We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 E Cass St, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #45 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Great location and very nice staff. I stayed on a recent Saturday night in an even numbered room facing the Residence Inn. I did not experience any loud music from neighboring establishments as reported by a previous reviewer. There is some light music piped into the courtyard between the two hotels but is shut down at 11:00pm. Overall we were very pleased and would definitely return.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your positive experience at our hotel. Reviews like yours are great to pass along to the staff. Safe travels and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    76
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
42
44
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Local dance club on the block rocks the neighborhood from 9PM until 2AM on Friday and Saturday nights. Even-numbered rooms facing the Residence Inn get blasted. Its unrelenting bass, drums and screaming vocals. Front desk says, "It'll be over at about 2." Miserable nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I do apologize about the noise issue the bar across the street. We generally do not have any issues like you posted especially from other reviewers on-line. The bar is a "Martini Bar" so it is not known for loud music. I am unsure if this past weekend was a special event or some sort. I will look into it and not make sure that this does not happen again. Generally it is a great spot for a drink and the noise issue is a non-factor. I do apologize and appreciate you informing us about your experience. safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed for the weekend of Gasparilla as we are in one of the krewes. This is a great location since it is central to downtown and easy to get around. We knew the property would be sold out and very busy during this weekend, but you would not really have known it based on the hotel's preparation for the "invasion". The were plenty of front desk staff as well as valet staff. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to ensure we had a good stay.

The rooms are basic Courtyard rooms, so nothing fancy, but clean, spacious and comfortable. Our room had a mini refrigerator, which was useful for storing a few waters and beverages.

Some of the other reviews mentioned road noise. The hotel is located downtown. You have to expect that there will always be some level of noise when your hotel is in the middle of the city. The rooms themselves seem to be pretty well insulated as I did not hear any noise from adjoining rooms.

Thank you again to the staff of the Courtyard for their great service! We will definitely be back again next year for Gasparilla!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I am so glad that you had a great experience at our hotel. We love our Gasparilla events here at the hotel and look forward each year to the parade. I will share with my staff your comments on the great service. We work hard to give great servive to all our guests. Safe travels and I hope to see you next January for Gasparilla 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here one night prior to our cruise and would recommend it to others...it's a friendly and clean hotel with the basic amenities and service, and a nice bargain for the price. Free shuttle to the cruise port and within a 2 mile radius. Has a small pool, two nice hot tubs and a basic gym. Because hotel is small with limited amenities, I wouldn't recommend for longer stays but overall nice value close to some of Tampa's attractions.

Room Tip: Courtyard-facing room recommended as front of hotel is on busy, downtown street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on your hotel experience. We love our cruise passengers here at the hotel and as you noted we are one of only a few hotels that offer free transportation to the cruise ship port. Thanks for the helpful tips to our future guests. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for New Year's Eve. Rate was far better than any of the other hotels in the area. The entire staff went out of their way to offer friendly, gracious service. (Towels arrived in less than 5 min, front desk arranged van service pronto, etc). Rooms have all been recently renovated--however, stains on carpeting in room, furniture already looking worn. Rooms located away from elevators & vending are also located closer to either 1 of 2 roadways that have heavy traffic. Our room overlooked pool, & the traffic was to our left. The water from the pool seemed to increase the sounds of traffic---all night long.
Housekeeping needs a few lessons in basic cleaning. Furniture surfaces were dusty, top of tub (corners where tub meets wall tile) were dusty. Wiped across the top of the shower curtain rod (wanted to drape my towel across it) & the towel picked up a bunch of black residue. Wiped it 5 or 6 more times until towel no longer picked up any black stuff. The front of A.C. Vent had thick dust balls poking through. We could only imagine what it looked like on the inside....we didn't turn our A.C. on at all. Sink area really needed a shelf or a few hooks for hanging/holding necessities.
Probably won't return. Too noisy for us and not very clean

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your input on your stay. We pride ourselves on our customer service and our cleanliness here at the hotel. I am sorry that you felt we fell short in one of those areas. We appreciate any comments that can make us better and we will make sure that we have that addressed for our future guests. As you can see from other reviews this truly is the exception and have a strong history of positive reviews. Thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My employer General RV was taking part in the Greater Tampa RV show and we all camped out for 5-7 nights at the Courtyard. It was clean and comfortable the staff friendly and the daily breakfast buffet ample and tasty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive comments on your recent stay. I have passed along your comments to the staff and I have to agree that it is the people that make the hotel experience! As you mentioned, the hotel shuttle can take you anywhere in the downtown area especially if you don't feel like walking and exploring the city in that manor. Thanks for the helpful tips. Safe travels and we hope to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here during our visit to Tampa for the Children's Gasparilla Parade weekend. Great hotel. Standard double-double rooms have enough space for a rollaway bed. Complimentary refrigerators are available as well. Our sons appreciated the basketball court in the back. As other reviewers have said, the only parking is valet, but the staff is friendly and efficient. We left our car parked most of our visit and used the complimentary shuttle to navigate the city. The hotel is located near the performing arts center, the children's art museum and the riverwalk. The staff was the best aspect of the hotel. Kudos!

Room Tip: The sleeper sofa in a king room only folds out to a twin bed, not a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive comments. I am biased, but I would agree with you that our staff is what seperates us from the rest! I am glad that you had a positive experience and were able to get out and see some of the special offerings that our downtown provides. Thank you and safe travels to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Address: 102 E Cass St, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Tampa Marriott
Tampa Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.