We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spring break trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3751 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    202
    58
    18
    9
See reviews for
342
138
36
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My son and I stayed at this hotel recently for the USF Campus tour. The staff was personable, friendly, and professional. We were quite pleased with our room. It was large, nicely decorated, and extremely clean. All the amenities that you'd need were also included. Although, it was a short 2-day stay, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
It was such a pleasure to read your comments. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the candid comments about our staff. We are glad you found the property clean and convenient. Again, thank you for choosing Wingate by Wyndham and definitely come see us again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked this hotel for just one night before a day at Busch Gardens and after a full day of touring FSU in Tallahassee. Having driven a total of 9 to 10 hours and spending about 4-5 hours touring FSU and the surrounding area, to say we were weary when we checked in at 10:30pm is an understatement. Check in was smooth and Beatriz couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful. She signed us up for one of the morning shuttles to Busch Gardens and reminded us of the complimentary hot breakfast that runs from 6 to 10am.

The room was clean, good sized and relatively quiet. The provided toiletries were nice and there was a placard advising us to inquire at the front desk if we had forgotten anything that wasn't provided. The room had a small safe, good sized mini-fridge, small microwave and a coffee maker with Wolfgang Puck coffee pods. The beds were comfortable despite my husband's constant movement!

The hot breakfast offered lots of options - eggs, sausage, make-your-own waffles, biscuits, assorted breads, pastries, fresh fruit, cold cereals, oatmeal packets and so on. Pleasantly staffed and clean. There is a small lobby bar that serves wine and beer during limited hours and it seems that coffee is always available in the lobby. There was an outdoor pool and an indoor jacuzzi - if we'd had more time on the property we would have definitely taken a dip in the jacuzzi!

We used the complimentary shuttle service to and from Busch Gardens and left our car at the hotel where parking is free. Transportation is quick to get there and back with front gate drop off and pick up. No hassle at all and the drivers were courteous and helpful.

Our family likes Busch Gardens and we will definitely use this hotel again. We can not recommend it enough for anyone needing a home base near the park. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlacha, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were there for the Tango Festival at USF. (We have no other affiliation with the university)We really enjoyed the accommodations and the staff. The shuttle service was wonderful--the drivers so friendly and willing to be of help. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Because we had rather formal dances as well lessons, we really appreciated the fact that you still have long mirrors. (Apparently, some hotels are doing away with them.) We also made use of the ironing board, iron, microwave and small fridge. The breakfast staff worked hard to keep the area clean, the food stocked, and the coffee urn full. It was an extremely busy weekend at the university with a baseball team from and Ohio university there to play the SFU Bulls. The team's parents' group was also there, as well as we dancers from as far away as Brazil. We look forward to coming back next year (or sooner if the occasion comes up).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the services beneficial. We are glad the complimentary shuttle was of service to you. We like to provide the complimentary breakfast to ensure our guests get a good start on their day. Thank you for your candid comments about our staff and property. Thank you for choosing Wingate by Wyndham USF and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF

Address: 3751 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#14 Family Hotel in Tampa
#19 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.