We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if your room isn't near the Expressway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x HHonors Points
Ranked #76 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel if your room isn't near the Expressway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

I travel a lot and was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel! It was very clean, modern updated and what you would want to be greeted by after a long day of travel.
If memory serves, the last two digits of my room were 7 and 2. I don't remember, but what I do remember and won't forget anytime soon was that it had a GREAT view of the Expressway! Now, I travel for business and am not looking for great views, just a quiet place to get some sleep. Well, that couldn't have been farther from what I got! Unfortunately because my room overlooked the Expressway I heard the noises of cars all night long. I'm a New Yorker so you would think that he noise wouldn't bother me. Yet, because the swooshing sound of cars going by was partnered with trucks shifting gears and motorcycles speeding it was very disruptive. Additionally, at about 5am I kept hearing a beeping noise, like a truck backing up. The beep would last for a few beeps, stop for 5 seconds and start again. This went on for 2 hours! Finally, I looked outside my window and saw a bulldozer across the Expressway in a fenced in lot pushing dirt around. Every time the bulldozer would back up the beeping would sound. The beeping seemed incredibly unnecessary considering it was pushing dirt around in a vacant lot, but that's neither here nor there.

The next morning I went downstairs and casually mentioned this to the front desk. I didn't expect them to do anything about it because they certainly can't control the traffic or the busy work of a bulldozer, but I was a bit surprised by the front desk's flip attitude. Oh well.

Regardless, I think it is a great, clean, hotel. My only warning would be to ask specifically to have a room on the complete other side of the hotel nowhere near the Expressway, you'll sleep much better just like my partner traveling with me did.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    299
    231
    102
    62
See reviews for
181
207
87
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

My organization hosted a conference here and we had a great experience. Kim and Jerri were wonderful to work with, and were very accommodating to meet our changing needs. Both the food and the food service were very good, too.

The hotel is very close the airport and a 15 minute cab ride down to Ybor City where a lot of restaurants are.

The only is issue is that the temperature fluctuated in the meeting rooms from quite cold to warm and muggy.

Overall, the hotel is a great value for the money and I would happily work with them again.
- Mike

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

I spent a couple of days in Tampa working close to the airport. The Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport proved to be a great choice, with fresh rooms, great friendly staff and a great sports bar/restaurant.

I highly recommend it for anyone in the area.

Guy

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

I escorted a fairly large group to this hotel. The staff was fantastic! Their new sports bar has great Tapas and I was very happy to see a lot of the same employees from the previous stay a year prior. The porters are curtious and quick. The group coordinator was a delight to work with.

This hotel has become our number one recommendation for clients staying in the Tampa Westshore area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

If you are seeking the "old Florida" this is the place. The hotel is decorated in tropical theme and just went through renovation. The rooms are quiet and have an outdoor patio with small table and chairs to relax and take in the balmy weather. Shuttle from airport to hotel and food service was great. I definitely plan to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

Wonderful place to stay the rooms were extremly clean and smelled great, housekeeper on my floor was amazing to clean up after me. I only got to stay one night but the next time i come back i will be returning with my entire family for our weekend away from home.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Address: 4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore is close to everything that you're looking for in Tampa Bay! Located only 5 minutes from Tampa International Airport, our Tampa hotel is an ideal choice for the business traveler, sports enthusiast, family vacation, large and small meeting, wedding or social event. Our complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service makes it easy and affordable to get to the hotel. The DoubleTree by Hilton in Tampa is surrounded by the Bay Area's finest dining, shopping and entertainment. We are just minutes from Busch Gardens, University of South Florida, Port of Tampa, Downtown Tampa, Tampa Convention Center, University of Tampa, The Florida Aquarium and Historic Ybor City. Award-winning Gulf Beaches and other area attractions, such as Lowry Park Zoo, Adventure Island, MOSI, Salvador Dali Museum, Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center and Tampa Museum of Art are all a short drive from the hotel.We are located in Tampa's Westshore District, Florida's largest business center and a premier destination for meetings. Raymond James Stadium, home of the NFL Tampa Bay Buccaneers and USF Bulls Football, is only 5 minutes from our doors. Steinbrenner Field, spring training home of New York Yankees is also 5 minutes from the hotel and the St. Pete Times Forum, home to the NHL Tampa Bay Lightning is a 10 minute drive. The DoubleTree by Hilton is central to all of Tampa's fine sports venues, including the Ed Radice Sports Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Doubletree
Doubletree Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.