We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4811 West Main Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #42 of 159 hotels in Tampa
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We visited Tampa on a weekend in June, 2012, specifically to take in a Neil Diamond concert, my lady's entertainment heart throb. The church we wanted to visit was in the opposite direction from the Forum downtown, but on a straight line north from the hotel. The bayside restaurant we chose for dinner, the Bahama Breeze, lies practically around the corner, a mile or so away. The hotel's proximity to the airport and its shuttle service, plus its competitive rates, clinched the deal for us. We arrived late Saturday night, to an enthusiastic welcome from several alert staffers, in welcome contrast to a competing hotel chain in another city where the staff was dead to the world at night. A few minutes later, we were unpacking in our spacious and clean, king-sized bedroom. Before checking out early Monday morning, we enjoyed the second of two reasonably filling and varied breakfast selections from the buffet. It was a smooth and trouble-free visit that every gentleman wants his lady to experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    142
    47
    14
    9
See reviews for
101
97
33
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We visited this property recently as we needed a hotel for one night as we traveled to Tampa for a show. This property was relatively close to the performing arts center. The hotel is an easy drive within 5 minutes of the highway. I was extremely pleased to find a Starbucks one block away and a three minute walk from the hotel. The room was larger than I expected. In addition to the bed there was a large sitting area with a couch that apparently folded into a double bed. There was a fridge and a sink with a desk and chair nearby. The shower was standard if not a little smallish; sort of utilitarian. The sink area was larger, just outside the bathroom. The A/C was a little loud but I enjoyed it as white noise. My A/C did not have a digital control but apparently some other rooms do. I could not hear any other room noise within my room although I could from the hallway. The breakfast the next morning offered a large array of choices and there was just enough seating for numerous people. I would not hesitate to stay here again. The staff was responsive and allowed us to check in a little early. We enjoyed an excellent dinner a couple miles away at J. Alexanders.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We were so happy to have you as our guest. I was more than happy to read your comments regarding the large size of our rooms and our convenient location. I think the staff and I have spent too much money at that Starbucks but it is just so close we can smell the beans. I am also happy that the staff allowed you to check in early and was responsive. We believe that your comfort is our number one goal and whatever we can do to make your stay in Tampa more enjoyable, we will do it! I hope to see you again on your next trip to Tampa. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My mom and I booked this hotel for a quick overnight stay before our cruise leaving from Tampa the next day. We didn't have high expectations but were very pleased with our stay. They have a free airport shuttle, continental breakfast, and were very helpful. They offer a cruise port shuttle roundtrip for $30 per room (if I remember correctly) which was very affordable. They even took us to a drug store on our way to pick up a few last minute items.

The rooms were clean, spacious, and up to date. The hotel was in walking distance to a large mall (international plaza) and some restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for this review and more importantly, how was the cruise? We hope you had a great time! We love taking care of our pre-cruise guests and we know it is important to help you feel relaxed and that you have everything you need before you depart. We've been doing the cruise shuttle for years and have made so many great friends along the way. This also allows us for a lot of practice and we know that last minute stop to a drug store is huge! We always will do whatever it takes to make your stay and time in Tampa enjoyable and thank you so much for your kind comments about the staff. We currently offer one way trips to the cruise for the entire room of $25 or $40 round trip. This allows for parking of the vehicle at our hotel the entire time as well. We will pretty much take you wherever you need to go around Tampa and we hope you will choose us again if you return to Tampa. We love having you here at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We love the Hyatt Place room layouts with large sofa, ottoman, desk/chair, and wet bar. The open bedroom and dressing area is roomy too. This particular location is excellent, just enough off the main drag on a dead end street to make for a tranquil stay. However, the Hyatt Place cookie-cutter prefab bath/shower units are awful. The tub is narrow and angled so you can't stand flat in the shower. The fiberglass tub buckles and pops under your own weight (140#'s here) making one feel unsteady. Often when we have a choice between this brand and Hilton Garden Inn, we choose the other. However, in Tampa this is definitely the better choice and would stay here again. The staff was accommodating, pleasant, and helpful.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you so much for this review! We are so happy you loved our roomy layout and that the staff was helpful to you. Of course the fact that you will choose us over other hotels in the area when you return to Tampa is our ultimate compliment. We get a lot of comments about our location; although near the airport and convenient, our guests don't hear the noise of the planes when inside the room. This truly is not the case at many nearby hotels. This is a great asset of our hotel and we know it is important for our guests to be able to relax when they are here. Thank you for pointing this out and recognizing us. We appreciate you very much. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

