We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient airport hotel for those on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4730 Spruce Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Convenient airport hotel for those on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and were in Tampa for a Carnival cruise over New Years Eve. We had one night to spend in Tampa after the cruise, and since we had a 7am flight I decided on an airport hotel. I was surprised at how overpriced so many hotels in the area were considering it was a Monday night in January a week after the holiday season ended. We didn't need a fancy place to stay... just a safe clean room and that is what the La Quinta Inn delivered.

We arrived at 2:30pm and were promptly checked in. The hotel has exterior doors which I do not prefer, but for the government rate of $59 plus tax I couldn't complain. (The desk clerk did ask for a government ID.) We were given a room on the first floor. I would normally request an upper floor, but since it was just for one night it was convenient to pull the rental car right up to the door of the room.

Upon entering the room, you could tell that this was an older property that had been recently upgraded. I liked the decor of the room. The flat screen TV was an added bonus. There was a vast channel selection and we did watch a movie on Showtime while in the room. There was a power strip zip-tied to the desk which was an eyesore, but we didn't mind since in most budget hotels you have to move furniture and unplug lamps just to plug your cell phone in. There were also multiple power box outlets next to the bed. The wifi signal was strong and we had no problem using our laptops.

The bathroom showed some wear and tear. This is where you could tell the most that this was an older hotel. The vanity was spacious and the shower was adequate. The bedspreads and towels all looked brand new.

After we had been in our room for about an hour, the front desk clerk called to make sure everything was to our liking. This was quite unexpected since this was a budget hotel. A little later we went to the public computer in the lobby to print out our boarding passes and the desk clerk was making calls to other room asking them the same thing.

When we woke up in the morning we called the front desk clerk and asked if he could put breakfast out a little early since we had to depart the hotel by 5am and breakfast was advertised as starting at 6am. He said he could only put out some fruit and yogurt. We checked out at 5am and sat in the lobby long enough to eat oranges and yogurt and drink some orange juice. I did find a packet of flavored oatmeal in a wire bin on the counter so I made that in a coffee cup with hot water, but since there was no milk out yet I used coffee creamer. Since this is an airport hotel I really think breakfast should start earlier. We were not the only ones departing at such an early hour. There was a gentleman checking out when we arrived at the front desk at 5am.

The rental car agency we used (E-Z) was right around the corner - a 2 minute drive. Because of this we were at the airport in no time. We drove from the hotel to the rental car agency, hopped on the shuttle, went through security and made it to our gate just 45 minutes after leaving the hotel! This was much quicker than we anticipated.

All in all this hotel met our needs. We stayed here because it was the best deal we found for an airport hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    225
    125
    50
    26
See reviews for
170
181
73
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

To be honest, walking into our room was a little spooky in that, drive-up-to-the-door motel kind of way. The room was dated and smelled like stale water. For cleanliness, I'd give it a 2/5. We plugged our nose, closed our eyes, and showered in record time, I just wanted to leave! We picked it because we needed a quick pit stop on a driving trip, but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for the Outback Bowl Game...the room was plenty large enough, AC worked great and the beds were really comfortable, best mattresses we've slept on at a hotel in recent years. No elevator, so keep that in mine when asking for a room. Breakfast was a bit limited in food selection & only open till 9am. Overall though, we thought it was a great stay for the price!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This location could use a lifting renovation, as it is a bit stale and dated. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the complimentary continental breakfast is enough to get you started. Nothing fancy if you're just looking for a decent place to lay your head for the night (or 2). The staff are most friendly and accommodating. Nicely located near the International Mall!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've stayed twice this past year and both times its was OK. Rooms were clean, beds are a bit too firm for my preferance but they are comfortable. The staff has always been very friendly. I enjoy watching the aircraft land and take off at the airport from the balcony. I am disappointed in the coffee makers in the room, and the fact the lounge has no coffee except at breakfast which is another issue the breakfast was poor no selection. I enjoy the convience of the stay and go which is the main reason we stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We always stay at Laquinta Inn and Suites where ever we are. If it's not Laquinta, I won't stay there. Staff is always friendly and courteous. In 25 years we have never had an issue with anything at Laquinta Inn's.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Memorial Hwy.
0.3 mi away
Ramada Tampa Airport Westshore
3.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Address: 4730 Spruce Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The newly renovated La Quinta Inn Tampa Airport is less than a mile from Tampa International, and central to all entertainment areas.While here check out Historic Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Clearwater and St. Pete beaches, Dali Museum, MOSI, St. Pete, Times Forum (Lightning), Tropicana Field (Rays), and Raymond James Stadium (Buccaneers). Transportation is available each day to Seaport in Tampa. The La Quinta Inn Tampa Airport has meeting facilities, a heated outdoor pool, and, off the lobby, our Free Bright Side BreakfastTM every morning. Rooms are spacious, comfy, and filled with amenities; our staff is here to make your stay most enjoyable. See you soon! We are located one mile north of I-275, less than a mile from Tampa International Airport, and across the street from International Mall. Free parking and airport shuttle service is available for registerend guests during stay and we offer Stay and Go parking rates for our hotel guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Tampa
Tampa La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.