We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Knew an Airport Hotel Could Be So Pleasant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4811 West Main Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #39 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Who Knew an Airport Hotel Could Be So Pleasant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Airport hotels are all too frequently antispetic smelling and generally unpleasant, but this hotel is anything but that. Upon walking in, the guest is greeted by a lovely, small lobby with the check-in desk manned by friendly and helpful people. Already this is a pleasant surprise. The manager apologized for the carpet cleaning equipment that was in the corridor, explaining that cleaning carpets is something they do at the beginning of each year, which is when we arrived. I didn't ask how often they cleaned them, since it was irrelevant. Our room was large, with a separate sitting area, and everything in the room was spotless and in excellent condition. The hotel provides a shuttle service to nearby restaurants and malls,, as well as service to the airport, making that shuttle a terrific extra if one doesn't have a car and wants to find a restaurant in the vicinity. Of course, with a Ruth Chris Steak House nextdoor to the hotel, a guest can enjoy a wonderful meal just a stroll away. The hotel's breakfast buffetwas substantial and varied, with plenty of tables for families and singles. Even the coffee was better than I expected, and the computers and printer afforded me the opportunity to access and print my boarding passes. I would definitely look for a Hyatt Place when I next need an airport hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    141
    46
    14
    8
See reviews for
99
97
33
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

.We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (12/27-12/29) prior to our cruise. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff was awesome and always ready to help. Extra kudos to Jerry, the shuttle driver! The free hot breakfast was good, even though there weren't enough tables and chairs to accommodate all the guests. We just took the breakfast to our room. There was a power outage one night, which lasted about 3 hours. It was inconvenient but not the end of the world. We were given glow sticks, which our daughter loved. The hotel shuttle takes you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. There is shopping and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel as well. The gym is not big but adequately equipped. It was too cold to swim but the swimming pool area was very nice and clean. I loved this hotel because of their Snooze & Cruise program. They drop you off at the port for your cruise and pick you up after (even if you don't stay at the hotel on your return). They just take you to the airport. If you have a car, the parking is included while you are cruising :-)
Overall, we had a great time and I would stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived from our cruise earlier than expected (9am) and called the hotel. Not only they told us to come over, they guaranteed that there was a room ready and we could check in! So by 10am we were basically in the very spacious room, with a mini-kitchen, 4 person sofa, and two double beds. Coming from the cabin of a cruise (150 sq ft), this room seemed like a mansion :) Despite the early check-in and all our requirements (we needed a shuttle to the airport at 5am on New Year's - 1/1/2013... all the staff was on target and promptly responded to all requests. We loved it - we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, Washington, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two days following a cruise. Upon checking in we were not expecting too much based on the exterior appearance of the hotel. We were very pleasantly impressed. The rooms were well appointed and clean. Best of all the beds were among the most comfortable I have slept in. We played while in Tampa and the location was excellent with easy access to freeways. Would not hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt Place before our repositioning cruise. (We flew from TPA to Quebec to begin our cruise and ended in Tampa ). We were shuttled from the hotel to the airport and shuttled from the port back to the hotel. The service worked great! And parking is included in the price of the stay.

The inside of the hotel is nicely arranged with a reception/lounge area to greet you. Checking in was easy. We said we were doing a park and cruise and our names were written into a calendar journal for easy shuttle service.

The room was very clean and large. Living, seating area with fireplace and thin large TV, kitchenette, king bed, and roomy bathroom with sink and counter out side the tub and toilet area.

The lounge area next to the reception area had a selection of bottled beers, wines, soft drinks as well as mixed drinks, a food menu and fresh baked out-of-the-oven cookies. In the morning a selection of breakfast sandwiches, fruit, cereals, and juices are available.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

When we do another cruise or fly from Tampa we will certainly stay at the Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night prior to a week long cruise from the Port of Tampa. Was able to park car for free for the duration of the cruise. Free shuttle to port ran on the half hour and worked out great for us. Couldn't beat location. Hotel was between 2 large shopping malls.

Return trip to hotel after cruise couldn't be easier. Just a phone call and 10 minutes later, there was the shuttle.

Hotel room was very nicely situated and very comfortable. It would even be great for an extended stay. Only complaint was, there is no safe in the rooms, and only thing walkable form hotel was a Ruth's Chris steakhouse. I would definitely book this hotel again for a future cruise out of Tampa.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

i swear i am on a run of bad luck with noisy rooms.....The staff were incredibly accomodating, got the top flooor corner -- could not have been a better spot for quiet -- settling in, sure enough start to hear doors slamming al lthe way down the halls, my neighbor talking on her phone, her toilet flushing, the planes overhead -- the AC was so loud it could not even double as white noise it was so rattly........Kevin at the front desk, was a star :) that is the one great thing, otherwise, will stay elsewhere when at Tampa airport again, gotta sleep!

Room Tip: well, thought I had it nailed -- but apparently not
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TampaGM, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us and we are so happy the staff was accommodating to your needs. I would have to agree that this must have been a bit of bad luck as the experience you describe is not indicative of our hotel at all; we actually have many people tell us how quiet the hotel is, with solid thick walls and especially being so close to the airport. Typically it's the best of both worlds; awesome location and good sleep. We will check on that A/C today and make sure it is replaced if needed. We will improve and thank you again for staying with us. We appreciate you in Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Address: 4811 West Main Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Tampa
#26 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#39 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#39 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A favorite of both business and leisure travelers, AmeriSuites hotels offer guests an attractively designed suite with 25% more space than a traditional hotel room and all the comforts of home. Most AmeriSuites provide guests with amenities such as kitchenettes with microwaves and refrigerators, complimentary Bountiful Breakfast Buffet, fitness rooms and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Despegar.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt
Hyatt Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.