We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #49 of 158 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We had a great stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night. At check in staff was very freindly even offering advice of things to do in the area. The hotel was very clean and updated. Rooms were really nice and really clean. Pool area was a bit small but didnt use it anyway. Shula restaurant was amazing one of best steaks I have ever had!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I am very pleased to hear you had a great stay at the InterContinental Tampa! Hope to see you again soon!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    295
    113
    41
    43
See reviews for
148
212
69
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent place for business travelers. Room was spotless, climate control was perfect, bath was clean and well taken care of. Close to the office. Building has conference rooms for building tenants. Restaurant choices are wide nearby. Mall across the street. Recommend this place.

Green Features: Sheets and towels are replaced every 3 days to save water. I look for this in a hotel.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pleasant stay at this hotel for a short trip to Tampa. Very convenient location, clean facility and friendly staff. I did not look at reviews prior to staying here, as I've stayed here for business purposes in the past. Thought the bottled water in the room was a little pricey, and for the price of the room, complimentary water should be provided - does not have to be top end brand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend while visiting family. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable. Would give 3.5 stars b/c there is nothing that really sets this hotel apart from others that are close by (and I think are better). The pool is sub-par, the $12.95 / day internet charge is annoying, the onsite food/drink options are nice but expensive. I don't mind paying top dollar for good food at Shula's but don't like feeling ripped off buying coffee / food at the lobby area coffee stand for 2X or 3X the price of the major coffee chains (You can go one block down the street and go to starbucks).

Parking was convenient and free in the garage backing the property. We probably wouldn't stay here again with all of the better choices close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Yes, this is a beautiful hotel with its fancy furniture and high end restaurant. But don't let it's looks fool you. The hotel did not live up to my expectations for a 3 star hotel. The hotel is very noisy with the doors of the suites always slamming. They did not provide a do not disturb sign, so I called room service for one along with batteries for the remote and the employee who answered seemed very annoyed that I called. The sign was slipped under our door in the middle of night the batteries never came. This doesn't seem like a family friendly or even customer friendly. I do not recommend anyone to book here if you intend on having a relaxing get a way. It's no wonder the hotel was barely filled.

Room Tip: Don' waste you money on this hotel. You would be better off at the Hampton hotel. They are not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Thi N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience with us.

While I am pleased with your compliments about the hotel and our furnitures, I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you had with the noise from other rooms and for any dissatisfaction you had with our level of service.

I regret that you found these aspects of your stay displeasing, rest assured that your comments will be certainly looked into. We hope you give us another chance to redeem your faith in our hotel should your travel plans bring you back to Tampa.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A little hesitant to book this due to some of the reviews and ranking on TA, I was surprised and pleased to find that this property deserves a much higher ranking that it has been given. We were recognized for our Ambassador status well in advance of our arrival with an upgrade and a delicious amenity waiting for us. The room was roomy and well appointed. The bed was comfortable. We ate a nice meal at PF Changs and wandered through Saks afterward. The bellman provided us with an umbrella for the rain. There are rooms that are on the street and you will hear street noise--after all, this is the city. You may get a room facing the office space: just close the curtain. If you don't want to pay for the extras, then walk down to Walgreens and buy them yourself. After all, you are in a luxury hotel and there are many frequent travelers happy to pay for a late night snack in the room that the mini bar will provide. We had a wonderful experience here and would stay again AND highly recommend the Intercontinental Tampa!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John`s, NL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our travel arrangement provided us the opportunity to spend a weekend in Tampa before jetting back to the great white north!We found this hotel on Hotwire at less than $100.00 per night before all the add ons,such as in room Internet,or valet parking!The Hotel is in a great location,on West Kennedy Boulevard,easy access to the airport,and most importantly just across the street from a cluster of great restaurants such as PF Chang's,Maggiones Liitle Italy,and The Palms.The room we were assigned had a great king bed,large flat screen TV with all the channels you could possibly want to watch.No mini fridge unless you wanted to take your chances with messing with that mini-bar.The hotel has a great rooftop pool,although small.Overall we like this Hotel and recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa
Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#11 Green Hotel in Tampa
#35 Family Hotel in Tampa
#37 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Hotel Tampa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, InterContinental Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Tampa to your Saves list