We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quality for the Dollar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Tampa to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #56 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality for the Dollar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Business conference weekend. Airport shuttle operates from 5AM till 1AM. Great Front Desk service, very responsive. Close to airport, Westshore Mall across the street. Shula's Steakhouse- excellent. Roof top pool- do not plan on swimming any laps. Fitness Center- clean, functional, 24hr. Rooms are clean and well maintained.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We are excited to see such great comments about the InterContinental Tampa! Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope you choose to stay with us if you come back to Tampa!

-Jeff R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    333
    137
    46
    46
See reviews for
163
253
76
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Would recommend this hotel. Close to airport, affordable with great front desk service. Shuttle from airport to hotel. Rooms well kept. Shopping across the road. Front desk arranged transportation from hotel to port.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for recommending the InterContinental Tampa! We are glad you took advantage of the convenient location! We are happy you valued our staff and rooms at the hotel! We hope you come back to be our guest again.

-Jeff R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

i stayed at an intercontinental in chicago a few months back, which was excellent. even if it wasn't a world-class hotel, it was a very good one, with everything just as it should be. that was not the case in tampa.

and i say this despite the fact that i was upgraded, without request, to a 'presidential' suite. i guess it's unfair to complain when this happens, but i would have rather been in a well-kept, well-furnished normal hotel room.

this suite was worn out, much of it a little ratty and tatty. it had a huge living room with a huge conference table area, sofas, chairs, bookshelves, but most everything a little beat up and/or not good quality to begin with -- uncomfortable stuffed furniture without good underlying structure, no solid woods that i could see. and there were large empty areas that felt like voids, like the designer had simply tired of designing the room and quit 2/3 of the way through.

it also had a very large tv, but not a good one. one would think the tv in a presidential suite would be better than the tv one has at home, or at least as good (i have a $700 50" panasonic plasma, and it is leagues better than the lg or samsung, can't remember which, in the hotel room).

the only advantage to the suite is its sheer size, which is nice, although on a short stay it's hard to really take advantage of that pleasure.

otherwise:
1. the bathroom was fine, nothing special; not very good, much less luxury toiletries
2. the wifi, which had to be paid for, luckily not by me, was very difficult and time-consuming (multiple calls) to get working, and once it did work, it was painfully slow most of the time
3. the lobby space is very poorly designed and uninviting -- one has little sense of being led into a comfortable, relaxing space.
4. the hotel is not far from the airport (though not 'at' the airport), in a suburban no-man's-land, across from a large shopping center. so maybe this is the standard for an airport hotel, no matter what the brand? i don't stay in airport hotels, so i wouldn't know.
5. it was also hard to get in touch with the front desk/guest services two of the four times i needed to -- ringing forever, having to try again.
6. the turn-down i requested at 5 pm for between six and eight never happened, and when i got back to the room around 9 pm, i simply wasn't in the mood to call and complain, much less deal with housekeeping coming up to do it then.
7. when i arrived in the afternoon, there had been storms that morning, but it was just drizzling a bit. still, though, the outdoor pool was closed because of the weather; and even though it cleared up completely, the pool never re-opened. this was annoying, as i had hope to get a little exercise that way in the little free time i had.

ONE VERY POSITIVE THING: the bed was truly outstanding, and i got a great night's sleep.

on the whole, though, one expects much more of an intercontinental hotel, even the regular rooms. and this one, new as it seems, is badly in need of renovation. too many football parties?!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your stay. I have brought up your concerns with our management team to improve in these areas. We wish you safe travels in the future.

-Jeff R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel is advertised as 4 stars, however, based on my experience that is overstating the quality so just understand what you're signing up for. We had average service at best, the room was very worn and overall the hotel felt like it had perhaps once been very nice but had lost its polish. We stayed in a suite for 4 nights and I would not recommend paying the additional dollars...save your money! The walls and furniture showed tremendous wear and tear, the climate control system struggled mightily to keep the room at a comfortable temperature and the bathtub would barely drain. Two out of four days we also came back to no towels despite housekeeping having come and gone. I'm also disappointed in a 4 star hotel when dirty dishes line the hallways all day. Skip the pool area and just head right for the beach. I've seen nicer pool decks at motels. And last but not least the food at the bar is outrageously priced and mediocre. Tons of great restaurants in the immediate area...so skip the hotel and find a nice meal.

Room Tip: Don't pay for a suite - not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced when staying with us. I wish you the best in prospective travels.

-Jeff R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north vancouver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is close to the airport. Makes it a perfect location for business. Shuttle runs every half hour. The beds were comfortable. The room was clean and the service was friendly. The only downfall would be charging for wifi and telephone calls even when I use my calling card.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
I am happy to know you took advantage of the complimentary shuttle, as well as, convenient location of the InterContinental Tampa! I hope you choose to stay with us when you come back to Tampa.

-Jeff R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our family group of 8 adults stayed here for two nights because we could not get a hotel in downtown Tampa due to a big conference in town. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and would definitely revisit. The rooms were clean and bright (we had bay view). Shula's restaurant did a nice breakfast with buffet or a la carte and service was superb. Check-in friendly but let down by the fact that we were left waiting for one of our rooms for several hours and nobody telling us when it was ready which was annoying and frustrating. However this was a glitch which would not put us off revisiting. Good location for two large shopping malls. We went to the Ice hockey in Tampa which was really excellent.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and go for Bay View rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Robert, we appreciate the wonderful comments about the InterContinental Tampa! We are glad we could get you into one of our bay view rooms, and that you had the chance to get to one of the Tampa Bay Lightning games! We hope you come back to be our guest again.

-Jeff R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Every hotel employee I encountered during my stay was extremely helpful and genuinely nice. When my flight home was canceled I was assisted by the front desk and concierge. The hotel was nice, with a coffee shop in the lobby and a nice lobby bar as well as Shula's steakhouse. My room was clean and comfortable. There is a complimentary hotel shuttle to and from the airport.

Green Features: Hotel employs the standard "hang up your towel if you don't need it washed" practice so common these days.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Katerina thank you for such positive remarks about the InterContinental Tampa! I am excited that we were able to assist you when your flight was cancelled. I am overjoyed that you saw value in the café, bar, and restaurant that we have here at the hotel. We hope you choose to come back and stay with us in the future!

-Jeff R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#12 Green Hotel in Tampa
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
#42 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Hotel Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, InterContinental Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.