We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Sevice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2x HHonors Points
Ranked #72 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Edwardsville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Customer Sevice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was impressed with the staff at this hotel who were very friendly and helpful. One person in particular was a young man named Marcelles.
He was working the front desk on the afternoon of 1/22/2014. He showed a great deal of empathy concerning a book I had left at the airport. The book meant a lot to me.
Marcelles went above and beyond the call of duty to reunite me with my book.
He is an associate that Hilton can be proud to represent them. Individuals like him are the foundation of a successful company.
Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    261
    198
    82
    53
See reviews for
161
187
80
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Four of us ended up in Tampa needing a hotel room by the airport for only one night. It took us a while but we finally got two rooms at the Doubletree. I don't know if it was due to my husband's Hilton status or if that was all they had but we ended up with two connecting rooms which worked out well for two couples traveling together. Hotel staff during check-in was obviously very busy but extremely efficient and very freiendly. We found out when checking in that everything was booked becuase there was an Extreme Fighting (whatever that is) convention in town, a monster truck rally also in town and a local hockey game. Not too promising for two middle-aged couples looking for a quiet room.

Our rooms were obviously not used a lot because we had a lovely view of the freeway that we heard 24/7. I question the security because there were at least 7 different restaurant flyers under the door. If I was a woman traveling along, that would alarm me because obviously, anyone can get access to rooms.

This hotel is huge. We wandered the halls towing a luggage rack with us and finally found the rooms after several turns and long hallways. The rooms were of average size and looked a bit tired. Though the windows, doors and fixtures were older, the linens and towels were nice and fresh. Except for the dirty towel rolled up in the "closet" a niche in the wall with no door. Also, there was no luggage rack or any place to put luggage except for the floor so you had to be sure not to trip over that in the middle of the night.

The bathroom was on the roomy side with nice Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries. Plenty of towels that were on the newer side. The TV had plenty of stations and three HBO stations.

After checking in we went in search of food. (Ended up at Charley's next door, an $$$ steakhouse next door. Long wait because of the hotel activity but once seated, had a very nice meal,) When we hit the hotel lobby, oh my, worlds were colliding. There were scantily clad tattooed women signing in "extreme fighters" who were walking around in "I am Ninja" tee shirts. This didn't seem to bother any older guests because smack in the middle were several white-haired women in wheel chairs sitting there chatting and soaking it all in. Very ecclectic group who obviously got along well. Great people watching opportunity.

All was fine with our stay until about 1:15 AM. A 15+ person party down the hall was spilling out of a hotel room. They were loud and didn't seem to care about anyone else but themselves. When calling the front desk to complain, I discovered the telephone cord was all mangled together causing me to get the phone in the face and then I discovered the phone didn't work too well because I could barely hear the front desk. But it worked because in like 5-8 minutes, the party broke up. I tried to go back to sleep listening to the sounds of the freeway but that wasn't too helpful.

With our room we got free breakfast at ItaliAsia in the hotel and according to the check-in clerk, "the best breakfast in Tampa". She wasn't too far off. Funny but at 9AM Sunday, it was all senior citizens. Guess all those partiers were sleeping it off. The hostess and waitress were very busy but very nice. Met you with a smile and prompt service. The food was very good and fresh. Great blintzes, bacon, delicious fresh fruit and nice baked goods. For our last meal in Tampa, it was very pleasant and nice.

I don't know if I would stay here again because of the size of the hotel. The location was very convenient but I like my hotels smaller and quieter. I heard several people rave about the pool so it probably would be good for those traveling with children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the freeway side or with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As always, Hiltonb properties are the best!! Room was fabulous, clean, spacious. Internet access (not free) was simple to connect to and very fast. Staff was very pleasant and even went out of their way to find me some extra coffee creamer very late at night so I would have it for morning. Easy trip to airport too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while we visited with friends. We were pleasantly surprised that we received an upgrade to a suite as we are part of their loyalty program. The room was large and clean and we never heard a sound at night. The hotel is centrally located to the very large mall where we had dinner at Brio and also to Raymond James Stadium where we went to the Bucs game. Overall it was a fantastic stay and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is an older hotel that needs a lot of maintenance. We had to be relocated 6 times because of maintenance issues (toilets and ac not working, bathroom sink not draining). The place smells and is not very clean. On the plus side, the location was good and the staff friendly but they were constantly trying to correct problems and issues from customers. There were several people we knew about that were having issues. We were scheduled to stay for 6 days and left early because of constant problems.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were in town for a ballgame and needed two rooms, check-in was so easy and the staff was very helpful. Even though we were there during the New Year Holiday both retaurants and the bar was crowded, service was out standing. Rooms were very clean and I will stay here again if I am in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

In the past 18 months I had the opportunity to stay at four different hotels in the Westshore Area but once I discovered this one it clearly became my favorite. The rooms are great (I like the onces with a conference table), the entire staff is wonderful & welcoming and breakfast is awesome. You will not be disappointed picking this hotel particularly because you get a lot of value for the rate. Whatever these guys are doing to train the staff... it is working!!!

Room Tip: Sign up for Hilton Honors and book your hotel using the Hilton Website. When you are done you will r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Address: 4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore is close to everything that you're looking for in Tampa Bay! Located only 5 minutes from Tampa International Airport, our Tampa hotel is an ideal choice for the business traveler, sports enthusiast, family vacation, large and small meeting, wedding or social event. Our complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service makes it easy and affordable to get to the hotel. The DoubleTree by Hilton in Tampa is surrounded by the Bay Area's finest dining, shopping and entertainment. We are just minutes from Busch Gardens, University of South Florida, Port of Tampa, Downtown Tampa, Tampa Convention Center, University of Tampa, The Florida Aquarium and Historic Ybor City. Award-winning Gulf Beaches and other area attractions, such as Lowry Park Zoo, Adventure Island, MOSI, Salvador Dali Museum, Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center and Tampa Museum of Art are all a short drive from the hotel.We are located in Tampa's Westshore District, Florida's largest business center and a premier destination for meetings. Raymond James Stadium, home of the NFL Tampa Bay Buccaneers and USF Bulls Football, is only 5 minutes from our doors. Steinbrenner Field, spring training home of New York Yankees is also 5 minutes from the hotel and the St. Pete Times Forum, home to the NHL Tampa Bay Lightning is a 10 minute drive. The DoubleTree by Hilton is central to all of Tampa's fine sports venues, including the Ed Radice Sports Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Doubletree
Doubletree Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.