We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2x HHonors Points
Ranked #72 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location and facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great location and facilities

This hotel is very well located, its close to the airport and to downtown, has great facilities, such a nice pool and confortable rooms, there is also a good restaurant inside and another great one next to the hotel...

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    267
    205
    87
    54
See reviews for
165
193
81
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This Doubletree is very near Raymond James - Home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, and also near the Airport. The room that I had was clean (no mold) and spacious with a nice balcony overlooking the swimming area. The swimming area was spacious with friendly vegetation. I found the staff seemingly friendly, yet not that helpful. I received a free breakfast coupon and enjoyed a terrific made-to-order omelet. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I've seen and the fresh fruit from Mangoes to strawberries with blueberries, cantaloupe and pineapple, wow!

Parking is easy and free and they do have valet. A parking garage or outside parking is available and right next door is Charleys Steakhouse - a short walk.

Check-out time is noon, not too bad in these days when it seems most hotels want you out by 11am.

Room Tip: Some of the hallways will have you turned-around and it's difficult to know if you're headed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADePiro, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your visit for the football game. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and our Wake Up DoubleTree Breakfast Buffet. We appreciate you highlighting our close proximity to Raymond James Stadium, home to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Outback Bowl. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed at this property several times in the Summer and Fall of 2012. It is a large, sprawling property, but when you are standing in the lobby or speaking with an employee, you feel like you are at the center of it. It may not be the most luxurious hotel and it may not be the most up to date, but the employees, by and large (except the concierge who was chronically missing from the post) make the difference. The rooms and common areas are clean. The onsite restaurant is pretty good; the onsite pub/lounge is fun with lots of TVs. They generally have reasonable rates and provide an overall good value. Of course, you can't help but feel better with a warm cookie and a smile, both of which are in copious supply at this property.

Room Tip: Try to get in the "tower" overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed there for a business trip this past week. Hotel location is very close to the airport and there is a free shuttle.

I am a Gold Hilton member and typically get upgraded to better rooms. My room here was very average compared to other Doubletree hotels that I have stayed at room. Rooms seemed a bit dated, older furniture, etc.

