We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2x HHonors Points
Ranked #76 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great stay and right next to Charlies Steak House!! Last minute reservation due to change in plans....great price...Great service and a free room upgrade to a suite... we will be back!! NHFDY*IYHJKBKHVKHBJLVJLNJLVLKNKHBN:LBKBJN:BLJ:LNLBK:NKJHVIHFL:NHJCV

Room Tip: Who knows? Slept like a baby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    289
    223
    100
    61
See reviews for
179
203
85
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

As a frame of reference, I travel every week and usually stay in 1-2 different hotels per week.

I stayed in "the tower" at this Doubletree, which is code for 50 feet from the Interstate. I was actually on the ground floor (do not stay on the ground floor).

The Tower is a long walk from reception and when you get there you certainly get the full volume of staying next to a very busy road, in a dark room where 2 lights and one bathroom function did not work.

The staff were professional and pleasant, which is way more than I can say for the hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
As a frequent traveler, we're glad we had the honor of serving you recently, and apologize that our services were not what you expected. While great service is very important, it's also just as imperative that our amenities and facility features are in tip-top shape. I'm sorry to hear about the noise concerns, and bathroom lighting. Your comments will surely help us to improve. If I can be of any additional assistance to you in the future, certainly let me know. We value your business and hope you'll return to see our improvements.

Kind regards,
Christian Salazar
Christian.salazar2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was only here for one night before a cruise and had no problem with the room. It was spacious, clean, and quiet. The only problem was that the only restaurant within walking distance open after 10 PM nearby was the sports bar at the hotel and I wanted something quieter.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We are family of 4, need a room to stay before next early day flight. I booked two double beds for us and the reservation says 1 king bed. The lady did solve the problem and gave us two double beds. At night, we need one more blanket for my kid and i called the housekeeper. She called me back and said there is one in the closet, i did know that but i still need another one. She never shows up. The room needs work. In the morning, we had to leave early and the complimentary shuttle worked out great. I would think a coffee service table by lobby would be a nice touch. I did notice a coffee machine in the room but who have time in the morning when you already rush to get out to catch the flight especially family with children.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. At our hotel, we know that the look and feel of our guestrooms is very important and we will use your comments on our amenities in service as we continually look for ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to the area you’ll stay with us and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you,
Christian Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

overall experience poor. Booked a room with 2 queen beds for family of 5. Beds were more like the size of doubles. was assured by staff that the beds were "their queens". room was dirty. candy and used spoon on floor by beds. comforters dirty. ventilation system hard to adjust. room too cold or too hot. funky smell. stayed for 3 nights had to move on day #3 because hotel had booked a group on same floor and needed our room. had to help staff move our stuff as they did not have trolley to move our luggage. pool was very dirty and hot tub closed for a whole day for routine cleaning. this was very upsetting esp when we had planned a pool day with our kids that day. Staff friendly and food at the 2 restaurants was good. will never stay there again or recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the U.S. and sunny Florida. Unclean rooms and facilities-such as the pool are not acceptable. We understand how much you were looking forward to spending that time with your family and apologize for the missteps. We're also tremendously grateful for your flexibility regarding the room switch and am sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your concerns further and know that we've reviewed and addressed all your concerns with our team. We hope we'll one day have the chance to serve you again.

Sincerely
Christian Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waltham, ma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here back in October 2012 when hurricane Sandy came and we needed to get a flight a couple days before our cruise since they were starting to cancel flights! We were on a 6:00am flight and got to the DoubleTree at around 9:30 and they were so sweet and let us check in. The first room we went to had a view of the pool but smelt really musty and gross. We asked for a different room and were given a room that didn't have a view but was definately rennovated and was nice. They had a shuttle service that picked us at the airport, you just have to call when you land. The shuttle will also take you to the mall and the gentleman we had was great and gave us his number to call whenever we were ready to be picked up. Also, don't forget to ask for fresh baked chocolate chip cookies! They are the best :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for spring training baseball. Used points. Breakfast bar was great. I got it for free as a Diamond member. It is not free otherwise. Great location for ball park and airport. Room was nice and quiet. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Address: 4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore is close to everything that you're looking for in Tampa Bay! Located only 5 minutes from Tampa International Airport, our Tampa hotel is an ideal choice for the business traveler, sports enthusiast, family vacation, large and small meeting, wedding or social event. Our complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service makes it easy and affordable to get to the hotel. The DoubleTree by Hilton in Tampa is surrounded by the Bay Area's finest dining, shopping and entertainment. We are just minutes from Busch Gardens, University of South Florida, Port of Tampa, Downtown Tampa, Tampa Convention Center, University of Tampa, The Florida Aquarium and Historic Ybor City. Award-winning Gulf Beaches and other area attractions, such as Lowry Park Zoo, Adventure Island, MOSI, Salvador Dali Museum, Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center and Tampa Museum of Art are all a short drive from the hotel.We are located in Tampa's Westshore District, Florida's largest business center and a premier destination for meetings. Raymond James Stadium, home of the NFL Tampa Bay Buccaneers and USF Bulls Football, is only 5 minutes from our doors. Steinbrenner Field, spring training home of New York Yankees is also 5 minutes from the hotel and the St. Pete Times Forum, home to the NHL Tampa Bay Lightning is a 10 minute drive. The DoubleTree by Hilton is central to all of Tampa's fine sports venues, including the Ed Radice Sports Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Doubletree
Doubletree Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.