We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2x HHonors Points
Ranked #68 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place is Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Recently spent five days at this Doubletree. Staff very friendly, The young lady who checked us in was very conscientious and would be a great manager, Shirley the F&B manager at the Italaisa restaurant was tremendous. The hotel itself was well appointed and since this was a national convention I am sure every one did their extra best. One thing to keep in mind about this location is that you will need to drive to many fun spots since this hotel is a bit away from things like Ybor City(a really cool place to go)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    250
    184
    72
    50
See reviews for
148
171
78
355
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I recently stayed at this property for one night before flying back to Dallas at 6am. They offer a free shuttle over to the airport, just five minutes away. The shuttle runs every 30 minutes, and drops you off right in front of your gate. Super clean and quiet rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent the night prior to our cruise, the entire staff was wonderful, the food was great and the welcome "cookie" was a nice surprise,and of course the room was spacious and clean. The location was good, very close to a Mall, we parked the car for the entire cruise at the hotel, the shuttle took us to the port and picked us up, the value was great, and a lot less hassle and a lot less cosstly than paying separatly for hotel and parking. I will do this again, and OH yeah, the cruise of amazing.

GREAT VALUE

Room Tip: Cant go wrong with a Hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

This property is in need of a major renovation to bring it up to the Hilton standards I am accustomed to. The lobby and restaurant areas are nice but that's where it ends. The rooms are dated as far as the walls and a/c unit. The bathtubs are old and small. The bed is comfortable and the pillows are nice. The room is very humid even with the air on so everything feels damp. The front desk staff were wonderful especially Martinza who helped me get a better room. I wouldn't stay here again as Homewood Suites nearby is much better value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADePiro, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay. It appears that you visited during the Republican National Convention, which was an extremely busy period for the hotel. We are a 100% non-smoking facility, although guests are permitted to smoke in designated areas. We're disappointed to read your comments about cleanliness. We consistently earn cleanliness scores in the "outstanding" range of 94% - 100% during unannounced inspections. We will share your feedback with the appropriate departments and team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Was here for 5 days in late August. Place was packed, rate was fairly high, but was disappointed in the cleanliness of the room and the lack of enforcement of the no smoking poliicy. Hall rugs and room carpet had stains. Room had funny window which was several feet off the ground for some reason. AC very loud. Bathroom was quite big and recently redone. But all in all a decent night sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the noisy highway side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a classic hotel, where everything costs money, and the room is small. They have a lot to learn from "cheap" motels, who frequently offer the same amenities, plus things like free (ok: "included") breakfast, microwave, fridge, etc. Don't get me wrong... If you want a "fancy" hotel, which pampers you for a price, this may be what you're looking for. For me, I'd rather pay less and get more for it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADePiro, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to provide our guests with many cost savings that are not always offered at upscale, full service hotels. Examples include complimentary Wi-Fi in guest rooms and public areas, complimentary parking, complimentary 24 hour fitness center, complimentary 24 hour business center and complimentary airport shuttle service. Additionally, our DoubleTree by Hilton offers two fantastic dining options with affordable prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a room overlooking the back of the hotel. We had no problems with noise or any disturbance that other reviewers had. The room given to me was clean and comfortable. Pretty much the same type of good quality I had experienced in other Doubletree hotels around the country I've been to. Comfortable bed, large bathroom, etc. WIFI connection was good. When we arrived at Tampa airport, I called the hotel to pick us up. The shuttle arrived within minutes! Amazing. The short 5 minute ride took us to the hotel. We were told that the hotel shuttle will take us anywhere within 2 mile radius with included an international mall which had many global brands and a smaller mall. Shuttle is free of charge.
We had dinner at the sports bar which was wonderful. The food was great tasting and prices reasonable.
Breakfast buffet was fantastic, perhaps one of the best I've experienced in a Doubletree hotel. Even if you have to pay for it I highly recommended it. If you are a Gold or Diamond HHonors member then congratulations on scoring big on this rejuvenating meal to start the day.
Staff was friendly and helpful. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADePiro, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for the fantastic, detailed review! We appreciate you taking the time to highlight our complimentary services and we're so pleased that you had a wonderful experience. We consistently receive very positive feedback about our extensive Wake Up DoubleTree Breakfast Buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Address: 4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#50 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore is close to everything that you're looking for in Tampa Bay! Located only 5 minutes from Tampa International Airport, our Tampa hotel is an ideal choice for the business traveler, sports enthusiast, family vacation, large and small meeting, wedding or social event. Our complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service makes it easy and affordable to get to the hotel. The DoubleTree by Hilton in Tampa is surrounded by the Bay Area's finest dining, shopping and entertainment. We are just minutes from Busch Gardens, University of South Florida, Port of Tampa, Downtown Tampa, Tampa Convention Center, University of Tampa, The Florida Aquarium and Historic Ybor City. Award-winning Gulf Beaches and other area attractions, such as Lowry Park Zoo, Adventure Island, MOSI, Salvador Dali Museum, Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center and Tampa Museum of Art are all a short drive from the hotel.We are located in Tampa's Westshore District, Florida's largest business center and a premier destination for meetings. Raymond James Stadium, home of the NFL Tampa Bay Buccaneers and USF Bulls Football, is only 5 minutes from our doors. Steinbrenner Field, spring training home of New York Yankees is also 5 minutes from the hotel and the St. Pete Times Forum, home to the NHL Tampa Bay Lightning is a 10 minute drive. The DoubleTree by Hilton is central to all of Tampa's fine sports venues, including the Ed Radice Sports Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Doubletree
Doubletree Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.