It was a nice property and room. We stayed for a short weekend trip while in Tampa. Found it to be a convenient location at a reasonable rate. Sure there are cheaper places out there but for quality service, a clean room, in a central location the Hyatt Place Tampa can't be beat.

Some details:
While it is right by the airport you do not hear the airplanes unless outside. I was shocked to hear how loud the planes were once stepping outside. The rooms were clean, though their "insert tub" felt cheap and unstable while standing on during showers. My partner was not a fan of the pillows as they had no structure but I enjoyed them. The towels and sheets were of a nice quality and their TV center had a large assortment of connections, if we stay there again we would bring our Roku to provide additional viewing options.

The continental breakfast was better than most but not the best. Fresh fruit and various warm bread options, along with biscuits and gravy, cereal, juices, coffee, tea and milk. There was an option for a pay breakfast that some people were taking advantage of and it looked good. My only real complaint was that WiFi didn't seem to reach the 6th floor at a strong enough strength.

If the hotel was one of the better rate options we would return again for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Hello and thank you for this review! We were honored to be your host for the weekend in June. I have great news as well! We have just upgraded the breakfast with the Hyatt Place Signature sandwiches, pancakes, waffles and more! All complimentary and now served each morning. We hope you will try us again and enjoy our new breakfast amenity. Thank you for pointing out the quiet room. I agree, it is amazing how you really can't hear the planes in our rooms. Being a traveler myself, I know this is huge and something we are very proud of here at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport. I was also happy to hear you noticed our "plug N' play" panel on the side of our 42 inch TV console. This panel allows you to plug your computer into the device to make the TV your monitor (for enjoyment or presentations) as well as allows for any gaming device to be played as you mentioned. Here at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport, you can bring the fun with you! Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

very nice new property close to airport but quiet.. set back from main road.. close to International plaza and restaurants too..
rooms are very clean and spacious with nice lounging area.. hotel staff was very friendly.. Kevin gave me a tour showing the bar area, breakfast area and where to get snacks ( looked very fresh and delicious)..continental breakfast was good.. used their shuttle to get to airport..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you so much for this review! I am always happy to hear one of our employees mentioned by name. Kevin loves the hotel business and we strive to have all our employees with this attitude, which seems to be getting lost in many industries. We were happy to hear you enjoyed the spacious rooms that were quiet and also that our location met all your needs. Our complimetary shuttle within 3 miles of the hotel (which includes the airport of course) is a big hit and our guests typically can avoid a rental car when staying with us. All dining options, airport and most business' are covered by our complimentary shuttle. Your title of this review "beautiful property"; means a lot to us. We love having you here and hope to see you again in Tampa very soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Our room was adequate but feel it needed updating. The bathroom walls were dirty with fingerprints. Housekeeping tried to enter room at 930 am and we were still in bed sleeping. The shuttle is really convenient runs every 30 minutes to airport, stadium and local shopping.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TampaGM, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed the local complimentary shuttle and it was our pleasure to have you as our guest! We will strive to improve on the fingerprint comments; we take it very seriously and will improve on that portion of your stay. We do start cleaning rooms at 9 AM each day and I will meet with the team and remind them to be careful with those first rooms that we knock on the door and attempt to clean. We want you to be relaxed and your comfort is our first priority. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again and providing you the best possible accommodations as our valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Address: 4811 West Main Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#33 Family Hotel in Tampa
#42 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#42 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#50 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A favorite of both business and leisure travelers, AmeriSuites hotels offer guests an attractively designed suite with 25% more space than a traditional hotel room and all the comforts of home. Most AmeriSuites provide guests with amenities such as kitchenettes with microwaves and refrigerators, complimentary Bountiful Breakfast Buffet, fitness rooms and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Amex, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt
Hyatt Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.