We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, safe and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF

Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3751 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 158 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hampden, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, safe and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in 2009 and 2012 while attending family events in St. Petersburg/Tampa. Our first experience was wonderful and therefore it has become our location of choice. My second visit I traveled alone therefore safety, cleanliness and security were key. This location offered all of that plus a free hot breakfast, pool, jacuzzi, gym and bar. The front desk staff were very helpful on the phone and with directions and suggestions. The rooms are large and very well kept. Slept like a baby on the very comfortable King size bed!

Room Tip: King size rooms are generous. Coffee pot, hair dryer, iron, fridge and microwave in the rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
It is so wonderful to see repeat guests. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share you experience with us. We are glad you found the rooms clean, spacious, and comfortable. Security and customer service are a top priority here at our location. We are glad everyone was helpful and were able to assist you. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and our 24 hour jacuzzi. Thank you for making Wingate by Wyndham your hotel in Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    165
    52
    11
    8
See reviews for
294
116
33
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

spend 2 nights for business in that area
if you're looking for something to do in tampa - this place is really far from all tampa's action places (and there aren't so much there anyway...)
it's really near a high-traffic road (fowler) but the rooms are eventually quite
the room was nice but could be cleaner (the carpets felt really not clear or too old)
the staff was very helpful and nice
breakfast was very basic (not that you'd expect for more than that in this kind of hotels)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil and all around
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was our second trip to Tampa. Both times we went to Busch Gardens and both times we chose Wingate by Windham USF because of the good price and the unbeatable location. The complimentary breakfast is nothing to rave about, but it is free and includes basics (like fruit, milk, spreads and bread) and even a subpar juice and waffle (which you can make fresh, but does not taste particularly good). The fact that the gym and the hot tub stay open all night is also great, specially if you are traveling with friends and hope to unwind. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but travelers should be aware of the low quality of the toilet paper and the fact that you are not sleeping in 400 count linen - it is all comfortable enough, though. All in all, a solid choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
It is always so wonderful to see repeat guests. Thank you for taking the time to review us online. We really appreciate all your comments and like to learn from each guest experience. We are glad you found us conveniently located to Busch Gardens and were able to enjoy the 24 hour jacuzzi and fitness center. We are sorry the complimentary breakfast was not everything that you expected. We try to offer a wide range of items to fit all guest needs while still abiding to brand standards. Thank you for choosing Wingate by Wyndham and are glad you were satisfied with your overall stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAYETTEVILLE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excptionally clean hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hot breakfast each morning was a special treat. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. We stayed 4 nights and hated to leave. Like a home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We appreciate your candid comments and review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our facility clean and comfortable. Our staff tries their best to accommodate all guests and fulfill their needs to the best of our ability. Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you on your next visit to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF

Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham
Address: 3751 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
#4 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#10 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.