We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay before an early morning flight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Tampa to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #53 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The place to stay before an early morning flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I were leaving on an early morning flight out of Tampa International airport. We live about an hour away, but knowing the traffic coming into Tampa we chose to stay at The Intercontinental. We were leaving for a 23 day trip in Europe and we learned about their long term parking. This hotel was the perfect choice. We booked an executive King room. It was nicely appointed but nothing out of the ordinary. The staff was very nice. We were able to have the valet park the car using the long term reservation number. We were not charged the parking fee for that night. We didn't have to lug the car keys around Europe. We were able to get ready in the morning and hop on the hotel shuttle - a very quick ride - to the airport. When we returned we just called the hotel and got the shuttle back to the hotel. Our car was waiting for us right in front. We did not have an opportunity to eat at the restaurant but there is a small snack area where we did get coffee. If you are off on a trip this is the best way to leave your car, get a good nights sleep, and have no keys to loose while your off to your adventure.

Room Tip: Read the hotel website or email the hotel if you have specific questions or requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    378
    163
    54
    50
See reviews for
185
287
82
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We absolutely loved our stay!! Gorgeous room and the best nights sleep we've had in a long time!! Thank you Natasha for all your guidance and fabulous suggestions!! Yessy made us fabulous illy coffees that made our morning just right! Thanks for a great stay Intercon Staff!!!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When flying out of The Tampa Airport we always use Global Parking and park at the Intercontinental which has covered parking at a very good rate. We had an early flight out to the west coast and decided to drive to Tampa the night before and stay at the Intercontinental and catch the shuttle to the airport in the morning. Paying $200 a night for a room and not getting free WiFi still really ticks me off. Even Motel 6 has free WiFi.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I traveled to Tampa on business, staying two weeks at the intercontinental. I am a longtime guest of the Crowne Plaza in Tampa (also excellent) and was disappointed that I was not able to get in there on this trip. At first. However the staff and facilities of the InterContinental won me over almost immediately.

The room was spacious and comfortable, with what is now traditionally an entire igloo's worth of pillows piled on the beds. Seriously, this many pillows? There's surely some Holiday Inn with no pillows because the factory ran out.

The staff were all quite helpful and personable, assisting me with multiple printed documents and receiving packages at the desk for me. I didn't care for being told I "have a small package," but the clerk cleared up what he meant right away.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked the hotel for Sat night with an ear!y flight the next morning. Upon arriving late Friday (stayed with friends that night), we had less than 30 minutes to change for an event -the purpose for our visit. We called the hotel to ask if we could change there -' they could NOT been nicer! Helped us out - and we made our event. Next night - very late check in folks we equally accommodating. Room was nice, clean &comfortable. For our brief stay, we could not have done better. We will stay again

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had booked a room with a king size bed and guaranteed it to my credit card. When I checked in, the front desk attendant made no mention of my room type. When I got to the room it had two double beds. I called to inquire, and they said they were all out of rooms with king beds. The air conditioner in my room makes a loud humming noise. Not a good first impression.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. I am very sorry for the noise problem with the air conditioning and that we were not able to accommodate your king bed request. When booking through a third party the bed type request is not always passed on to us. We are committed to ensuring that each guest has a restful and renewing experience with us. We hope to welcome you back for a much better experience on your next visit to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel 4 nights last week. When arriving, the hotel looked nice and we were greeted by the valet letting us know how the parking worked and where to park if we didn't want valet. Good think we didn't have a lot of luggage because it was a little ways to the front desk from the parking structure.
Check-in was easy, but there were no rooms available for early check-in. The room was pre-paid thru a 3rd party. We asked for a room not facing the atrium and were told there were none available. We left our luggage at the front desk and went to lunch. We were called and told our room was available. When we got to the room, we dropped off luggage and went to meet friends for drinks. After getting back to the room, we started unpacking and found trash in the drawers and the stocked fridge had not been restocked and was dirty. Looking at the room closer, the floors had not been vacuumed either. After calling front desk complaining, a housekeeping supervisor came up, offered us a hotel credit and made accommodations to move us to a different room as we refused to stay in the room we had.
The second room was just as the first only cleaned and stocked.
We were eventually moved to a partially outside facing room, but it was still facing the offices that share the same building. No privacy with curtains open.
When going back to Tampa, this is a hotel we will not go back to. Charged us $12.21 for a pot of coffee from room service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing out to the street are at the end of the corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am deeply troubled to hear about your experience at our hotel. Checking into a dirty room can leave a negative lasting impression that overshadows the rest of any trip. We will be working with our housekeeping team to find out how and why such an instance occurred. I am glad we were able to move you to a different room. I completely understand your frustration but please know this type of experience is not the norm in our property. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future for a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#11 Green Hotel in Tampa
#35 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
#45 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Hotel Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, InterContinental Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.