We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intercontinental Delivers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Tampa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #49 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Intercontinental Delivers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A little hesitant to book this due to some of the reviews and ranking on TA, I was surprised and pleased to find that this property deserves a much higher ranking that it has been given. We were recognized for our Ambassador status well in advance of our arrival with an upgrade and a delicious amenity waiting for us. The room was roomy and well appointed. The bed was comfortable. We ate a nice meal at PF Changs and wandered through Saks afterward. The bellman provided us with an umbrella for the rain. There are rooms that are on the street and you will hear street noise--after all, this is the city. You may get a room facing the office space: just close the curtain. If you don't want to pay for the extras, then walk down to Walgreens and buy them yourself. After all, you are in a luxury hotel and there are many frequent travelers happy to pay for a late night snack in the room that the mini bar will provide. We had a wonderful experience here and would stay again AND highly recommend the Intercontinental Tampa!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    307
    117
    45
    43
See reviews for
153
227
71
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John`s, NL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our travel arrangement provided us the opportunity to spend a weekend in Tampa before jetting back to the great white north!We found this hotel on Hotwire at less than $100.00 per night before all the add ons,such as in room Internet,or valet parking!The Hotel is in a great location,on West Kennedy Boulevard,easy access to the airport,and most importantly just across the street from a cluster of great restaurants such as PF Chang's,Maggiones Liitle Italy,and The Palms.The room we were assigned had a great king bed,large flat screen TV with all the channels you could possibly want to watch.No mini fridge unless you wanted to take your chances with messing with that mini-bar.The hotel has a great rooftop pool,although small.Overall we like this Hotel and recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camby, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

First time staying at this location (for work), and I liked it very much. They had everything that you would need in the lobby (coffee shop, Shula's, gift shop, etc.). Plus, it was nice to have Starbucks and Panera in walking distance too. The gym is top-notch here, I used it every night I was there. Rooms were quite comfortable, I would stay here again for certain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks Melissa,
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit, thanks for choosing InterContinental Tampa!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have to start by saying that I love the InterContinental Hotel Brand and stay with them often when I travel. Each of their hotels are unique but they all have wonderful service, amenities, beautiful rooms and are fantastically clean. I have family in the area and stay here often but have finally chosen to share with the trip advisor community why we continue to return. You can't really get a much better deal at an upscale hotel in the Tampa area. This hotel features a beautiful sun drenched rooftop pool, large rooms, a great restaurant bar, easy to access PC's in their business center and a very convenient location to many things including the airport and being right across from a great shopping mall. This hotel is upgraded frequently and the beds are VERY comfortable. The only downside is the air-conditioning in the rooms is hard to control sometimes and I get chilly, (admittedly I chill easily), however their are very nice robes to keep you warm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We really appreciate your loyalty to us when choosing a hotel in Tampa. We look forward to your next visit!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a family get-away. We were not dissapointed. Staff was helpful, friendly and we took advantage of the valet services. Hotel was spotless and the room was comfortable and had convenient amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay View room on the top floor...beautiful view of Tampa Bay through floor to ceiling wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks FN,
I am very proud of our associates that provide great service to our guests and work so hard to keep the hotel clean and comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to recognize them.
Thanks for choosing InterContinental Tampa!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Only spent one night on a stop over to another city. The room was nice, very clean. Beds were wonderful!

Only draw backs were .... Taylor swift was in town! Hotel was mobbed with crazy Tweens and their saints of mothers. So the hotel was very busy. I also was a little freaked out opening the curtain to see offices on the other side of the rotunda. Thankfully I was fully clothed.... Also their was a light to the shower out so it made it a bit dark in the bathroom while showering.

But really can't complain after getting this hotel for a steal via Priceline

Room Tip: Chose away from the ice machine and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Location Is Great, Right In The Middle Of Everything. Rooms Were nice, Just Had To Pass Up The Temptation To Show Off To The People In The Offices Facing Your Room...lol The Bar In The Lobby Was A Relaxing Place To Have A Cocktail And Everyone Was Nice And Accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again soon.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#11 Green Hotel in Tampa
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#38 Family Hotel in Tampa
#40 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Hotel Tampa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, InterContinental Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.