Hotel has a very nice sports bar and the food was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADePiro, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your visit and for complimenting our sports bar and food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The only thing that save this hotel from a 1 star review were its employees. They were all wonderful, save one that I'll get to in a moment. At first everything seemed nice. The shuttle driver that picked us up at the airport was super nice and helpful. He checked us in at the valet stand (we are flight crew so we do that sometimes). When I got to my room at first I immediately left to go to the local mall. I was in the room for maybe 10 mins and I noticed a slight smoke smell. Not cigarettes, but fire smoke. I figured it was something from outside and didn't think much of it. When I came back about 3 hours later. I was just about to get settled in and sleep. But the smoke smell was stronger than before and as I sat there my nose started to burn. I decided I couldn't sleep there and called the desk to ask for a different room. The lady that answered transferred me to the front desk. The lady that answered there was helpful, however in the middle of our conversation she stops talking to me and starts talking to, I assume, her coworker next to her. She was telling her how some lady had made her mad and she didn't want to deal with her any more and she was over it that night. She never told me to hang on or anything, which I found more funny and amusing than anything. Finally she told me they had a room I could move to. I get to the new room, which had a much less strong smoke smell. Got into bed and enjoyed listening to the outdoor noise and hallway noise. The place was loud. The next morning I awoke and started to make some coffee. Red light comes on, I hear coffee maker noises, I go about my morning routine. I come back maybe 5 mins later, no coffee. Odd, I thought and pushed the start button again. So thing, red light, noise, but no coffee. I pull out the cup and on the pod (I always stick the 2nd pod in my cup for stronger coffee) was this nasty looking white slime. EWW! I pull out the actually filer area and there is more white slim! I look in the water chamber and mold (i am guessing) is floating on the water! EWW EWW EWW! And the smell, oh my, give me the smoke smell any day. I was so gross. I reported this to the front desk and they gave me a free coffee so again, great people, terrible rooms. The rooms are just old and showing it. The bedspread in the 2nd room had a big streak of dried paint on it too. My coworker also had a weird room, she had no bath towels. Unfortunately she discovered this upon exiting the shower and had to use a wash cloth to dry off with. It sounds like this place needs some looking into and help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADePiro, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback about our team members. We are so disappointed to read of your experience and we appreciate you allowing the opportunity to correct it during your visit. We have shared your detailed comments with the appropriate department representatives so that this type of experience will not occur again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I always stay at the Hilton Doubletree Hotel near the Tampa Airport when I come to the Tampa/Sarasota/St. Petersburg area for senior tennis tournaments. My TOP TEN reasons are:
1, Mrs. Darlene "Sunshine" Zummo (a Guest Relations executive at this property who takes special care of Hilton's Gold & Black Diamond members ) always seems to find a way to secure me an upgraded room.
2. Mrs. Zummo and the entire hotel staff smile a lot...and they always have a "we can do that" attitude.
3. Michael Pagliarli, the Food & beverage Director, provides a chef each morning to ensure that your eggs are cooked to order. The breakfast buffet is bountiful...and always fresh,
4. "Jimmy"...the Concierge Host always makes certain that your Happy Hour is M*I*G*H*T*Y H*A*P*P*Y. Jimmy is both a Great Host and seasoned tennis player.
5. The hotel rooms were recently renovated and they are beautifully decorated.
6. The beds are firm and the comforters are first class.
7. There is plenty of valet parking if you need it.
8. The magnificent pool area is located inside the property so you have privacy.
9. The Chocolate Chip cookie that you are given at check in is freshly baked and delicious.
10. The hotel is located close to a shopping mall, fine dining, fast food, and the Hardrock Casino. The Tampa Airport is far enough away so you do not hear planes taking off or landing.
Bottom line...my many experiences at this hotel have ALL BEEN OUTSTANDING...! AND THEIR PRICES ARE VERY REA$ONABLE...!
I am already looking forward to a repeat visit and upcoming tennis tournament in St. Petersburg early next year...!

Jimmy

Room Tip: Ask to talk with "Sunshine"...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham Market, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Looks ok from the outside . In an area not too far from the airport and close to all the opposition as you might Warm welcome and obviously revamped lobby etc. If you want to lose the kids this is the place! Marvellous too if you are fan of mazes and rabbit warrens. The person who designed the inside of this place ... The corridors and the room numbering ...must have won awards! On a positive note one of the better buffet breakfast I've had in ages! The business package was incredibly cheap

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Address: 4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Tampa
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#72 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore is close to everything that you're looking for in Tampa Bay! Located only 5 minutes from Tampa International Airport, our Tampa hotel is an ideal choice for the business traveler, sports enthusiast, family vacation, large and small meeting, wedding or social event. Our complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service makes it easy and affordable to get to the hotel. The DoubleTree by Hilton in Tampa is surrounded by the Bay Area's finest dining, shopping and entertainment. We are just minutes from Busch Gardens, University of South Florida, Port of Tampa, Downtown Tampa, Tampa Convention Center, University of Tampa, The Florida Aquarium and Historic Ybor City. Award-winning Gulf Beaches and other area attractions, such as Lowry Park Zoo, Adventure Island, MOSI, Salvador Dali Museum, Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center and Tampa Museum of Art are all a short drive from the hotel.We are located in Tampa's Westshore District, Florida's largest business center and a premier destination for meetings. Raymond James Stadium, home of the NFL Tampa Bay Buccaneers and USF Bulls Football, is only 5 minutes from our doors. Steinbrenner Field, spring training home of New York Yankees is also 5 minutes from the hotel and the St. Pete Times Forum, home to the NHL Tampa Bay Lightning is a 10 minute drive. The DoubleTree by Hilton is central to all of Tampa's fine sports venues, including the Ed Radice Sports Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Doubletree
Doubletree Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.