We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 E Cass St, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #38 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here for new years so of course the price was higher than usual. We had originally picked out the only room left that had a jacuzzi tub in it. But when we checked in, they asked if we could trade rooms and offered us a cheaper price. The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms were very nice and clean and had nice Asian theme to it. The bathrooms were clean and nice as well. It was close to the downtown attractions. We took their shuttle downtown which was even more convenient.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guest714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here because we had to go to Tampa Hospital. It's just an average hotel, pretty clean, and very nice employees. Most of the restaurants around the hotel are for breakfast and lunch, and not for dinner. That was disappointing because we thought that staying at this hotel would give us more choices for dinner within walking distance.

Room Tip: No comment here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LPalmieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your review on the property. Since your review we have renovated our lobby and now have an on property restuarant that is open during the evening serving everything from salads, sandwiches, to flatbread pizzas and ribs! Our complimentary hotel shuttle service can also take you anywhere within a two mile radius and to some of the best restaurants in Tampa. I hope that you give us another try when you come to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Beautiful Hotel paid top price for this then found out "no wi-fi" unless you go to lobby or pay $14.99 a night for the connection. One hand towel in room, two used rolls of toilet paper with
no back up, no shampoo, three bath towels for two guest. When we went to desk to ask about
store to buy water we were sent out of hotel instead of directed to gift shop that was in a corner. Save your money and go somewhere that appreciates you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen9422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Eileen,

I think you may have your hotels confused. We do have free Wi Fi wired and wireless in the rooms and complimentary wireless in all public areas. So I agree paying for internet service is uncalled for at hotels! I have been at this location for 7 years and we have never charged for Wi-Fi service. Also, vending is centrally located on all guest floors and we also have a "Market" area that is located right beside the desk with water, assorted sodas, candy and other snack items. I apologize for the confusion but should you come back to the Tampa area I hope that you try us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we were attending a concert at the Straz center. It was perfect, it's right across the street and all we had to walk was a block. Hotel only offers valet parking ( an amenity that I'm not thrilled with) and beware because I did have quarters missing from my center console (thankfully I had taken anything of electronic importance out of the car but my change holder was not topped off like I usually have it nor how I had left it). With that warning out there, they did bring our car pretty fast. Check in was fast as well. The hotel does not have free breakfast but offers the full breakfast buffet for 8.95, there was another option for continental buffet only but I am unsure of the price. The bed was really comfortable as was our room layout, a king with a couch, and a desk. The bathroom I have to say was the nicest and my favorite of any hotel I have stayed at. It was a corner tub so there was A LOT of room and that was a nice feature. The toilet was also somewhat separated from the tub area and that was a nice thing to not have to be crammed up in a little bathroom. We opted to skip out of housekeeping so can't rate that but when we asked for extra towels they were in the room within 5 minutes. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly. There is a pool area with jacuzzi and basketball court. There is also a fitness center. We did not use any of those as it was too cold outside for pool. If you get hungry there is a little market that sells some snacks and drinks and some medicine and you can charge it to the room. You can walk about 5 blocks and catch a streetcar that will take you to Aquarium, channelside, st. pete times forum and ybor city. its $2.50 each way or $5 all day, we did this and found it to be a nice way to get around. The hotel really is pretty centrally located when you factor in the trolley (m-f only) and the streetcar. Overall it was not a bad stay, we really liked the hotel (sans the valet issue) and would return for a future event.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fist floor and it was quite and a nice to not have to wait for an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frogster14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The hotel offered a shuttle that took you within a two mile radius free of charge. Easy to get around town. Inside condition of hotel clean and quiet. Desk personnel very helpful. Price was good.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the street side. It is pretty noisy on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I've stayed at this location several times, but it had been a few years prior to my most recent visit. The hotel is located on the north end of downtown within easy walking distance of the Performing Arts Center. Channelside, the Aquarium, and the St Pete Times Forum are not within easy walking distance but the hotel does offer a free shuttle. There is a bar in the lobby and a small fitness center, pool and hot tub. Rates are very reasonable for the area. My only complaint was the fact the A/C was a bit loud. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank The-Master-Planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGregBrooks, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your positive experience. We are very proud of our recent guestroom renovation. Thank you for also mentioning our free shuttle. As you mentioned it can take you anywhere in Downtown and Ybor City. I have noted the noise associated with your AC and will immeadiately have someone correct the issue. Again. Thank you for your response and I hope you continue to comeback when you come to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed over a Saturday night prior to a cruise. The rate was great, a senior's rate for under $100 with tax. This seems to be an older Courtyard but our fourth floor room and the corridor were beautifully decorated, lively, colorful and inviting. Not a scratch to be found. Upon inquiry I was advised that the room was refurbished within the last month.

The front desk clerk was the operations manager who was cheerful, friendly, helpful and composed when juggling the demands of multiple guests.

You can purchase breakfast at the facility. Instead we ate twice at a breakfast and lunch restaurant called First Watch located three blocks south on Tampa Street. Highly recommended. There are plenty of restaurants south of the hotel but fine dining options seem quite limited within walking distance.

Three ships were departing Tampa Sunday morning. Courtyard has an hourly shuttle that takes you to the piers but you need to sign up. We took a cab that wasn't expensive.

I've stayed at Courtyards in five states and never had a bad experience.

If out walking, I would avoid going due east from the hotel on Cass Street. Its desolate and void of activity.

If you're a practicing Catholic and staying over Saturday night, there's a beautiful Franciscan church, Sacred Heart, located on Florida Ave and E. Twiggs Street. Walk three blocks south on Tampa and two blocks east on Twiggs St. (Do it as suggested because of comment in previous paragraph.) The well-attended and welcoming 5:30 PM Saturday Mass was celebrated by the pastor who delivered an excellent homily. Sacred Heart also has frequent Sunday morning Masses.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoKen60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#20 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Address: 102 E Cass St, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Tampa
#41 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#44 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Tampa Marriott
Tampa Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing