We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2x HHonors Points
Ranked #75 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
pdrocean
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had a King room the room was great lots of room desk, chair, and couch Staff was friendly and helpful. When I checked in to my room my TV not was not working. The hotel corrected the issue in less than 10 minutes.
The hotel has two restaurants I only went to the Players Sports Pub it was really good and open until 1:00am food until 12:30.
Pros, hotel had a great location, very clean, and free airport shuttle.
Cons, hotel pool is surrounded by the building so it does not get much sun if that not an issue for you the pool and hot tub are very nice

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    271
    215
    92
    60
See reviews for
173
197
83
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

a great location , close to the airport ,mall and restaurants .THe front desk lady was very friendly and gave us cookies . The room was clean and new . The only thing is the noise from the highway facing the rooms . The bar was good and their wings too. THe pool was heated and very relaxing . I would defensibly go back soon

Room Tip: don't face the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Below is a story that happened to me last June when we went for a concert and a new current story.....

"We showed up at the hotel at 3:30 p.m. and were met by Trent at the front desk. When we told him were checking in he said my room was not ready yet but was going to try to find a room ready. (This is a room we paid for in advance). He said he found a room and it was cleaned but not yet inspected. We told him that is fine we would take it. He responded with it needs to be inspected first but we could leave our bags with him and we would receive the keys later that night when we returned.

When we returned around midnight the front desk agent, Lorella I believe, said she was searching for our room and that was it. After about three minutes of complete silence and her not communicating at all we overhead someone say there was no rooms available. I asked her if this was true and she said yes there are no rooms. (Once again this is a room we paid for in advanced, PAID IN FULL) I tried to communicate to her that we checked in earlier and were told that we had a room available. Then I explained that my room was paid for I should have one. She tried to tell me that I did not pay for it and after arguing about that she then realized that yes my room was fully paid for. Wanda, the manager then came out and told us there is nothing she could do and that we would have to be sent to Brandon or St. Petersburg for the night. I told her that is completely unacceptable and and demanded an answer of why I was told I had a room and now 9 hours later I don't. She had no answer and just had a smirk on her face. She was completely unhelpful, rude and overall unsympathetic to the situation. When we finally left on our own to find our own place there was at least 20 more people expecting to check in that I am sure did not receive a room."

Now they did send me a gift certificate and a refund, but now I am trying to use the gift certificate for a weekend and they tell me I cannot because they may sell out. They are not sold out, but may. I said they need to make an exception because of how bad they treated me and screwed up my reservation last year. I have not heard from any staff to resolve my problem. If I were you I would stay away from this hotel! Especially if you plan on going to the Kenny Chesney concert the weekend of March 16, 2013.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed one night for a bowl game at Raymond James Stadium and was very pleased with the cleanliness of the room/surroundings as well as the hospitality of the staff. From check-in to check-out we found the staff very friendly and willing to help answer any questions we had. And if you are a hilton member they provide a free huge buffet which many more options than your typical complimentary breakfast. I would recommend to any traveler to Tampa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a large group. They were TOTALLY ill-equipped to deal with a full hotel. It took a very long time to get a room, we didn't didn't receive housekeeping services for 3 days. The hot tub was broken our entire stay, the pool was freezing. The bar had terrible service. The housekeeping staff left dirty linen and garbage bags piled up along the hallways. It was gross!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The room was nice, clean and well-appointed. The location was great. Close to the Airport, shopping and easy to get to from the highway. Parking was free and readily available. The pool was very cold. The staff seamed to make more than the normal amount of mistakes. Our room had 2 of three lamps with dead light bulbs and the maid took all of our towels one day however the front desk was quick to correct these mistakes.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in the tower. it is at the back and very high. so it can take a long time to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

As the Events Planner for my husband's Army Reunion, the Tampa Double Tree Airport-Westshore proved to be a great location. As we move around the country each year for our reunions, Tampa was the perfect host town for our 2012 reunion. There was plenty to do in the area and the hotel shuttle was very accommadating. The weather was great, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the plentiful breakfast buffet was enjoyed by each of our guest every morning as was the Sports Bar. The pool and courtyard area was great and provided a place for some of our group to gather throughout our stay. The front desk staff always had a smile and ready to help and answer questions. I worked with Annabel and Iris for our reunion planning and catering and they left no stone unturned. They were wonderful. Our catered meals were delicous and well presented. The chef even came into our banquet room after each meal to meet our group. The Catering setup staff...well, they were great too. This is a large hotel but it never felt crowded. The last day of our reunion, Hurricane Sandy was heading up the east coast and while it really didn't effect Tampa, several of our group were not able to leave due to airline connections. The hotel graciously accommodated their unexpected extended stay. Thank you DoubleTree.

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the pool courtyard have a balcony and a great view. The Juniour Suites offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Address: 4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore is close to everything that you're looking for in Tampa Bay! Located only 5 minutes from Tampa International Airport, our Tampa hotel is an ideal choice for the business traveler, sports enthusiast, family vacation, large and small meeting, wedding or social event. Our complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service makes it easy and affordable to get to the hotel. The DoubleTree by Hilton in Tampa is surrounded by the Bay Area's finest dining, shopping and entertainment. We are just minutes from Busch Gardens, University of South Florida, Port of Tampa, Downtown Tampa, Tampa Convention Center, University of Tampa, The Florida Aquarium and Historic Ybor City. Award-winning Gulf Beaches and other area attractions, such as Lowry Park Zoo, Adventure Island, MOSI, Salvador Dali Museum, Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center and Tampa Museum of Art are all a short drive from the hotel.We are located in Tampa's Westshore District, Florida's largest business center and a premier destination for meetings. Raymond James Stadium, home of the NFL Tampa Bay Buccaneers and USF Bulls Football, is only 5 minutes from our doors. Steinbrenner Field, spring training home of New York Yankees is also 5 minutes from the hotel and the St. Pete Times Forum, home to the NHL Tampa Bay Lightning is a 10 minute drive. The DoubleTree by Hilton is central to all of Tampa's fine sports venues, including the Ed Radice Sports Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Doubletree
Doubletree Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.