We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4730 Spruce Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When we travel with our dogs, La Quinta is our choice because they don't tack on unreasonable dog deposits like many other hotel chains. We chose La Quinta Tampa airport over the other south Tampa location that was closer to my family because it was more than $20 cheaper a night. That kind of savings adds up for a good dinner out! The La Quinta Airport location is great because it's walking distance from two malls and a ton of restaurants in the malls as well as just near them. There is an IHOP right next to the hotel which is good, because the complimentary breakfast is sub-par compared to other La Quinta locations. It's the same food each day and nothing spectacular. Other La Quinta locations have waffles you can make fresh, fresh pastries and bagels, etc. This location has a bunch of pre-packaged Otis Spunkmeyer muffins and bagels. I understand that they may do this for the busy business traveler who just wants to grab a muffin and throw it in their bag on their way to a flight, but for those of us staying for three or four nights, a better selection of food would be welcome.

Check in was efficient but not overly friendly or welcoming. I was displeased with the (lack of) cleanliness of our bathroom when we checked in. The toilet seat was FILTHY and I had to wipe it down before we could use it. I considered calling the front desk to complain, but nature called and decided it wasn't worth it.

Even with the minor quibbles, we'd stay here again based on the location and overall value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    193
    92
    39
    20
See reviews for
137
148
62
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed recently because we had to take a family member to the airport. It is not perfect, but it is a very good hotel. The staff was friendly and efficient. The airport shuttle was the best part because the drivers were prompt and courteous. Everyone was very helpful. Breakfast was average but fine, and very good when you consider the price. I would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: The bathroom and shower are on the smaller side, just in case you have larger people in your party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night after arriving late into Tampa Airport. The hotel is really convenient for the airport. The check in staff were pleasant and efficient and our room was pretty spacious, not luxurious but we did not expect that for what we paid.

The breakfast area was small and the choice at breakfast was somewhat limited but again this was in line with our expectations given the cost of the hotel (if this were a real problem there is an IHOP next door).

What can lift a budget hotel above average is the attitude of the staff and it is the friendliness of the staff that moved this from average to very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed in La Quinta on Spruce for 5 days.i was in Tampa for the funeral of my husband and choose this motel since it was close by the airport and has a shuttle. When i first walked in i didnt see anyone for minutes and had allready a bad feeling. But it turned out i was wrong. The whole stay the manager Jonathan and his team were very helpfull and always friendly. My internet was my only way to stay connected with my family in europe and when the manager couldnt fix it he contacted a company to fix it. When they couldnt take out the cigarette smell out of the room they just moved me to another one and helped me doing that. I felt fine there even in this sad situation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the La Quinta Inn close to Tampa Int. Airport to avoid rush hour traffic for a mid-morning flight. Check-in was easy and the room was very clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The air in our room didn't work very well but it was tolerable. We went to a sporting event after checking in and didn't return until late and didn't want to try and change rooms. We didn't eat the free breakfast but it seemed adequate. The best part of the stay was the low price and the free shuttle to the airport. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Address: 4730 Spruce Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Tampa
#55 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The newly renovated La Quinta Inn Tampa Airport is less than a mile from Tampa International, and central to all entertainment areas.While here check out Historic Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Clearwater and St. Pete beaches, Dali Museum, MOSI, St. Pete, Times Forum (Lightning), Tropicana Field (Rays), and Raymond James Stadium (Buccaneers). Transportation is available each day to Seaport in Tampa. The La Quinta Inn Tampa Airport has meeting facilities, a heated outdoor pool, and, off the lobby, our Free Bright Side BreakfastTM every morning. Rooms are spacious, comfy, and filled with amenities; our staff is here to make your stay most enjoyable. See you soon! We are located one mile north of I-275, less than a mile from Tampa International Airport, and across the street from International Mall. Free parking and airport shuttle service is available for registerend guests during stay and we offer Stay and Go parking rates for our hotel guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Tampa
Tampa La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.