We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lackluster, again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Tampa to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #54 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lackluster, again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Filthy brown tapwater, no working light switches, and $7.00 for a bottle of water were just a few reasons why I can't recommend this hotel.

I quickly noticed that the clock in the room was off by more than an hour. Otherwise that could've been a problem for my evening dinner plans. Unfortunately, I didn't notice the alarm was set for midnight. That WAS a problem. But only one of several problems I encountered. The noise from the elevator made falling asleep challenging. There were no drinking glasses in the room, which was probably for the best given the brown, dirty water. I still couldn't bring myself to pay $7.00 for a bottle of water.

On the upside, I appreciated the complementary sewing and nail file kits in the room. The furnishings were upscale and looked nice, although the bed was not terribly comfortable. The front desk staff were tremendously friendly upon check-in and checkout. Overall, I can't recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We are truly sorry and certainly disappointed to hear about the perception you are left with about our accommodations. We will certainly use your feedback to make improvements. On a more positive note I am pleased to hear you found our team welcoming. I hope you will stay with us again for a much better experience that I know we can provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    398
    174
    61
    53
See reviews for
196
301
87
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
145 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the most modest IC i've ever stayed at, difficult after a lovely stay at Miami.

It is clearly a revamped lower category property.

It has the branded steakhouse.

Presidential Suite was an average, or below average at other IC's.

We moved to Clearwater.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am forced to stay here for business. I hate this place. Took me 30 minutes to check in. They block your cell service so you have to pay $13.95 a day for super slow wifi. Dinner was a $22.50 sandwich. The ginger ale was $4 for a can. My trashcans were all sitting on top of tables. I would never voluntarily stay here. Hopefully this kind of gouging hotel is a relic of the past.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We treat every situation as an opportunity to learn from and this is certainly one of those times. It is always of utmost importance to us to ensure that our guests and customers leave the hotel satisfied at all times. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that I am truly sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter and I came here for two days of business, with four clients, on a three city trip. We travel a lot, and under no circumstances could this hotel qualify as an upscale business hotel. My most senior client, who used to work in the hotel business and chose this from the others in Tampa called it 'a dump' and wrote a letter to management. It is dated and dirty and the service people are surly and uncooperative. We arrived late at night, and my daughter, who is pregnant, just wanted cereal and milk. At 11:30 pm we were told they might have dry cereal but no milk. NO MILK? They do not serve coffee or tea at night. This is not room service. We asked if they could send up creamer, and we'd mix it with water. They didn't know which cereals they had, couldn't find any creamer, and weren't sure if they could get us a bowl. This went on for almost two hours. By 1am they were still looking for cereal. I called to tell them we were exhausted and to just skip it, and they didn't even apologize. We would have been better off with Motel 6. The next morning we had the worst buffet breakfast ever. We ate at 10am, and they hadn't freshened the eggs or biscuits for hours. Depressing place and service. Stay away.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank You for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us
I am deeply troubled to hear about your experience at our hotel. The situation that you encountered at our hotel was pretty rare, but that does not make it any more right. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the less-than-courteous service you received as well as for the limited late night menu. I hope you feel able to visit again to that we may restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, our fifth.

It is well located with convenient indoor parking. Rooms are comfortable, clean and well maintained. Weekend rates are a good value.

Danielle at reception is a standout employee and went above and beyond to assist us during our stay.

Fee wifi for members of their frequent guest program was a nice perk.

All in all, another very pleasant stay and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Cincinnati
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

While it was a good stay, I was a bit disappointed at the cleanliness of the room. The layout of the hotel is interesting with the various floor locations and entrances to the office complex. The bar area is good but again the decor is very dated. "most" of the staff were very friendly and helpful, but there were at least 3 that seemed like it was a burden for them to answer any questions. Not my first pick in the area if I am close by.

Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I was concerned to read your feedback and please accept my apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We are looking into the issues that you mentioned, and we thank you for bringing them to our attention. You deserve much better as a guest of our hotel, and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you the real, world-class experience upon which we’ve built our reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are IHG members and received fabulous treatment! Needed a mini fridge, it arrived within 10 minutes. Everyone was courteous and the food was perfect from lunch in the lounge/bar area to dinner at Shula's. It's easy to access from the airport and we could walk to the mall with great shopping and restaurants. Wish they had a concierge's lounge, but the price is very reasonable for a nice hotel in Tampa.

Room Tip: I've never had a bad room on multiple visits to the property over the years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
4.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#44 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Hotel Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, InterContinental Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.