We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ship shape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3751 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ship shape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Spent the weekend here while shooting some pix at USF. Found the staff to be pleasant and accommodating though not particularly outgoing. The room was clean and in order. We requested an upper floor and found the floor to be quiet. What ever they use as potpourri or fragrance in the hallways is odd, not offensive but strange none the less. Can't quite place how it made us feel.

The morning breakfast was adequate and on a par with what we've come to expect from mid level stays. Not Embassy Suites fare, but the Embassy Suites across the street was twice the price for this stay. Couldn't justify that for this trip.

Overall this was a good choice and we would stay there again should the need arise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
The Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/USF appreciates your time to write a review of our property and your experience. Our staff enjoys delivering a level of hospitality that is professional, courteous, and helpful to all of our guests. We are glad that you found our Complimentary, 45 item Hot Breakfast Buffet satisfactory. In the future, we hope you choose the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/USF during your next visit to the Tampa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    202
    58
    18
    9
See reviews for
343
138
36
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very nice hotel with a great staff. We celebrate our yearly company getaway (14 rooms) and it was a success thank you to the Wingate Hotel. Special recognition to Mr. Aguiar, Krystal and Cosmito for going the extra mile with our group. Nice rooms, clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our property. First, we would like to thank you and your company for choosing the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/USF as your hotel-of-choice when visiting Tampa. Also thank you for your kind compliments on Mr. Aguiar, Krystal and Cosmito. As you highlighted, they always go above and beyond for our guests and are enormous assets to our team; we appreciate your compliment on them! Here at the Wingate, we like to maintain a high standard of cleanliness for our property and rooms, and are glad that we met yours and your company's expectations. We look forward to accommodating yours, as well as your company's visits to the Tampa area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The conference I was going to had multiple hotels listed and this was the only one without any complaints listed in the review-so I chose it, I was so happy I did. There was free breakfast every morning (waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, fruit, etc), the general manager gave me so many great options for eating out. The room was clean, got extra pillows and towels without being treated like they thought I was going to steal them. The laundry room, jacuzzi, pool, workout area were all well maintained and clean, no weird smells. It was a great four days. I highly recommend Wyndam. Oh ya the only negative was the TV program guide on the beautiful HD TV didn't match the actual channels so it was confusing trying to find what I wanted to watch.

Room Tip: We had room 303 facing the road on the West end of the hotel and heard a fire truck one night for ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/USF! We are glad you were able to experience and utilize some of our featured amenities such as the Complimentary, full 45 item Hot Breakfast Buffet! We look forward to accommodating your future visits to the Tampa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great staff, great hotel-worth the money. We had a very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed one night after a flight from London. Nice, large rooms; super comfortable beds (like sleeping on a cloud). Nice bathroom and everything you would expect from a chain hotel. It was easy to find and check in/out was very easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback about your stay at the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/USF. We are glad that you found our beds extremely comfortable and our rooms very spacious. We like to provide a stay for our guests that is both comfortable and memorable. We look forward to your stay during your future visits to the Tampa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF

Address: 3751 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#18 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.