We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 E Cass St, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #45 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here for 1-nite to attend a play at the Straz Center. Hotel was clean, & well kept, staff was courteous, friendly, & professional. The room was clean, bed was super comfortable!
Easy 5 minute walk to the Straz Center, and about 15 min walk to Tampa Convention Center.
Save yourself a few dollars by skipping the valet parking service [$14/day], and park at the Poe Garage [$7/day]. The Poe garage is attached to the Straz, thus an easy few minutes walk to the hotel.
One thing I forgot to mention to the hotel staff was that the spa tub was over-chlorinated; the steam was burning my eyes

Room Tip: Easy location to get to ... in the heart of downtown Tampa, a short drive from I-275, & SR 60
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    81
    41
    12
    3
See reviews for
45
48
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I attended a conference at the Straz Center. This location is walking distance and was very convenient. A room was not available when I arrived so I stowed my bags in a friend's room until later that night. The room was not super clean, but of average cleanliness. The first night I was there someone was playing music very loudly on the ground floor until 1 a.m. I was never able to determine if this was a nightclub or something else. It was the middle of the week, but it was disruptive to my sleep. There is a limited service restaurant downstairs and a small store that offers a few food and other convenience items. It came in handy as I got a cold and was bedridden during the middle of the trip. I was able to grab a meal and some medicines and get some rest without leaving. Staff was nice. No complaints other than the loud music outside...

Room Tip: Check with the front desk to make sure you are not placed near nightclub outside, or wherever the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback. I hope that your cold is much better by now and we are glad that we had some items to assist you during your trip and illness. We hope to see you again should you come back for another show at the Straz Center. Being only 2 blocks from the Straz Center for Performing Arts we are a very convenient location. Best regards and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for one night as we were seeing a show at the Straz. Great location within walking distance. Hotel room was a bit dated, especially the bathroom. Bed was firm but comfortable. Wifi in my room (312) was spotty. Great courtyard with pool and spa. Nice bistro with Starbucks coffe in the lobby. Friendly and efficient check in and valet parking. A bit noisy, but hey, it's downtown. For the price, I expected better toiletries.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in lots of hotels. Easy to tell fake friendly from legit friendly. This place has legit friendly staff throughout the facility. Yashica is amazing and an example if how they take their jobs personally. Stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the exceptional review. Based on how many reviews you have done I guess you do know good service when you get it. I will be so happy to share your comments with Yashica and the rest of the team. We strive hard to deliver a customer experience like the one that you had and it is good for them to recieve that recognition from the guests. Thank you and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

First let it be known that self or valet parking is $14.00 per night.. Not to bad for a down town location.
Check in very easy The staff well trained, which made me feel really good. They even asked me for a picture ID when I presented my credit card.. Thank you to their training manager.
My room was very clean and seemed well maintained. BUT !! The a/c was very loud when on high. I finally found a happy medium at mid-cool without any further problems. I could not figure out how to reset the clock radio. A wake up call was ordered and I got the call on time. The bistro and bar was very clean and not to expensive.
The shuttle brought me to my meeting and picked me up with no delays. I had enough time to relax for a while before a very generous check out time of 12:00.
While checking out, my car was being brought around to avoid any delays.
My experience was very good except for a couple of loud trains during my stay.

Room Tip: A room on the back side of the property might drown out the train noise a little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwater
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The good- Friendly receptionist and greeting. Surprisingly great breakfast (cooked to order). Good coffee in room. Hi-def TV. We got room with jacuzzi bath and that was heaven though quite slow to fill. Valet person very helpful when we left as we were in a hurry.

The not so good-.We were on the top floor (sixth) and it was very noisy from cars on the street, at 11:00PM at night. We had to get up at 5:45AM and it was hard to sleep. Then at 11:00PM a train comes buy and blasts it's horn for about five minutes. My wife and I actually laughed and said nobody would believe it. Bed was only semi-comfortable,seemed like a relatively older type of mattress. Only had valet parking which was $14/night. However most of the downtown hotels stick you with that.

In all fairness, it is in city central. If you like hotels in Manhattan NY, you won't be bothered. But surely they could insulate better.

Next time we'd stay about a mile away from downtown in Westin or near the water.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you don't want street noise. Stay her if you don't care, it's dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. I am glad that you found the staff super friendly and that you liked the location. I do apologize about the street noise. While you did point out that we are a downtown location and located in the heart of the city noise is not generally an issue so I do apologize. Thanks again for the review and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glace Bay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed one night, convenient location with free downtown shuttle. We used the shuttle to go to the times forum, and walked back. Clean, quiet (never heard a bit of noise), friendly helpful staff. (the people in the Tampa area were great. Couldn't be nicer . friendly helpful .)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are in close proximity to the events at the Times Forum and even though it is walkable having the shuttle makes it really easy. We hope to see you again soon for a future event and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Address: 102 E Cass St, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Tampa
#39 Business Hotel in Tampa
#42 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Tampa Courtyard
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.