We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Great Price, Poor View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Tampa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #50 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great Room, Great Price, Poor View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Since my last review of this property in 2009, it's seem they've improved the quality of the room; well appointed and clean. The parking garage for the Hotel is a bit difficult to find but it's free and the check-in was quick and courteous. If there's a complaint, it's really the aesthetics of the room view; right across from an office building full of sad sack white collar workers in their cubicles. It's rather depressing but one simply closes the curtains and tries to imagine oneself on beach front property. Room service was pricey but excellent and check-out was a breeze. There's a shopping mall right next door but the ambience of the Hotel is all-business and hard to recommend for those with fun in mind.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Mark, we are elated that you enjoyed the quality of your room, the location of the hotel and had an excellent experience with private dining. We value your opinion and appreciate all of your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    307
    118
    45
    43
See reviews for
153
228
71
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

First off, great hotel- God bless you all! We stayed there a few weekends ago en route to our Tampa Bay Rays baseball extravaganza.

Great place, great price, awesome location, great amenities.

Brian rocks! ID# 242535294- He signed us up on the spot for point program and great accommodated our stay, he is a customer service rock star as were all the people there.

God bless, John 3:16

Room Tip: Weekend rates rock there, since it's a business M-F hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Matt, many thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback! Brian does a great job with customer service and he will be charmed to hear your compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights during our families annual road trip. We wanted a good quality hotel, near to the airport, shopping and Busch Gardens, and this does all three. Takes about 20 mins to get to theme park and 10 mins to airport. International Shopping Plaza is within walking distance in about 15 mins, but given Tampa weather, drivable in 5 mins.

As regards hotel, very good as you would expect from a IC. Staff as soon as you walk in are great and attentive. We had a couple of minor issues, which Michelle sorted without hesitation. Well done to her and her team. You get either valet or free parking, both are on site, and the later is only 5 mins walk into reception from back of hotel.

As regards facilities, bar area is nice and a great Shula’s on site, with a copy I think of the Super Bowl trophy out front. Fitness Centre is fine with roof top pool, which when the sun is out, is hot. Rooms are great, with fine beds, linens and bathroom/shower, etc.

Overall, fine place to stay, whether on holiday or business and would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the InterContinental Tampa for your family vacation! We are flattered that our hotel was what you were looking for in quality and location and that our staff was attentive to your issues. We strive to provide seamless service and we are so happy that Michelle and her team were able to do that for you. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to hosting your next getaway with the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, Intercontinental quality ! The breakfast was ok. But the worst was the car park... The front desk manager was able to explain correctly exactly were it was so it took me 30 min to park my SUV... Because it is not correctly marked and he didn't bother to explain correctly because when you go to the park there 3 other different entrances to other buildings.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you felt our rooms are InterContinental quality! It is such an exciting comment and we are truly charmed by your remark! We certainly appreciate your feedback in regards to the parking and we will be communicating your frustrations to the appropriate department managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Convenient location to downtown Tampa, Airport, St Petersburg and beaches. The Hotel is located across the street from good restaurants and shopping. The rooms are very comfortable as we have stayed here before. Prices are reasonable for accommodations you get. I definitely would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Doug, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed so many qualities of the hotel during your stay and that you will be looking to stay with us again in the future! We appreciate your feedback and we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent 7 days at the Intercontinental Tampa on business and the hotel is very nice. Starting with check-in the staff is very quick and professional. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The biggest complaint I have about the hotel is I could hear the people in the next room very clearly. There is no noise suppression between rooms. I would not expect this with a hotel of this caliber. Also, it would have been nice to have a view of something other than the office building connected to the hotel. As a plus - it is close to restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Don't stay within 4 rooms of the elevator.
See more room tips
Green Features: The do have environmental practices such as recycling and requesting re-use of towels.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear cruiser102467,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. Please allow us to apologize for the experience you had with your room accommodations due to the noise. We understand the discomfort this has caused you. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartow, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Got a great "name-your-own" rate (4 star/8+ rating) within the week of check-in. Check-in was quick & easy and Jackie was able to provide a room for us with a roll-in shower on the 5th floor - close to the elevator per my request - and it wasn't noisy. Our room was very clean and very comfortable (bed & charis). The bathroom was spacious and worked quite well for us. Only 'complaint' was a design issue with the hotel in that our window opened to an atrium area and faced office windows (fortunately closed during our stay). Had this been during a work week, not sure I'd have been comfortable with that as I like my windows open for natural light. I could sit in the chair next to the window and see some sky off to the side - which was better than 'just' offices. I know that hotel management can't control this, but it does detract from the overall aesthetics of a 4 star hotel. Considering what we paid, I still can't complain too much about how nice it was! Not sure I'd have been happy paying full price with that view, though. It was nice to be able to enjoy free parking in a parking garage - not sure I'd have been comfortable going to and from the car late at night but we'd have probably paid the $18 for valet if we'd anticipated late night travel. We also requested a refrigerator (for our insulin) which was delivered and running in our room before we arrived in our room from parking. Great service, staff, location, and room! Only possible negative was the view and at the end of the day wouldn't keep us from returning to this property in the future - just something for other travelers to know about.

Room Tip: Request room with 'outside' (non-atrium) view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany S, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the InterContinental Tampa. We are happy to hear that Front Desk Agent Jackie provided such a quick and easy check in and that you enjoyed the location, layout and amenities of your room. She is a great asset to the company! Thank you for providing us with feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
#38 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Hotel Tampa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, InterContinental Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.