We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Safe Clean Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4811 West Main Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #48 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Maitland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Safe Clean Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This place is nice, safe and clean place to stay. Plenty of parking, great location for dining, and shopping. After a long day of meetings I didn't feel like exploring the area for dinner, I was able to order soup and salad right there next to the front desk. Free breakfast on the first morning wasn't the greatest, but the second morning was much better and more options. Front desk, lobby personal very friendly, and professional. The room was very spacious, and beds comfortable.

Con: shower had a dripping problem, toilet was loose, so every time I sat on it I thought it was going to tip over. Coffee pot is only a cup at a time and leaked. All this is very minor issues.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    147
    47
    15
    11
See reviews for
106
99
33
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were staying at this hotel the day before going on a cruise. We arrived from Canada super early and called a shuttle to pick us up from the airport. On the drive to the airport the driver let us know about all the food, shopping and services available near and around the hotel. We arrived super early to the hotel and they allowed us in our room which was awesome. The room was roomy and perfect for us... I was really impressed with the big comfy couch. It was perfect for a group of us to watch a movie on. The shuttle took us all over to the mall for dinner and to walmart. They didnt make us feel like a bother it was such a great service. They even took us back to the airport in the morning so we could catch the transfer we paid for at the airport. The Breakfast in the morning was perfect and yummy and hot. The service that most impressed me that day was I accidentally left my glasses at the hotel and realized when back at the airport about to leave for port. I called the hotel and gave them my room number on the boat. Some how my glasses made it on the boat! They delivered them to the port and made sure I would get them. Will stay again if in Tampa!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel was very nicely renovated about 5 years ago, but you can tell that it was renovated by, for example, by the room door (a little beaten), going in stairwells (brick concrete walls were patched, but painted) or looking at the wear on the elevator button panels. The room was very large - separate sitting area and a wet bar. Flat panel plasma TV (42", I think) and marble counter tops were very nice.

Staff were very friendly and open - they seemed to genuinely like their jobs and the patrons.

Complimentary breakfast was excellent - hot eggs and sausage, juices/milk, Starbucks coffee, oatmeal, cereals, etc.

The International Plaza is a short walk, but along very busy roads. The plaza has lots of nice restaurants. The complimentary shuttle will take you there though. A Chris Ruth's steakhouse is directly in front of the hotel.

The hotel was in an OK area, in general, but the airport parking lots detracted from it. Still felt safe, i.e. wasn't concerned about crime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

They have airport pickup and drop-offs 6a.m. to midnight every 30 minutes. The clerks are extremely cordial. Often you will hear "Good to have you back." The cleaning ladies do know how to pronounce Windex. Otherwise be able to speak Spanish. The room is spacious with a large screen tv,coffee maker, and fridge. However, no microwave. Breakfast is good :juices, cereals and fruit , muffins, biscuits with eggs and bacon. No waffles, but prepared pancakes are available. Parking is quite limited. If one arrives late, one can park on a dark sideroad, and many people do. Negatives: no microwave, no plugin for your laptop charger if you wish to use it on your bed. You have to go to the desk provided, or unplug the lamps between the beds or unplug the alarm clock.

Room Tip: Do not use the phone, unless you make 800 call (free.) Normal long distance calls (clearly listed) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel is older and our room was worn and in need of updating but adequate for our needs. It is located on a main road down the street from the international mall that has a very good restaurant. We chose this Hyatt because it was near the airport and had a shuttle. The shuttle was great leaving every half hour and the driver was very friendly. The day and evening desk staff were also friendly and very helpful. We had to quickly drop off our luggage and run to a meeting before check in. When we got back all our luggage was waiting for us in our room. They had a varied breakfast of egg and bacon sandwiches and french toast along with things like pastries, toast and cereal, coffee and juice. Staff was always asking if they could get you something unlike some other places we have stayed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TampaGM, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and reviewing our hotel! We are getting well known for our friendly staff as we truly feel that genuine hospitality is an art that is almost disappearing these days. Not at Hyatt Place Tampa; we work for you and we want you to feel that commitment. Thank you for the kind words on our service and our hotel. We have completed some touch ups on the floor you occupied as we are always striving to keep our hotel fresh and alive with our 8 foot sectional couches, 42 inch HD swivel TV's and Hyatt Grand Beds. Please come back to see us soon. Thank you again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Flying into, Driving into and Cruising out of Tampa? Need Transportation to & from the cruise port, the airport &/or need a place to park your car for a week. Hyatt Place is THE hotel to book. For the best deal you need to book through Stay123 and all the parking and transportation is included with the price of your room. And the rooms are great - large, clean and comfortable. The staff is wonderful and even when very busy, make you feel special. They take care of every problem (if you happen to have one) in short order. I had a little dental problem and the gentleman on duty told me about a Walk-In Dental Clinic not far from the hotel which solved that issue. This place is perfectly designed to make your before and after cruise time comfortable, safe and as problem free as possible. Did I mention the little bar they have set up for drinks and snacks if you don't want to go out for a big dinner after you arrive and, of course, the very good breakfast buffet the next morning (the buffet is included in your room cost but not the drinks and snacks.) Parking your car behind the hotel for the week you are away keeps it out of the high traffic area of nighly guests and was quite safe. I rated this hotel a number 5 for convenience, transportation, all round service for travelers, cruisers as well as being a very good hotel. They have a pool too.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor with a view of the garden area to the left of the entranceway. It was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt Place for one night before driving South. The hotel is a 10 minute drive from the airport. They do have a free shuttle but we took a cab as we had an appointment. There is a minimum charge of $5 for a cab to the hotel. The room was large with a separate seating area with a huge sofa, a desk, fridge, and a large comfortable bed. While the furniture is a bit tired it was very clean and functional. The buffet breakfast was also pretty tasty and better than expected coffee. The most outstanding aspect of this hotel is the very friendly staff. We were arriving late due to airplane troubles and had to be elsewhere. They handled the check-in using my reservation information and had our luggage waiting for us in the room when we returned a few hours later.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Address: 4811 West Main Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#48 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A favorite of both business and leisure travelers, AmeriSuites hotels offer guests an attractively designed suite with 25% more space than a traditional hotel room and all the comforts of home. Most AmeriSuites provide guests with amenities such as kitchenettes with microwaves and refrigerators, complimentary Bountiful Breakfast Buffet, fitness rooms and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt
Hyatt Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.