We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place at the last minute” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4730 Spruce Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Not a bad place at the last minute”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I were travelling to Tampa at the literal last minute (due to weather) and we needed a hotel with a shuttle from the airport. The La Quinta had availability and we settled on this option. The shuttle was prompt, the desk attendant helpful and willing to assist with our late-night arrival needs.

Hotel is situated adjacent to the landing path for the airport so it is quite loud. Additionally, their was a lot of "service" going on in the parking lot in the early morning hours (garbage, etc.). Being that the rooms are located as a motel, the sound pours over the windows and rooms.

The breakfast was sparse and I even witnessed guests tossing some of the bagged bread (for toast) as they found mold on it when opened. I had some oatmeal and an orange and was good.

It is convenient to the airport, the rates are some of the cheapest in the area, and the staff/service was attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    166
    77
    31
    18
See reviews for
119
125
50
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owatonna, Minnesota
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We checked in at about 9pm, Tues, Feb.12, and the night agent was very friendly and helpful with our reservations. We were a group of 4 rooms and all joking and she laughed with us and joked with us, but was still a professional and got the job done. She made sure we had everything understood; shuttle time, wake up calls, etc, before we left the area. Later while I was near by printing my boarding pass for the next day, I overheard here explaining the Rewards Program to a new client and helped him with a Rewards number. This was all very professional. I am a Gold Rewards Member, and have stayed at many La Quinta's across the country and La Quinta's are a good value for the money, without all the extras, that are not needed for just an overnight stay. Only downside, this building is not new, and is showing it's age.

Room Tip: No elevators, if you need it. Aks for ground floor when booking if handicapped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great location if you need to be by the Airport. We were picking up our neighbors on Fri. so we made it a mini vacation and came a day earlier and enjoyed the area and Ana Maria Island.
Service was excellent. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.
My least favorite thing was that there wasn't any brochures or literature in the rooms about the hotel or Tampa Area

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

In Tampa for a convention, downtown hotels were all over $150 per night, La Quinta a third of that. What do you give up? Need transportation to downtown. Bus (20 - 30 minutes) every half hour one block from Hotel ($2 each way - $4 for unlimited daily trips).

Hotel is well kept, rooms clean, beds comfortable and staff very friendly. A morning breakfast, fruit, yogurt, coffee, orange juice, cereal, is ok, but not spectacular. But it's right next door to an IHOP, so if you want a better breakfast that's available. A short walk away is a shopping mall with just about everything you might want. In room WiFi free, but a little spotty at times.

All in all, a decent affordable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Address: 4730 Spruce Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#42 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The newly renovated La Quinta Inn Tampa Airport is less than a mile from Tampa International, and central to all entertainment areas.While here check out Historic Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Clearwater and St. Pete beaches, Dali Museum, MOSI, St. Pete, Times Forum (Lightning), Tropicana Field (Rays), and Raymond James Stadium (Buccaneers). Transportation is available each day to Seaport in Tampa. The La Quinta Inn Tampa Airport has meeting facilities, a heated outdoor pool, and, off the lobby, our Free Bright Side BreakfastTM every morning. Rooms are spacious, comfy, and filled with amenities; our staff is here to make your stay most enjoyable. See you soon! We are located one mile north of I-275, less than a mile from Tampa International Airport, and across the street from International Mall. Free parking and airport shuttle service is available for registerend guests during stay and we offer Stay and Go parking rates for our hotel guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Tampa
Tampa La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.