. But it smelled a little musty from the window a/c unit and it just didn't seem super clean. The couch was very dingy. I would not sit on it, you don't know where it's been. The bathroom was dark and a little nasty in corners, so we just didn't look. The bathroom sink was clogged so we brushed our teeth in the other wet bar sink instead of calling someone to repair it. I'm sure housekeeping knew it was clogged before we checked in if they had actually cleaned in there. Some kids ran down the hall screaming at 2am with the sole purpose of waking people up. It worked, but that could happen in any hotel. Overall, it was a decent place to sleep at night and our car was safe in the parking lot. I guess that's all that matters.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    113
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
142
62
13
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Clean rooms, quiet location but not to far from many restaurants, shuttle service to Bucsh Gardens was VERY convenient, towels and sheets were soft and comfortable, breakfast was hot and a vast selection, the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Justin. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, it was very comforting, and if ever in the area would stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor, and had no problems. We booked through Busch Gardens website, and foun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

A nice clean and comfortable 3 star room in my opinion, for the price. Excellent staff! Very friendly. My room had a large couch, 2 doubles, flat screen, fridge, desk and was comfortable. I slept good on the bed. It's right across the street from the Univ of South Florida, campus, close to Busch Gardens.
Free breakfast bar and Starbucks a plus!
I will stay there again. The staff has no grumpy people which made my stay excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt Place Busch Gardens for one night on a business trip. From the outside the hotel looks dated, but the rooms have been decorated and modeled to appear more modern.

My room was very clean and the bed was somewhat comfortable. There is free breakfast in the lobby during the morning. The hotel is very close to the Busch Gardens theme park, so many families are at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights while we spent days at Moffitt Cancer Center. Clearly our trip wasn't a joyful one, but each member of the staff was helpful and very caring. The breakfasts contained a good assortment of breakfast foods that should fill anyone's stomach. Each morning there was different selection. The rooms were large, and with the separate couch and "kitchen" area, there was a place for me to sit and drink coffee while my husband slept. An improvement would be to have a smaller reading light so the room wouldn't be flooded with light. We enjoyed the large TV when we had a chance to use it. I thought the price of movies was ridiculous, however. Our room was clean and well kept. The third day, however, it was not as clean as the first two. Clearly, a new attendent did the cleaning. Overall it was a good stay.
Rosie D

Room Tip: I don't have one. But I do have one for Trip Advisor. Add another "reason why the trip wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Purchased backage from Busch Gardens and chose Hyatt Place as the hotel choice, and the price we paid including tickets and all-day-dining for one full day was great value. This Hyatt Place has great customer service and the staff/breakfast servers, went all out for you. They run a free shuttle to the park (which saved you parking $$$) but the downside is that the van is limited in seatings and you have to reserve in advance for both going AND coming back!!! 2 other days that we wanted to go and use the van shuttle, they were already fully booked :-(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochrane ab
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed here two nights because of it's proximity to Busch Gardens. Certainly didn't live up to Hyatt quality. Room was dirty, and even after asking to have it cleaned, still came back to crumbs and bottle caps on the floor from previous guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Busch Gardens

Address: 11408 North 30th Street, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Tampa
#30 Business Hotel in Tampa
#39 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Busch Gardens 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Tampa/Busch Gardens, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, features 126 newly converted rooms. Each spacious guest room features a high-definition 42in. flat panel television that easily integrates with laptops and other electronic devices, refrigerator, coffee maker, plush Hyatt Grand Bed and a comfortable Cozy Corner with sleeper sofa. The Hyatt Place Gallery offers an innovative approach to select service dining. Complimentary continental breakfast buffet is inclusive every morning and features complimentary Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Place Tampa
Hyatt Place Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa
Hyatt Busch Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.