We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just kept getting better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Tampa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #49 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“It just kept getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We ended up at the InterContinental because our flight out of Tampa was overbooked. We were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves at the InterContinental, where they could not have been more receptive. The shuttle to and from the airport was easy, the check-in fast and efficient, and the ride up to our room on the outside glass elevator fun. The business center had three computers and a printer, and except for between 5-7, we had easy access. It's nice to be able to check-in on your airplane from the convenience of your hotel. Anyway, while you can eat in the restaurant, we chose to got outside. We found the large mall across the way, where we ate at the food court. On the opposite side of the hotel we found several places to eat, plus a Walgreens. Had it not been so cold that night, we would have wandered further afield. The hotel has a great location. Back to the room.....nice, clean, with a floor to ceiling window which looked out into the interior of a large business complex. Our bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom fine, though not luxurious. While this hotel was not the Bellagio, it was excellent, and we had a nice, relaxing stay before heading out the next day.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    307
    117
    45
    43
See reviews for
153
227
71
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. The hotel staff service was friendly & helpful. I held meetings at the hotel and the staff was very attentive. I also ordered from room service and it was great. They have a free business center in the lobby.

All around wonderful stay! I would stay here again when I am in town on business again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Stayed at InterContinental Hotel Tampa for one night Jan.9 and was completely happy with everything. Room was very modern and clean to go along with a nice sized bathroom. Check in was hassle free and parking is also free if you self park in the garage which is very easy. The pool on the 9th floor is outdoor but heated and the evening we were there it was low 30's but my kids swam for almost an hour. Alot of towels and nice change facilities.
I would stay here again. Also got it for a very good price on Hotwire. $57.00 A steal for a place of this quality.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

We arrived after a marathon journey thanks to extra security checks courtesy of our Nigerian friends terrorist type antics on Christmas day.
The hotel is situated in a none-descript area but only minutes from the airport and quite convenient for the rest of Tampa's attractions. Decor is nice and rooms quite smart. The in-room dining was double expensive so I hot footed over to Taco Bell and Walgreens over the road.
The other reviews mentioned noise from the lifts which is true. We were a good distance from them but you could still hear them. Not noisey but could cheese you off if you're into complete silence.
Breakfast in the restaurant from the buffet is very good and service good also. We ate there in the evening when it is a steak restaurant. The steaks were very good if slightly pricey. The wine list prices were astronomical which was a disappointment. We found drinks in the 3 hotels we stayed in were farcical. You felt like you were being ripped off which left a negative feeling every time.
The only other point of note is that the rooms face an office complex so you can watch them at work and they can watch you getting dressed if you don't keep the curtains closed. We thought the glass would be that reflective type so they couldn't see you...well, it isn't! Overall it's good and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

A nice enough hotel and staff but a bit isolated. Perfectly fine for a business trip but not much of a place for anyone looking for nightlife outside of the hotel itself and the nearby mall. Odd coffeemaker that brewed weak coffee.

The double bed rooms are quite cramped. Fridge is packed, so don't expect to store anything at all in there. Very comfortable beds and nice linens. Staff is polite and friendly enough. WiFi service was spotty in my room. Coffee shop downstairs opened up at 7 a.m. on Sunday, which forced me to grab coffee a half-block away before my early flight out. The showerhead struggled to stay in place and tub/shower faucet was wobbly. No bathrobe or slippers provided for my stay. Hall noise was a bit more than I expected as well as the elevator noise.

The hotel is located by a mall with a couple restaurants - Maggiano's and PF Changs - and very close to the airport. (Wait for the free hotel shuttle or else you will get hit with the flat $25 taxi fee from the airport - even though the hotel is only a mile or so from the airport.) Not too much else in terms of nightlife outside of a $20 cab ride one way. Expensive steakhouse and bar in the hotel itself.

Pool is rooftop area, small and doubles as the smoking area. Not much of a view, although the atrium is nice enough, I guess. The non-bayview rooms look across the atrium to offices. Inspiring.

Since I was there for a football game and the nightlife, I would have been much better off by Channelside (a mall-ish area just off the downtown) or Ybor City. There is a neat streetcar service in those areas that doesn't extend anywhere near this hotel. For business, this property is fine if you are looking to stay close to home and - even better - billing it all to an expense account. For leisure, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clair, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We had a great stay for two nights before sailing Carnival Legend Cruise Liner. This Hotel is in a great location, the Westshore Mall is just opposite. This mall has very easy access for Pedestrians, several food court including McDonalds are available. The Popular restaurants such as PF Changs, Maggiano's Little Italy, etc are there. Burger King, Taco Bell, and Walgreen’s are within walking distance.

The Hotel staffs were very courteous and made our stay a memorable one. This Hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

The Interconteniental Tampa is a gem. The building itself is gorgeous. My room was immaculate, with one of the finest beds and linen sets I've found. The room decor is lovely, aided by the ceiling-to-floor full windows. Free parking in the attached garage was a HUGE plus. You don't find that very often at hotels of this calibre (which is really DUMB!). Having a terrific mall with a large movie theater right across the street makes this location perfect if you want something to do, but don't feel like driving. You can walk to the mall with no problem. Every staff member was efficient and cordial. I totaly loved my stay here!

Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#11 Green Hotel in Tampa
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#38 Family Hotel in Tampa
#40 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Hotel Tampa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, InterContinental Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.