We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2x HHonors Points
Ranked #72 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Kissimmee, United States
1 review
“A very Good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a older hotel but is in very good condition & clean. Dinning rms are clean & all staff is very polite & helpful. Location to airport, downtown & major highways is great... I would stay here again..Hilton does a good job in refurbishing older hotels & bringing them up to their outstanding standards

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeTampa, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport – Westshore. Our central location makes it easy for our guests to relax and enjoy the area, all the while being just minutes from exciting attractions and travel destinations. We’d love to welcome you back, and we hope that it’s soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    267
    205
    87
    54
See reviews for
165
193
81
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a good spot if you need to be near the Tampa Airport. It's only about a 5 minute drive away from the terminal. There are a variety of eating places within walking distance and the hotel offers free shuttle service to the mall down the street, which is nice if you don't have a car. The staff was friendly and the hotel also had a nice pool area with lots of lounge chairs. The decor of the hotel is definitely due for an update though, both in the guest rooms and the public areas. My room was comfortable and I liked having a balcony, but the carpet was showing its age and the furniture was a bit dated. Once there is a renovation it will be a top-notch hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeTampa, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We’re delighted to have been able to create a comfortable stay for you and we appreciate your kind compliments for our dedicated staff. We are working to improve many areas of our hotel and we can’t wait to welcome you back in the future to experience the changes. Thank you for your kind review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport – Westshore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the room are kind it old better maintained than other the staff was very nice i even got free breadfast good sleeping good lacation shooping restaurant on site are good i did not experience any problems at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeTampa, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport – Westshore. We’re pleased to hear you received a restful night’s sleep and were able to take advantage of our convenient location. Please come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

July 2014 -
We place great attention to CLEAN CLEAN hotel stays, it assures us a good nite's rest.
Tampa was a stop for us we decided to book another HILTON
chain hotel, and we saw a "special pay-inadvance price" for the Doubletree by Hilton at Westshore, Tampla Airport, Florida.

1) We fell into what felt like a trap.
The "special pay-in advance price" is to get you into a pretty badly kept hotel.
Bad image for Hilton Honors.See pictures

RUNdowned hotel from 1973 or 1979!- (I was told by someone at the reception)

This hotel has some floors reserved for hilton honors
members but the ENTIRE hotel is in deep need of a complete renovation.
Not clean enough, see the pictures on the carpet and the bathroom tiles !!

WE ARE sure that housekeepers do their very very best to maintain this hotel in decent condition, it is just too old.

As the attached picture details- there is dust on all old, and worn out carpets.
If you have allergies of any kind, please note the amount of dust on the carpets, the hallways, etc.
2) The bathroom tiles are not clean the tiles are litterally dark and the bathroom furniture needs a change too!
We are confident that housekeeping team works hard to maintain a hotel that simply needs renovation.

3) The hotel sold us a room with breakfast included in the price.

But the breakfast is served by a restaurant that seems to be attached to the hotel called "Bistro Italia", This restaurant provides a nice buffet breakfast- nothing extraordinary. Buffet style usually means self-service!
Although you get up and serve yourself for the buffet, you are still KINDLY asked to pay a TIP of (minimum 8 USD for 2 adults) for the coffee served to our table ??
The TIP is calculated for you based on an estimated value of your buffet breakfast!

WE DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeTampa, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are very sorry to hear that we failed to exceed your expectations in every way during your recent stay with us. Please be assured that we take all comments very seriously, as our guests’ comfort is our highest priority, and we are given a unique opportunity to be able to see our guest’s perspective with your review. Your comments will be shared with each department that affected your stay and with our management team in order to work towards addressing your concerns. We greatly appreciate the time you’ve taken to bring these points to our attention and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An extremely pleasant experience. We stayed at the Doubletree Cypress st and left our vehicle under cover safely for nearly a month for only $5 a day after 14 days free parking with our room rate. Friendly helpful staff and prompt happy shuttle to airport and back. Absolutely no problems whatsoever. Will most definitely use again. Thank you Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeTampa, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are so pleased to hear that your experience at our hotel was exceptional. Our covered parking garage and extended parking rates make it easy for our guests to fully relax, knowing that their vehicle is well taken care of while they travel. Thank you for mentioning the convenient Cypress Street location of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport – Westshore and for your kind praise of our staff. It would be our pleasure to have you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean room, pleasant staff, very convenient to Tampa Airport. We stayed one night as we were leaving Florida after spending a week there. we recommend this hotel as an excellent last place to stay before an early flight back north.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeTampa, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
How wonderful to hear that your brief stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport – Westshore was enjoyable. We do hope that your week spent in Florida was just as memorable and we thank you for your kind comments. We’d love to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very Happy the first time we stayed at this hotel. This time, disappointed. No safe in room, no fridge, I had to take the leaves out of the pool so I could swim. You would think that in the middle of August the staff would make sure the pool is in pristine condition, as people would definitely use it at this time of year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeTampa, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
It is disheartening to read that your recent experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. We encourage our guests to reach out to us with any concerns, so that we may immediately work to improve their experience. Thank you for sharing your comments with us; we will utilize them to help us improve future experiences for everyone. We hope to have a chance to re-gain your trust in our hotel and we thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Address: 4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore is close to everything that you're looking for in Tampa Bay! Located only 5 minutes from Tampa International Airport, our Tampa hotel is an ideal choice for the business traveler, sports enthusiast, family vacation, large and small meeting, wedding or social event. Our complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service makes it easy and affordable to get to the hotel. The DoubleTree by Hilton in Tampa is surrounded by the Bay Area's finest dining, shopping and entertainment. We are just minutes from Busch Gardens, University of South Florida, Port of Tampa, Downtown Tampa, Tampa Convention Center, University of Tampa, The Florida Aquarium and Historic Ybor City. Award-winning Gulf Beaches and other area attractions, such as Lowry Park Zoo, Adventure Island, MOSI, Salvador Dali Museum, Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center and Tampa Museum of Art are all a short drive from the hotel.We are located in Tampa's Westshore District, Florida's largest business center and a premier destination for meetings. Raymond James Stadium, home of the NFL Tampa Bay Buccaneers and USF Bulls Football, is only 5 minutes from our doors. Steinbrenner Field, spring training home of New York Yankees is also 5 minutes from the hotel and the St. Pete Times Forum, home to the NHL Tampa Bay Lightning is a 10 minute drive. The DoubleTree by Hilton is central to all of Tampa's fine sports venues, including the Ed Radice Sports Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Doubletree
Doubletree Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.