We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I found this hotel!! Great Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF

Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3751 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Glad I found this hotel!! Great Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I looked up Hotels on Hotels.com and made my choice by reading reviews. The first hotel I went to had a 4.5 out of 5 stars and good reviews. When I arrived the place was a real DUMP!! There were several groups of people out at the pool drunk being very loud and smoking like crazy!! I was not about to stay there with 4 kids. So now I'm in an unfamiliar area at 10:30pm with 4 children in the car! I started looking for hotels close to where we were and everything was sold out. Luckily Wingate by Wyndham had a room for us. The hotel was wonderful. Free shuttle to Busch Gardens is a plus it saves you $15.00 a day in parking fees. The staff is very friendly and accommodating we needed a roll away cot and extra towels they had them to us in less than 10 minuets at 11pm. The free breakfast was good with lots of choices. SO IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A HOTEL THATS SAFE FOR A SINGLE WOMEN WITH KIDS TO STAY AT WITH A FRIENDLY STAFF AND A GOOD VALUE STAY HERE!!! The only problem there was the weekend we stayed is one elevator was not working so it took a little longer to get up or down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    190
    57
    18
    9
See reviews for
331
131
36
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very nice property with good staff. Clean comfortable room and bed, large breakfast area with all the typical choices found in smaller hotels. Free paper at your door. As title says no complaints and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I am always leery of booking a hotel, especially in Tampa due to a very bad experience there in the past. This hotel is very clean in all areas (one of my pet peeves). It is conveniently located close to Busch Gardens and University of South Florida. The front desk and check-in was quick and pleasant. The rooms, beds, pillows are comfortable. The free breakfast had a good variety of food, waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, cereals, fruits, yogurt, etc. I will definitely stay here on my future visits and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Tampa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Wingate thanks to a high recommendation from my in-laws and we will definitely choose Wingate again next time we plan a trip to Tampa! Our family of 4 had a great experience from check-in to check-out. My husband actually got an injury right before our trip and on arrival we asked if there was any way we could switch to a handicap accessible room and they accommodated that request without hesitation. The room was updated and bed was comfortable. We also asked for extra pillows and blankets for our kids on the pull out couch bed and the pillows they gave us may have been even more comfy than the ones we had on our bed! The continental breakfast was actually really good with a great variety of hot and cold foods. They also have a later check out time than anywhere else I saw when I was shopping around for hotels (Noon!). Every day the room was cleaned and good as new when we returned to our room. The pool was also very clean and they had plenty of towels in the pool area. Not to mention it is open late and the Jacuzzi is open 24 hrs. They also have a shuttle available for Busch Gardens. If you choose to use the service, you just let them know when you want to leave, they schedule it and give you their card so that you can just call them when you're ready to leave the park. They were even going to let us use a wheelchair for my husband (rather than pay to rent one from Busch Gardens) but we had already rented a scooter for my husband for the week already. You just can't beat this place, especially with price in mind. We highly recommend Wingate!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF

Address: 3751 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#15 Family Hotel in Tampa
#19 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.