We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3751 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Tallahassee, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. We checked in on Friday, jan. 11, 2013 at around 6:15pm. The young guy working in the reception desk at that time is probably one of the most helpful and friendly reception person my husband and I have ever met. He provided us directions and help with everything we needed. But he wasnt the only nice person on the hotel. Everybody was nice there. The room was very clean and comfortable. The pillows need to be "upgraded" though. The hotel was quiet. They have a nice pool and a jacuzzi. The exercise room is small. The breakfast is delicious and it included fruit, eggs, cereal, pastries, bread and much more. The hotel is located 5 minutes or less from Busch Gardens. We REALLY enjoyed our visit and are planning to stay here again next time we visit Tampa!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We greatly enjoyed reading your comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit and found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. Customer service is a main priority here and our staff is always willing to help. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and found our location conveniently located to Busch Gardens. Again thank you for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    206
    59
    20
    9
See reviews for
350
139
37
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed for two nights in Dec while visiting Busch Gardens. Firstly, they have great staff - very friendly and helpful. One of the reasons for chosing this hotel was the free shuttle service to Busch Gardens and it was very convenient. You gave them your schedule and they worked with that. A simple call to the front desk when we were done at the park and they arrived within 10 minutes. We also used the shuttle to visit the MOSA museum. The room was clean and a nice size, typical free breakfast with lots of seating and there is a small bar in the lobby for that drink after the park. There is no restaurant, but there are several that will deliver to the hotel. I was happy with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our property. We take pride in great customer service and staff friendliness. We are glad you found the room spacious and clean. The complimentary breakfast is to make sure our guests start their day off right. We are also glad you found the complimentary shuttle service to Busch Gardens convenient and prompt. As you mentioned we do not have a restaurant onsite, however we try to have a wide selection of restaurants that do deliver. Thank you for all your wonderful comments and we hope to see you on your next visit to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I took my granddaughter for her first "Florida vacation" beginning the day after Christmas. We went to Orlando and I paid almost as much for a room at a motel as I did for this EXCELLENT hotel. The entire staff was wonderful. Since we were traveling from Orlando (although only an hour away) we wanted to take a nap before hitting Busch Gardens. Being allowed to check in early was such a relief for us both. The room was more than expected - king size bed with sitting area complete with sofa and coffee table - refrigerator and microwave. Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was satisfactory and replenished every five minutes or as needed. Attention to every need was met with a smile! Connie and Cosmito were beyond gracious and loved helping us as well as other patrons of the hotel. Having the convenience of a shuttle straight to the front gate at Busch Gardens (and Adventure if wanted) was a blessing that enabled us to visit the park without worrying about parking and shuttle. Just a phone call away for pick up allowed us to stay until we were tired! Will definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side of the hotel with a view of Busch Gardens - very quiet even though it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We are so glad you had such a wonderful stay with your granddaughter. It is so wonderful to hear such wonderful comments about our staff. We try to create an enjoyable and pleasant experience for all our guests. Things such as the shuttle and complimentary breakfast are just ways to create this experience for our guests. We are glad you found the room spacious and comfortable. Again thank you for your candid comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Busch Gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF

Address: 3751 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#14 Family Hotel in Tampa
#18 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.