We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Tampa to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #54 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed for business trip. I don't think this is a typical intercontinental hotel as the decor was not what I am familiar with and the room was smaller than my other stays in this brand. The room was average but comfy.
The staff was great, the service was good. I had a quick bite at the bar. The bartender, friendly, fast, knowledgeable and great with recommendations.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback! We are so happy that you had such a great experience with the staff here! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    329
    135
    46
    45
See reviews for
159
248
74
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel mostly because of convenience - I was in town for my medical boards which are held at the business center which is essentially part of the hotel.

Some positives: Close to the airport with free shuttle service that departs every 1/2 hour starting at 5am. Room service options are reasonably good with portions that are, perhaps, a little too generous. The room I stayed in was beautiful and was very well cared for - no housekeeping problems that I noticed. The hotel was very quiet and I got a very good night's sleep. Additionally, the front desk staff were extremely helpful and courteous and there is a free business center where you can access the internet and print things.

Some negatives: The layout of the hotel is a bit weird because it's actually located inside of a business center. Most rooms face out into a center atrium and look across the way into the windows of someone's office. In general - if you can see the office person, they can see you - so you probably should keep your curtains closed! My other (wee) complaint is that the internet is not free. For those who are in town to take the pathology board examination, this is a downside as the internet is study resource. However, the hotel HAS tried to accommodate this somewhat, and if you are in town for the ABP, you are able to receive internet service at a 50% discounted rate during your stay. Also, if you order room service do be aware that a 21% gratuity AND a $3 delivery charge are added upfront to your check. Most of the delivery staff will not tell you this - so if you add your own tip, you may actually wind up tipping 40% or more of the total price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for all of your generous comments regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Tampa! We are very thankful for all of your compliments you provided such as the cleanliness of the hotel, the quietness of the rooms and all of the helpful encounters you had with the staff. We have noted your concerns in regards to the internet and private dining fees and have relayed them to the management in those departments. Thank you again for writing a review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Requested a King Bed but got denied saying the hotel is overbooked, went was that my problem? The receptionist was kind of friendly cold, if you know what I mean.

A Tv remote was broken - technician came and comment on management budget situation.

A Desktop chair was broken - No one ever came.

We checked out after a night even though we booked 3 days.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with details in regards to your recent stay at the InterContinental Tampa. We are very saddened to hear that you felt you had to end your stay here with us early due to your mentioned inconveniences. We strive to provide our guests with efficient and seamless service and please trust that your issues will be discussed with the appropriate departments and management. We sincerely apologize for those inconveniences that you felt you experienced and we thank you for providing us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here overnight because it was a friends bachlorette party. We knew we'd be out late and didn't want to drive home. The beds were so comfortable I didn't want to leave the next morning! Very convenient location to SoHo & shopping/food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
It is great to hear that we could provide comfort for you and your friends during the special celebration! Thanks for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have stayed at many hotels in Tampa in the past few years. I don't usually write reviews. However, the service was so outstanding I felt the need to comment on it.
The front office supervisor named Andrea went way out of her way to make sure that my husband and I had an enjoyable stay in Tampa. We were pleasantly surprised on our second night to receive an anniversary card in our room from Andrea. Thank you Andrea! I would highly recommend this hotel and will return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such amazing comments about the staff, in particular Andrea! She is amazing with guests and we are glad to hear that she was about to make your stay so special! We hope to see you again in the future at the InterContinental Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Within seconds of arriving we were greeted by Katheryn at the front desk. She was happy and very friendly. We were celebrating our honeymoon. She instantly did everything she could to make or stay extra special. Extra thanks also go to Michelle M. at the front desk for making us feel special. We had a great room across from the West Shore Plaza. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on business or plesure

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Tyler, we are beyond excited that you had a special stay with us at the InterContinental Tampa for your honeymoon! We are happy to hear that Kathryn and Michelle were able to enhance your celebration and make it extra special. These ladies both do a great job and will be so happy to hear your comments! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for business this week but would definitely return for pleasure. The room was spacious and had all the right touches. The bed was super comfortable, towels were plush, nicely stocked mini bar, etc. the lobby bar was spacious and seemed to drama good crowd. Wireless was a little sketchy in my room but it was adequate. I would recommend it folks!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Bill, thank you for your comments and we appreciate your recommendation! We are very happy that you enjoyed so many amenities of the hotel! We look forward to your next stay at the InterContinental Tampa for work or for pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#11 Green Hotel in Tampa
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#39 Business Hotel in Tampa
#44 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Hotel Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, InterContinental Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.