We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel-Convenient to Westshore Plaza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Tampa to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #56 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel-Convenient to Westshore Plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Checked in for 2 nights and had nice, clean modern room-overlooked offices and street below. Free garage parking was nice perk; walked to Westshore plaza-choice of restaurants-Breakfast buffet was pricey for what was there-did not compare to Omni's or Hyatt Regency. One of the most comfortable hotel beds ever slept in-overall all experience pleasant; would not hesitate to stay there again but would look elsewhere to eat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    333
    137
    46
    46
See reviews for
163
253
76
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

If you want a restful nigh sleep next to the airport with all the 5 star amenities, then you can’t miss at this property. One of the challenges for reviewing a Intercontinental is that they usually do everything right.

First for the property, it is located just across from the airport. The shuttle seems convenient, although I had a car. Routinely I return the car the night before and take the shuttle to the hotel and back to the airport in the morning. However, at the Tampa airport the car rental is in the parking structure across from the terminal, so return the car in the morning is easier then taking the shuttle. This will cost you $18 for Valet parking and possible an extra day of car rental, but worth it for the mobility.

The valet parking is stellar. Call ahead service is encouraged by the staff. And the car is ready when I get there from the room. The valets we very gracious even if I did not have the small bills for a tip. They always asked if I needed direction, or “just the first turn”. Very classy.

The outdoor pool area on the 9th floor has some of the best views of the bay. Its set up as an adult area, and I think that unsupervised children are not encouraged. But it’s a nice place for a afternoon drink (bring it from the bar in a plastic cup, no glass at the pool). And enjoy the very warm pool and the view.

The room very nicely appointed with excellent linens. And the signature robe in the closet. They had a new feature that allowed the guest to use various video device with the TV. Such as a laptop with RGB or HDMI output. Very nice option. And Internet is free at this hotel, and very fast.

Between the hotel and the airport is a large upscale restaurant, shopping and entertainment complex. We dinnered at the Brazilian steakhouse. Expensive but always a treat.

Room Tip: Higher the better. But all rooms seem quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Pros:
- Convenient to the airport
- Free wi-fi
- Free parking
- Nice interior
- Room was clean and comfortable
- Located across the street from Westshore Plaza (mall)
- 24-hour fitness room
- Heated outdoor pool open from 6am to 10pm
- Great value since I got it through Hotwire

Cons:
- Cost of in-room video-on-demand was high ($17 for new releases down to $5 for hour-long TV shows)
- Parking is in a deck that requires customers to ride down to the 2nd floor, walk through to the hotel, and then ride up to the appropriate floor (not a big deal, but a con nonetheless)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Thanks for your review! We appreciate your rating and feedback and will take your comments into consideration. We thank you for your business and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

After staying a few nights at the holiday inn express 2 miles away (which was awful by the way, I will write a separate review on that) I decided to switch to the intercontinental as it had rooms available at a good corporate discount. I was very impressed with how modern and classy the hotel was. The room was clean and well appointed. Room service was not crazy expensive like most others. Service was superb from the front desk, to room service, to maids. The "no name" bar was the best part of the stay, the bar tenders (Mario and another guy who's name escapes me) were excellent and the Mojitos are the best I have had in a long time. The health club is nice although it gets crowded in the morning on business days. They may want to consider expanding the size or adding more treadmills. I did not have time to see or use the pool. The restaurant Shula's was unbelievable, it is worth spending the extra $ if you want to have the best steak ever. The hotel is located near many restaurants. You can cross the street (mall) and eat at PF Changs, or any one of many others. If you drive about a mile down the street you can go to the International Plaza where options are near limitless (Blue Martini is a nice place for drinks). I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks on business but I actually managed to have some fun at this hotel, which is a rarity for me.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the interior of the hotel (courtyard). However you can request an outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Hi Regina,
Thank You for completing a review for our property. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed it so much and will especially pass on your great comments to the team at Shula’s and the bartenders at the No Name Lounge. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I was quite happy with my stay here. The other hotels in the area were about the same price and this one was much nicer than my other options. The restaurant is pretty expensive for what it is, but the food is good. I wasn't going to spend $80 for a surf and turf at a hotel restaurant. The pool looked nice. It is outside on the 9th floor, but the view is not as cool as you would hope with that set up. It is very convenient in terms of proximity to the airport and all of the other places I needed to go for my trip. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaffney, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for the feedback about our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, GA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011 via mobile

We got a great discount on this hotel using Hotels.com. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is very nice. The parking is terrible for such a nice hotel. You have to park behind the hotel in a deck that is too dark with very small spaces. Then, no matter what level you park on, you have to take the elevator to the lobby floor and walk through the whole lobby to the elevators leading to the rooms. It's a pretty long walk and annoying after a long day at Busch Gardens. The location is pretty good - there is a nice mall across the street and an even nicer one about three miles up the road. The pool area is beautiful but they allow smoking up the and while I was there some employees were up there smoking - boo.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Nice amenities,close to airport, free business center. Across from major shopping mall.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tampa

Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly Wyndham Westshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#12 Green Hotel in Tampa
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
#42 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Hotel Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, InterContinental Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.