We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outback Bowl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Tampa to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #53 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miramar, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outback Bowl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had a package I was concerned about and Rosleyn from receiving took extra care to make sure I received it, I really appreciated that. Jim at the front desk was also excellent. The downstairs was very nice and so was the cigar shop. I would say the only thing missing from this place was a jaccuzzi. However, the roof-top pool area made up for that somewhat with a heated pool and the beautiful view.

Room Tip: They do not have free breakfast, or free in-room Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank You for the kind words about Ros & Jim, they are great! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, thanks for your comments.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    328
    134
    46
    45
See reviews for
159
247
74
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed one night here while in Tampa for NYE. The hotel was very busy with most of the crowd being Outback Bowl fans. Parking was free in the on-site garage. Check-in was busy, but handled fine by staff. Our room was a basic king room, it was a bit on the small side but comfortable. The bed was very comfy. Our room was next to the elevators, but had no problems with it being too noisy. One of the reasons we picked to stay here was Shula's steakhouse. We had an earlier dinner there, it was very good, but not excellent. They do have a nice Shula's/Lobby bar lounge area here. Plenty of good seating for big crowds.

Overall a fine choice for the area and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Short notice trip for New Years with the Family to Tampa Bay. Of course we were unable secure anytype of reservations for dinner on new years eve because of the short notice. That was until I visisted Tiffany, the concierge. She was immediately able to secure us a early (6p) reservation at Shulas Steakhouse. She then offered and proceeded to call several other restaurants trying to secure a later time. She called me back later in the afternoon and informed she secured a 9p time for us, which was more suited for our schedule. Her service was polite and professional and her great attitude didnt feel fake or forced.

We had several drinks at the bar during our stay and the bar staff was politle and curteous as well. Unfortunately, I don't not recall the 2 young ladies names.

Oh and the dinner we had at Shulas... Food was exceptional, way better than expedted. Service however needs to observe how the Intercontinental staff does it and learn,

Room Tip: Great views of Tampa Bay on the North side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I appreciate the wonderful feedback regarding Tiffany, she does such a great job it means a lot that you recognized her. I will also pass your nice comments on to Star and Leana in the No Name Lounge… they are truly awesome!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, SC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed only one night - was there with my 12yr old son and we booked a room with two-double beds. Very nice room. Clean. Modern. Beds were great. Clean, modern bathroom. Really no complaints. I think the room on New Years eve was about 200$. We ate at Shula's (on site) and had a good time there. Checkin and out and Valet were all efficient and nice. No complaints at all. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for the nice comments Lou, glad you enjoyed everything!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great hotel in a very convenient location. 3 miles to Tampa airport and Westshore
Mall across the street. Pretty updated nice sized rooms with clean sleek bathroom.Front desk competent and
Pleasant. Small uninteresting pool was the only less than upscale detail at the hotel.
Shulas restaurant is situated within the hotel/business complex; just ok /somewhat
Pricey food.Westshore Mall has some good restaurant options and across the street
There is a Starbucks and Paneras; good fallback options. We enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Request a room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review of our property, we are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and our great location. Hope to see you back again soon!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Overall, an enjoyable stay. Was given a room high up with a bay view, but it had an eight-person conference table in the middle of the living space?!? I seriously thought my room key had been mis-coded to a shared conference room space until I stumbled upon the beautiful bedroom. Silly me, next time I'll request a "no conference room table" room in the reservation comments section : ) That's what I get for arriving early. I did manage to swap the room out for a more proper room where I was able to conduct a more relaxed business meeting, unfortunately it turned out to be a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the hotel driveway...payback me thinks.

If you're not familiar with this property, it's a combination office building hotel, but don't be alarmed, it actually works well. The complex lobby (connected to the hotel) is white marble and very rich in appearance. For the carnivore set, there's a Shula's Steak House on-site. Free parking in the attached structure is a nice bonus as is the shopping mall across the street.

Room Tip: Request a room high up with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had the misfortune to to stay one night at this hotel due to our flght from Edinburgh to Miami via London being late landing in Tampa thus we missed the connecting flight . We were given a room on the second foor I asked as all we wanted to do was sleep could we have a higher floor and was then given a room at the end of the corridor on the top floor. Excellent we thought this will be nice and quiet. How wrong can one be. We settled into the room and went to bed it was then we became aware of a noise coming from behind the headboard which was against the wall I went to investigate and discovered the noise was coming from an ice box situated on the outside wall of our room almost exactly against the position of the headboard.
In the short time we stayed, there was little sleep. we were offered another room but after 16 hours of flying and having unpacked for the night we were simply to exhausted to move

Room Tip: Do not take a room at the end of a corrider that has an Ice Box recess
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Jim,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Tampa. I deeply regret that we were unable to provide to you a more quiet location for sleep, especially as this is what you needed most from your visit. I will be certain to address the issue with the ice machine immediately and use this as a learning opportunity for our front desk associates. I appreciate you sharing this experience with me.
Sincerely,
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#11 Green Hotel in Tampa
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#39 Business Hotel in Tampa
#44 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Hotel Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, InterContinental Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.