We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service at a Great Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF

Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3751 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jerusalem
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Service at a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This is a really great hotel for the price. I actually stayed here the weekend of my wedding. We had the entire wedding weekend there. The reception was across the street at USF. Manny and the entire staff were incredibly helpful and attentive. I didn't say anything about the location because it played no role in my decision to be there other than my wife's family lives in Tampa. It is about 30 minutes from the airport. But any serious critique of its location would be that Tampa is no jewel of a town. As for the rooms, the bedding was great, the televisions were flatscreen (i think) and the bathroom had a huge tub. My parents actually stayed across the street at the Embassy suites as did my wife and I the night after the wedding (we are honeymooning this summer) and frankly the rooms at the wingate were far nicer! We had a price below $100 a night. And I have never seen a room that nice for that amount of money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    176
    54
    13
    9
See reviews for
310
125
34
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PORT ORANGE
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

To begin with, I am disabled and travel with service dog. They accomodated me with a very welcome attitude. The GM, Manny Aguiar, is a delieful host who had just had surgery but was there to greet and willingly assist his staff with their duties. They very obviously have a lot of respect for him and when they speak about him it is with a smile. I had a problem with my dog and an employee, Rebecca, offered to walk him and hold him in her office til I could take care of him. Clearly above and beyond her duties and very much appreciated. They strive to accomodate their guests in any way they can. Breakfast til 10am daily was healthy and even had waffles w/strawberries and whipped cream, omelets and fesh fruit. The 24hr indoor jacuzzi was especially nice when it rained. My aches from the bad weather disappeared. All in all a very pleasant 4 day stay and will always stay there when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We selected this hotel because of it's close location to Busch Gardens (about a mile). I can't say enough positive things about the staff, from the General Manager to the courtious shuttle drivers. They are all first class and sincere people who care about their quests. We stayed in a Jr. suite with two king beds. Our five-year-old daughter loved having her own huge bed to herself. The room as well as the rest of the hotel was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast buffet was better than most and included just about every breakfast item you could think of. We used the free shuttle service to Busch Gardens and back several times. They were always on time and best of all, drop-off and pick-up were right at the main gate. We found the jacuzzi very relaxing in the evenings and our daughter loved swimming in the pool, the pool is not heated so it was a little on the cool side for a Floridian. Overall, we are quite happy we selected this hotel and would stay/recommend there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We spent 3 nites this past week at this hotel. The location is great. It's central to the University and Busch Gardens. Not far from downtown and less than an hour from the beach. The area is clean and it's a short drive to many chain restaurants. The hotel and the room was super clean. It has a workout room and indoor hot tub and outdoor pool. Hot tub worked great but had a lot of chlorine. Which is great as you know they are keeping it clean but was tough on the eyes. Pool is small but clean. Water is not heated and was too cold for me to swim in, especially since it was cloudy most days. The free breakfast was decent. A nice variety but could have used more fresh fruit. This hotel also has a small bar area with beer, wine & fountain sodas. The room was basic but spacious, beds very comfortable with nice comforters and soft pillows. Bathroom was a little small but shower had good pressure and was plenty hot enough. Mini fridge is pretty small. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. After 3 days they were getting to know us!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

A great hotel if you are on the go. The room was well decorated, clean and cozy. The bathroom was also clean. Breakfast was great for a warm continental breakfast. The jacuzzi was inside, the water was cold and we could not heat the water. The outdoor pool was very small however it was well maintained. This hotel has recently been renovated (rusty AC vents in the ceilings, and some of the the trim paint was sloppy). Overall great place to stay for one night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

The Wingate on East Fowler Avenue in Tampa across from University of South Florida is conveniently located for USF and other nearby attractions. Manny Aguiar, the General Manager, is an exceptional host, and his staff knows that Manny intends all his guests to be kept happy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

My family traveled to Tampa for a visit to the Shriners Hospital. We have stayed at different hotels during other visits, however, we have never been as pleased as we were at the Wingate!! Our check-in experience was great!! It was quick and easy. We were given maps and recomendations of good restaurants nearby as well as places that deliver. Traveling with a special needs child and a toddler, it was very helpful that they provided information and directions to nearby stores such as Wal Mart and Target!!! The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were brand new and very well kept. We had all amenities we could hope for! We were VERY please and more than satisfied with our stay. We will stay at the Wingate EVERY time we go to the Shriners Hospital for future check-ups!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF

Address: 3751 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#8 Family Hotel in Tampa
#11 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#11 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#17 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.