We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business yes! Family Vacation no...but it is clean and that is good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Tampa to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #54 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Charles, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Business yes! Family Vacation no...but it is clean and that is good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I'll state the good vs. bad. The good outweighs the bad, but for a family vacation it was not really convenient for us. 1) This hotel is beautiful, it is modern and clean. 2) The parking was free. 3) The room was comfortable and the restroom was large. (But I think we were in a handicapped room?) 4) I pricelined this reservation, so I wasn't sure where we would end up. For the price I got, I was happy, but... The BAD 1) This place is expensive. NOTHING is included. 2) no free wifi 3)no free breakfast, nothing...at...all (They want to charge you $18.95 that is for everyone, including children....really??? No thanks 4) swimming pool looked dirty and was too small, wouldn't let my children go close to it. 5) I had to print off my airplane vouchers and tried to do it in the business center, we couldn't get it to print there. Really??? You are a BUSINESS hotel. But the lady in the front helped me print it from her station, so I was happy... 6) No refrigerator, and when we called, they wanted to charge us for "use" of one.... 7) the windows open to the inside and you have a bunch of construction workers and business people looking at you. We are in Tampa, I want to see TAMPA not remind me of work... I had an issue with the remote dying on me. Not a big problem, things happen, I called guest services and a maintenance person came in and fixed the problem asap. I was impressed. The next day I was surprised to see they left a box of two chocolates and a note for the imposition. That was wonderful! I would stay here again on business, but not on family vacation. We enjoyed our stay, we just felt like we needed to sneak around because we were in swimwear and not in a business suit. It is right next to a mall and a Panera Bread (this was wonderful for us, because we are from St. Louis and we love our St. Louis Bread!!! Ahem Panera. ) You have to drive about a half mile to get to the beaches....bummer for us.

Room Tip: We were close to the elevator, and you could hear the elevator working , it wasn't that big of a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard, leave the towels on floor if you want them changed....
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    333
    138
    46
    46
See reviews for
164
253
76
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our Favorite things: Location / Rooftop Pool
Biggest complaint: Room Temperature / Internet


Stayed here as a couple for 5 nights on vacation. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel if you can get it at a discounted price.


Location:
As vacationers we could not have picked a better hotel in terms of location for our trip. Hotel is 2 minutes drive from highway entrance (next to Waffle House) and close to the routes that take you into Clearwater and St. Petersburg. Tampa International Airport is 4 miles away.
Medium sized shopping mall is directly across the street (West Shore Plaza). On the mall property and within 4-5 minute walk from the hotel are several restaurants. P.F. Changs, Maggiano's, Palm Restaurant, India's Grill Kennedy (Indian) and Mitchells Fish Market which we tried and loved. Mall also has an AMC inside.
Within 60 second drive to Walgreens, Starbucks, Taco Bell, Chevron, BP, Burger King, McDonalds, Liquor Store and "Greek Grill".


Room:
Stayed here as a couple for 5 nights on vacation. We received an upper room floor with an outside view room facing corner of mall and street. We enjoyed the decor which I would describe as modern with a vacationy twist on the typical Intercontinental decor. Our room was VERY clean. No rips, stains, mold, hairs, or spots anywhere.
The temperature in the room was never quite cold enough to be comfortable. You could feel the humidity.
No microwave or fridge other than overpriced minibar with built in pricing sensors.
Barely any noise issues. We were not that close to elevators. Couple of muscles cars with loud exhausts 1 night. Exterior window maintenance work woke us up one morning. Guess it has to be done sometime.


Parking:
From the moment you step out of your car to the time it takes to get to your room is about 4-5 minutes. You exit your car in elevated parking garage, enter an elevator, go down to lobby, walk down a long hallway past the restaurant and into next elevator to your floor.....Small annoyance that gets tiring after 5 nights and multiple outings per day. Valet may shave off 2 minutes ?


