We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4811 West Main Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #39 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were impressed with this hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights before heading off on a cruise.

First of all, shuttle service:

Free shuttle service from the airport was very convenient, and we didn't have to wait too long before being picked up.
We used the free shuttle multiple times during our stay, and the drivers were great, and again, service was fairly quick.
We paid $40 for hotel shuttle service to and from the port of Tampa as it's a ways outside the 3 mile radius that they service for free. Service on our way down to the port was smooth. After our cruise, service wasn't as good (perhaps because we were no longer staying at the hotel?? - however, we had still paid for this shuttle service). When I called the front desk to be picked up from the port, they seemed confused, and at first, told me they don't service that area. Had to be put on hold while they sorted this out, and realized, yes, they do pick people up here (ya think??) Then the shuttle was very crowded on the way back from the port, and our luggage was absolutely crammed into the back because we were carrying too many people. We also did several stops/detours even though we had a plane to catch, which was frustrating. They should be more prepared, and have multiple shuttles running on days with cruise ships arrivals/departures.

Hotel itself:

Front desk staff was very friendly, and always made us feel at home. They were very helpful, although I would recommend they get proper maps of the hotel area (they didn't have any!) Concierge service could definitely be improved to match the rest of the front desk service levels. They were also not as familiar as they could be with bus routes (they brought us to the wrong bus stop and we had to wait there a while before the next bus driver told us the proper stop to wait at). Again, very helpful, but concierge services leave something to be desired.
The room was very nice: spacious, with a separate sitting area, a nice TV, mini-fridge. The bed and washroom were clean and modern. We definitely enjoyed the room.
The free breakfast each morning is a great deal; they had a fair amount of options, not just a limited continental breakfast, but some hot food options as well.
The location of the hotel is ok, but if you want to explore Tampa, it's better to stay closer to downtown. The Hyatt is close to a few shopping malls, but not much else, it's a good 15 minute drive away from the ports & the heart of the city. Walking at night in this area didn't make us feel 100% safe, as there weren't a lot of pedestrians around, or people at all.
Overall, a really good hotel, especially for the money. Would definitely stay here again, unless we wanted to explore the actual city of Tampa more, in which case we would stay downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    177
    63
    21
    13
See reviews for
143
123
37
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with my 7 months old baby. The hotel is very clean, staff are very accommodating. The free breakfast is a good selection. They even accommodate all my online shopping in receiving the package. Perfect location in tampa. Very near at the mall. A very pleasant and excellent choice in staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have stayed in Hyatt Place's in a number of spots and I am always taken by the sameness of one to another. In this case, that is a very good thing because the property is always well run and has the amenties which I like for the price.
HP in Tampa is convenient to the airport and the facility is clean and inviting. The staff can't be anymore helpful and the complimentary items are quite good. Breakfast, the newspaper, the shuttle and the workout room are just fine and eliminate some of the travel hassles. The rooms are very large and very clean. Even though this property has been here for a while, it shows no signs of aging.
Stay there and enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: It is not far from the airport but noise was not a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here on honeymoon before cruise. Was treated very well even though we showed up looking very scraggly. Staff was incredibly nice and offered to show us all the amenities of the hotel. Room was spotlessly clean; room was very nicely laid out with a big couch and a flat screen tv that was viewable from both couch and bed. Even though this hotel is literally next to the runway, I didn't hear a single plane inside.

Only complaint was that the air conditioner should probably be cleaned out. When on fan only mode, it smelled somewhat mildewed, more than likely due to the fact that this is Florida and the humidity is never below 60%!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed one night 11/4/12 do to cruise ship getting in late
Nice Hotel, but make sure you look at what they charge you on your bill.
I didn't look at ours untell we got home, they had charged us and our son's bill $25.00 for transport from the port that we did not use.
My son and I both called them up and told them about it, they said they would credit both of us back the $25.00 each they owed us.

I'm still waiting !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My two teenage sons and I stayed here for three nights after five in Kissimee. It was very relaxing and calming after the busyness of Universal Studios and Orlando. The location was great, we went to Clearwater Beach each day, easy drive from hotel. The shuttle service was a nice bonus, we went to International Plaza for supper and window shopping (tres out of our league!) It was nice to not drive and be able to have a glass of wine! The staff -( night staff Brian I believe, sorry not sure of name) was amazing. I had pizza from Orlando that they heated up for us in the kitchen oven, much appreciated! The boys loved the room, exspecially the huge HD TV. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Airport hotels are all too frequently antispetic smelling and generally unpleasant, but this hotel is anything but that. Upon walking in, the guest is greeted by a lovely, small lobby with the check-in desk manned by friendly and helpful people. Already this is a pleasant surprise. The manager apologized for the carpet cleaning equipment that was in the corridor, explaining that cleaning carpets is something they do at the beginning of each year, which is when we arrived. I didn't ask how often they cleaned them, since it was irrelevant. Our room was large, with a separate sitting area, and everything in the room was spotless and in excellent condition. The hotel provides a shuttle service to nearby restaurants and malls,, as well as service to the airport, making that shuttle a terrific extra if one doesn't have a car and wants to find a restaurant in the vicinity. Of course, with a Ruth Chris Steak House nextdoor to the hotel, a guest can enjoy a wonderful meal just a stroll away. The hotel's breakfast buffetwas substantial and varied, with plenty of tables for families and singles. Even the coffee was better than I expected, and the computers and printer afforded me the opportunity to access and print my boarding passes. I would definitely look for a Hyatt Place when I next need an airport hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Address: 4811 West Main Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#33 Family Hotel in Tampa
#52 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Tampa is an all suite property conveniently located in Westshore business district. We offer complimentary hot a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast each morning, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary parking and shuttle service within 3 miles; which includes Tampa International Airport, and numerous shopping and dining options. Our spacious suites include a mini fridge, 42" flat screen T.V., with a cozy corner living area with sleeper sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt
Hyatt Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.