We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pre or Post Cruise stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4811 West Main Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25/Day Food & Bev Credit
Ranked #31 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Pre or Post Cruise stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stay at the Hyatt Place for our Pre Cruise Stay in November 2012 and was very impressed. We cruise a lot and always go in a night before and have never encountered a Hotel Front Desk staff as friends as those at the Hyatt Place.
They have a great Shuttle Service and for a bit extra they will take you to the pier in the morning and also pick you up at the end of the cruise and take you to the airport. Much cheaper than airport transfers from the cruise lines.
Room were clean and pretty much average.Although great to have Free Wi-Fi and the shuttle service is free for pick up from the airport and to any restaurants near by.
Next time we cruise out of Tampa I definitely plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    129
    44
    14
    7
See reviews for
92
90
33
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lost Creek, WV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Convenient since it is attached to Tampa airport and our conference was there. Staff were professional and friendly. The room was Ok but bathrooms are too small for 2 people. No way you can both use bathroom at same time. I had to dry myself in room while my wife did her hair. Its away from the restaurants and cabs are not cheap to get to town. the hotel was clean and well maintained. The CK restaurant had godd lunchs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TampaGM, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hello Earl! Thank you for this review. I saw that you stated we are attached to the airport in your review so I was wondering if you had reviewed the correct hotel, we do get confused with another Hyatt sometimes. Our hotel is 2 miles from the airport which our free shuttle goes to on demand; there is however the Grand Hyatt which is right next to the airport which might be where you actually stayed. That hotel is off by itself and away from anything (which means you need a cab) while our hotel is within walking distances to any restaurant you would desire. We have a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in front of us, a Starbucks on the corner and the International Plaza Mall with the Captial Grille, Champp's, Cheesecake Factory, and of course the famous food court. Thank you for visiting Tampa and we appreciate you very much at Hyatt hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had my wedding in Tampa this past weekend but majority of the family and friends stayed at the Hyatt Place Airport/West Shore hotel. I can't say enough of the staff, they are wonderful to work with. Eva, Brian, Danny and others are wonderful and so helpful. I would recommend this hotel and stress how amazing, helpful and accommodating the staff is. They have a free shuttle that will take you around Tampa for up to 3 miles, but sometimes further if you ask. They also have free WIFI and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a recent business trip. I have stayed at other Hyatt hotels, but this was my first experience with the Hyatt Place brand. The check in process was very fast and efficient. The clerk working the front desk was friendly and eager to assist with any of my needs. My room was located on the 4th floor at the end of the hall. The room was very spacious and clean and located in a quiet location. I enjoyed the free high speed internet and the large TV available to me during my stay. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was hot. I was pleasantly surprised when I came down early the next morning and was greeted by a very friendly front desk person and a great complimentary breakfast...not your usual continental breakfast fare either. There were breakfast sandwiches available as well as cereal, fruit, yogurt, muffins, etc...quite a big spread for a free hotel breakfast. All in all, I really enjoyed my stay, and I plan to book again for future trips to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Boy! What a HUGE disappointment. This is truly the WORST Hyatt Place that I have ever stayed. Not sure why it could be so bad, since all the others have been either great or very good. This was abysmal. The room emanated the stench of mold. (really!) It reminded me of my childhood when we used to stay at motels in Florida across from the beach, and the carpet had seen its better days. The odor took me back. Unfortunately it was not a great childhood memory. Not much else to say. The signage for parking is non-existent (don’t park in Ruth’s Chris!). The staff was less than helpful—the ONLY time I have experienced such unhelpful staff at check-in at a Hyatt Place. I can 100% honestly make this statement: I will NEVER return to this hotel when back in Tampa. EVER. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TampaGM, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I must say, I truly wonder if you have graded the right hotel after reading the comments. If you look at our other TripAdvisor reviews, this is no where indicative of our hotel or what we would allow. In my 4 years as the leader of this hotel, I've never read a comment like this; so obviously it is a major concern and we take it very seriously. Please e-mail me if you would what room you were in so I can inspect this room myself with my engineer, executive housekeeper and entire staff. We have been blessed to sell out every night in February and March and this room you are referencing at our hotel is being used every night, with no complaints. I also have never had a complaint on the ample parking at our hotel but we always look for ways to improve. I really appreciate the feedback and want to correct this immediately. Mike Kidd, General Manager Hyatt Place Tampa Airport WESTSHORE. mike.j.kidd@hyatt.com Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very clean room. I enjoyed the breakfast sandwiches, very good selection on breakfast items. Fast, easy, friendly check-in and check-out. I will definitely stay there again. free breakfast, free internet, free parking. The only negative thing is the internet access kept dropping throughout the day and night (possibly too many people logged on). Perhaps a Wi-Fi access point on each floor would help. I use to be a Marriott customer but have now changed to Hyatt because they have consistently CLEAN hotels, which is my number one preference in choosing a hotel. I'm a big fan of the travel Channel's TV show "Hotel Impossible" and did a check on the room, I think Anthony Melchiorri would be pleased with the cleaniest of the room. Oh, one more thing, not enough seats during breakfast. Overall a very nice hotel, I would definitely stay there next time I visit Tampa to see the Yankees.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Flew into Tampa and stayed at this hotel before heading to Sebring. Friendly, efficient check in. Lovely, spacious room (bathroom small). Clean and well maintained. Very nice breakfast included. Tried to book a second night on the day we flew back to Michigan but they were full.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Place Tampa
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport
Tampa Hyatt
Hyatt Tampa
Address: 4811 West Main Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A favorite of both business and leisure travelers, AmeriSuites hotels offer guests an attractively designed suite with 25% more space than a traditional hotel room and all the comforts of home. Most AmeriSuites provide guests with amenities such as kitchenettes with microwaves and refrigerators, complimentary Bountiful Breakfast Buffet, fitness rooms and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.