Pool:
Rooftop pool was my favorite feature here. Yes the actual pool is small but so are most hotel pools. The pool is perched atop the parking garage (but not accessible from) and is connected by a walkway from the hotel. The pool deck offers a view of the Tampa skyline in the distance. As well as views of Old Tampa Bay (body of water) and airplanes from the nearby Tampa International Airport. Some nice sunsets too.


Internet:
There is a daily charge of $12.95 USD for in-room internet.
Lobby guest computers were basically useless for internet the 2 days we tried. First 2 pages might load after a minute each but then the internet just froze completely. Basically useless. We tried restarting both computers and didn't help.
Surprise surprise, we ended up paying for 2 days of internet for $30.00
Tip: If its worth it for you, go to the Starbucks directly across the street from hotel lobby entrance and get free Wi-Fi there. MC Donalds also has free Wi-Fi down the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I question how there could be so many good reviews for this hotel. We booked a "Bush Gardens area hotel" through hotwire. Supposed to be 3.5-7.5 miles away. Hotel was 10+ miles away on very busy 275. Very very noisy hotel. Impossible to sleep. Bang bang bang all night due to loud door locks that sound like a nail gun firing. No insulation in walls? Asked for room change due to noise elevator hallway, was placed in an equally bad adjoining room with crying baby next door. Party girls screaming, crying cursing until 3.30am. Completely got the impression that they put us in a reserved section for discount bookings. Small roof top pool closed due to weather. Small gym adequate but old equiptment. No sauna, no spa, old ruff towels by pool. Absolutely no privacy, can't open curtains due to poor building design, no sound proofing bang bang. Room dark like cave as curtains had to remain closed (unless you are the type who likes 700 offices looking directly into your room. Expensive bar $15 glass of house wine. Clean room. Toilet permanently blocked. If someone paid me, I wouldn't stay here again. This hotel might suit the ear plug wielding voyeuristic type or next door business traveller. Bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear john31NaplesFlorida,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. I am sorry for the inconvenience the noise had caused you. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cctx
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Picked this up on Hotwire. Easy check in, nice room. Quiet the night I stayed. Only regret is the lack of plastic disposable cups. Not a fan of reusing glass in a hotel. Early flight and the shuttle driver was available at 5 am. Would be a great spot if you had time to hang out. Across the street from a large mall, bank, and other convenience stores. Newspaper available as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I book the hotel through Priceline for last minutes stays, while I had business in St Petes. This hotel isn't too far from the airport, so which was nice for me leaving the next day. The hotel shares a parking structure with the work office building right across from it. The check in was ok, and even thou I was Plat member which should waved the internet, I had to talk to manager next morning during check out to clear it. It's a nice intercontinental which I always wanted to stay once. Other than that, I guess I do like the IHG brands high end better than Hyatt.

Room Tip: You want room that face outside the buildings, not facing the office across which can see you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel while on a business trip in Tampa. The room was clean and tastefully decorated and the hotel is located conveniently close to the airport. I particularly liked the spacious lobby, which has many comfortable seats, WI-FI, and complimentary newspapers. My only criticism was of the tacky flyers for pizza delivery that were left in my room. These don't belong in a hotel of this caliber.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Charles, thank you for staying with us at the InterContinental Tampa. We are so glad that you felt our hotel was a good choice for your business travel needs and that we were able to provide you with comfort throughout. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed at this Intercontinental several times and have enjoyed the upscale decor, cleanliness and convenience of location. We always take advantage of the valet parking and have found the customer service from the valet team to be outstanding.

Check in was efficient although no information was given about hotel amenities or no recognition as a returning guest. We were thanked for being an IHG Rewards member but did not receive any special perks that we normally receive such as upgrade, bottled waters, snacks or coupons.

We enjoy this location and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the InterContinental when you are in Tampa! The valet team will be so glad to hear your kind comments regarding their customer service. They do a great job! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#12 Green Hotel in Tampa
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
#45 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Hotel Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, InterContinental Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.