We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel that is actually allowed by my Company!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Tampa to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #50 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel that is actually allowed by my Company!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Outstanding all the way around! Kathryn and Andrea were Absolute Angels. My trip was all screwed up and they really went out of their way to help me. Way above and beyond. Rooms are immaculate and very stylish. Room Service was timely and excellent. Business Center, Gym and Pool were all top notch. This is going to be THE place where I stay when in Tampa.

Room Tip: Like any hotel... try to stay away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for writing about your experience, I am so pleased you enjoyed our great amenities and were treated so wonderfully by Andrea and Kathryn. These two ladies are superstars for our property. Thanks for staying with us, we will see you next time!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    340
    143
    46
    46
See reviews for
168
258
77
286
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I booked through Priceline and got a great price in a great hotel. After a long day and arriving to the hotel late, I was greeted by a most gracious woman named Kathryn. She was unbelievably interested in how I was and even got me a most beautiful room with a King bed. Further, every time I saw her, again greeted with a big smile and how was I doing. The hotel is everything InterContinental represents...great rooms along with great staff. As one who travels weekly, I have found that you can have wonderful accommodations but not always great people. Kathryn and the rest of the staff were the icing on the cake. How sweet is that? -Susan

Green Features: I like that they recycle the water in the fountains and also, last, allow decent smoking areas for smokers. It is nice to be respected.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review Susan, It is so nice to hear of the positive impact Kathryn makes on our guests visit. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge her hard work. Please come see us again.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I booked this hotel on Priceline for the night before an early morning flight back home. It was perfect. It was a treat after spending the day at the beach, returning our rental car, catching the free shuttle to the hotel, to find ourselves in a very attractive room with great bath amenities and very comfortable beds and plenty of room to spread our stuff as we organized our suitcases. We walked across the street to a nice mall, did a bit of shopping before returning to the hotel for an early dinner. We were too early for the restaurant, so ate in the bar. I had salmon sliders that were delicious and my daughter had blackened scallops and green beans. We were both pleased with our choices. Our wake up call was right on time, followed by a second call 10 minutes later. We could not take advantage of the free shuttle which begins at 5:00 am, but a taxi was waiting and we were at the airport in less than 10 minutes and the fare was a reasonable $15. Hotel staff were helpful and very friendly. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing us! We are delighted you enjoyed your experience,
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

however, we were right beside the elevator & it was so noisy we couldn't get to sleep in our very comfortable bed. The staff courteously listened to our complaint, but because there was a wedding the Saturday we were there, they could not move us to another room. After a totally sleepless night, we were treated to a complimentary breakfast buffet. Westshore mall across the street offers many choices of restaurants, but Shula's on site has great service & really good food. I would recommend a room far away from the elevators and the fitness center for the best night's sleep. Otherwise the InterContinental is close to shopping, dining, the airport, Channelside and Ybor City, and not too very far away from the sports stadiums.

Room Tip: Don't take a room adjacent to the fitness center...people like before dawn workouts & the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipley, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were guests of family, who booked this hotel at Priceline for a weekend stay at a substantial discount from the weekly rate. The hotel is a business-class hotel, inside an attached business park. Since the businesses close on the weekend, the hotel is not at full capacity on Saturday & Sunday. Check-in was fast and accurate. Hotel staff offered to assist with luggage, which we took them up on (with customary tip). Hotel offered valet parking at extra charge, or self-parking. Since it was a weekend and the parking garage had plenty of space we chose self-parking. (Valet & self-park are both in the same covered garage attached to the hotel.) We had two small children with us. Since the hotel caters to business travelers, this made entertaining the kids a little difficult. TV channel selection is limited. Fortunately the Glazer Children’s Museum and the Aquarium are only a few minutes away by car. And the hotel has a nice well-kept rooftop pool which the kids enjoyed. Across the street is the Westshore Mall and Plaza which has a kid’s play area. Also there are some good restaurants in the Westshore Plaza. Also across the street are a Panera Bread and a Starbucks. Though the streets are very busy even on the weekend, crossing the street with kids is made easier by appropriate pedestrian signals. The room itself was clean, and the bed comfortable. But there are too many extraneous bed furnishings, in the form of blankets, quilts, pillows etc. Who uses that many blankets in Florida? The hotel suffers from the same intrinsic architectural design problems that plague most hotels built in the 1980’s-1990’s era: heavy spring-loaded doors that slam shut when released send shock waves up and down the hallway. Very hard to sleep with doors slamming all night. Also the toilet system was designed with a “straight through” flow, so that every time a toilet is flushed on the floors above, there is a loud sound of rushing water as the flush passes your floor. That can scare you at first, but also can keep you awake. If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs! As for the staff they were courteous, helpful and understanding. We asked a favor of them which they accommodated quickly. Checkout was fast and accurate. Overall this was a pleasant stay and we would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers, FL
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were a bit challenged with our initial arrival and wanting to self-park our car in an attached garage shared by office buildings. The self parking is free versus a $13/night valet parking charge.The self parking is good if you are fairly mobile and don't have a lot of luggage. Depending on the time of day, you may have to drive up several levels to find open parking spots for hotel guests. We had no problems with check in process but the key card to our original room wouldn't work. Back down to the lobby and another front desk person asked if we had particularly asked for a handicap accessible room.We had not. Having gotten that out of the way, we were moved to another floor and entered our room. This room looks directly into the adjacent offices across the joint lobby of hotel/office complex. Fortunately the window treatments were opaque enough to open the blackout curtains and let the light in. The room itself was beautifully appointed and the beds were fantastic. I wanted to take one home but thought it would be a bit obvious on our way out of the lobby! There is a mini-bar fridge, Fuji water is $7, and wi-fi connection runs about $13.00 for 24 hours. We had the morning breakfast buffet and I would highly recommend it. Fresh blueberries, red raspberries and blackberries, along with real eggs, smoked bacon, sausage, oatmeal and a variety of breads and bagels. You can also order from a breakfast menu. The hotel lobby was very open in feeling and had many private places you could meet with clients or just people watch. Overall, I would say this is one of the better hotels we've experienced in a while and hope to pay another visit very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not overlook the office complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very definitely upscale. No amenities other than pool use. For a Handicap room the bathroom was great, and room right off elevator.. It ends there.. The bed top was above my hips. Since it is 22 inches to my knees from the floor, take a guess at how high that was for me. I am 5' 7, . I had to place a footstool next to the bed in order to climb into and out of bed. Then the parking. Nice big cars slots, but the Valet area was 2 rows closer to the elevators, and the handicap areas are on an incline to 45 degrees, which is a bit difficult for those with canes , walkers, or in wheelchairs.while the valet area is nice and level. The burned out bulbs in bedside light, the only 1 bath soap for 2 days, I can live with, but really, I feel that as a handicap person I could have stayed at a chain hotel, (which I have), and been more satisfied.

Room Tip: Not for handicapped
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Kate M,

Thank you for your stay with us and for leaving a review. We regret to see the issues you experienced as our guest. We are always looking to our guests reviews as a way to help with making our hotel the best it can be. It looks like we fell below not just your expectations, but ours as well. We are committed to guest satisfaction and would like to address this with you further. We have sent you a Private Message to obtain some additional information.

Thank you again for your feedback and for staying with us. We look forward to hearing from you and being of service.

Sincerely,

Adrian D.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#11 Green Hotel in Tampa
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#34 Business Hotel in Tampa
#45 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Hotel Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, InterContinental Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.