We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2x HHonors Points
Ranked #71 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Elsewhere
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The staff at this hotel is very friendly and routinely displays their commitment to service. Check-in with the front desk was a breeze and they selected a room for me which met my specific request. As a Diamond HHonors member, I took advantage of the very nice reception area for members each night which was sufficient for a meal and saved dinner expenses. Jim is a phenomenal host who is very deserving of the repeated praise. The Food/Beverage Director mingled with us and made sure everyone was satisfied. The breakfast buffet is also good.

I was very pleased with the internet service here. I've been told that the AT&T contract at many Hilton-family hotels caps speed at 500kbps (which is ridiculous!) and, during peak hours, slows to a crawl. The Doubletree - Westshore speeds were significantly above that at all hours of the day without a slowdown. Much appreciated from a business traveler!

Yes, the hotel is a bit older but I found my room and the common areas to be sufficiently clean. Even though the building is older, it's not as if the decor has never been updated - it's fine. The only drawback I would point out is the potential for noise from a few sources. As many have noted, some rooms are positioned over the highway so be sure to get a room on another side of the hotel. The pool area is encircled by the hotel and sound can be quite amplified. Although signage is posted that the pool closes at 10pm, there were some louder guests either in the pool or nearby past 11pm which could be heard on the upper floors. I was also disappointed that housekeeping didn't keep their volume down while congregating in the hallways directly outside rooms. Large groups would form and talk loudly, others would yell back and forth from one end of the hall to the other and one morning, walkie-talkies were cranked up and one room was being cleaned while loud music played on the radio with the door open. This was all distracting as I tried to get some late afternoon work done or some rest. Seems they should have a better awareness. One more caution: Parking during the day can sometimes be difficult if seminars/conferences are being held here but it should clear out in the evenings.

It may not be the most modern hotel with the fanciest exterior curb appeal, but this hotel delivers a solid value and the service (e.g. Jim at 10th floor lounge) makes it worth returning to again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    261
    200
    82
    54
See reviews for
163
188
80
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

To tell the truth, I checked Homewood, Hilton and Embassey before deciding on Doubletree. After the best service that I have had at the Manager's Reception, this Doubletree is my first choice on all my trips to Tampa. Thanks Jimmy

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebulon, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

spent 4 nights here at doubletree. quick check in warm cookies 4 floor away from highway ask for that if u ate light sleeper like me. somewhat outdated but jimmy on 10th floor reception is best customer service bar none will return just because of him.

Room Tip: ask for room away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADePiro, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Jimmy is a great asset to our team! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we're delighted that we can extend the Manager's Reception with complimentary beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres to our HHonors Silver, Gold and Diamond Members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Rooms need some updating, but overall clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Sports bar on premises was lively! Parking garage does not have an elevator and ground level parking is limited. I would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: 10th floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADePiro, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
We're delighted to read that you'll stay with us again and that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

AWESOME staff Clerinda, Fred, Lalithia, Wanda, Sprite, Rosa, Holly thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Talk to the staff when you have a concern and they will handle ASAP
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADePiro, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for complimenting so many members of our team! We look forward to recognizing Clerinda, Fred, Lalithia, Wanda, Sprite, Rosa and Holly for their superb service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Spent 3 nights at the Doubletree. Quick and friendly check-in and greeted with warm chocolate chip cookies. Given room 163 first floor with two beds. Room was clean and ready upon arrival. Room was spacious and beds were very comfortable. Bathroom is somewhat basic, but does have a large counter space and an abundance of towels. Furnishings were a little worn and could use some updating, but nothing atrocious. Spent some time the first night in the hotel bar which is a good size, sports themed and has lots of TVs showing games. Had some drinks, appetizers and dinner there, all very good, but a little pricey, although it was on par with the prices at most hotel bars. Ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant each morning. Nice buffet with lots of choices including made to order omelets (including egg white and egg beaters) and Waffle station. Close to airport and downtown area. Maid service was good and room always clean when we came back in the evening. Seemed to be lots of guests staying at hotel so lobby, bar and meeting area were always bustling. Work out room sufficient with cardio and weight machines. Wifi connected easily but wasn't the fastest connection ever. No real complaints, was happy with stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADePiro, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for your nice review of our DoubleTree by Hilton. It appears that you travel often and, as an experienced traveler, we appreciate your assessment and the positive feedback throughout all areas of your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Stayed overnight prior to flying out of Tampa back home to California. I booked through Priceline the day before and got this hotel for a cool $45 bucks. I liked not having to pay for parking and did not lack in finding a parking space nearest the front desk.

Checking and with Clerenda was a breeze. She was friendly, courteous and efficiently fast. My room was on the 5th floor facing the street and had a balcony window, nice comfy bed, fridge, and flat screen TV. I liked having a balcony window with a sliding door, as I was able to open it and have a nice breeze. In the evening, Gerard provided me with awesome recommendations for local Cuban food (Arco-Iris, the Florida Bakery and La Teresita). Thank you Gerard! The employees here seem happy and quick to accomodate. The hotel is less than ten minutes from TPA.

To sum it up, I had a perfectly fine stay and my room was clean, efficient and comfortable - clean and newly installed carpet in the room. Bedding was clean, accomodating and extremely comfortable. Printing boarding passes was easy and free. If you are without your laptop or tablet, this hotel lets you use one of six computers in their business center free of charge! I was happy here and would stay again.

Room Tip: I went to Priceline and selected a 3 1/2 star hotel nearest the Tampa airport region and plugged in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADePiro, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed response following your visit. We appreciate all of the great feedback about our team members, location, comfort, cleanliness, condition, convenience and value. Many guests enjoy that the majority of our rooms offer a balcony and large sliding glass door, which helps differentiate our DoubleTree by Hilton from other area hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore

Address: 4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore is close to everything that you're looking for in Tampa Bay! Located only 5 minutes from Tampa International Airport, our Tampa hotel is an ideal choice for the business traveler, sports enthusiast, family vacation, large and small meeting, wedding or social event. Our complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service makes it easy and affordable to get to the hotel. The DoubleTree by Hilton in Tampa is surrounded by the Bay Area's finest dining, shopping and entertainment. We are just minutes from Busch Gardens, University of South Florida, Port of Tampa, Downtown Tampa, Tampa Convention Center, University of Tampa, The Florida Aquarium and Historic Ybor City. Award-winning Gulf Beaches and other area attractions, such as Lowry Park Zoo, Adventure Island, MOSI, Salvador Dali Museum, Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center and Tampa Museum of Art are all a short drive from the hotel.We are located in Tampa's Westshore District, Florida's largest business center and a premier destination for meetings. Raymond James Stadium, home of the NFL Tampa Bay Buccaneers and USF Bulls Football, is only 5 minutes from our doors. Steinbrenner Field, spring training home of New York Yankees is also 5 minutes from the hotel and the St. Pete Times Forum, home to the NHL Tampa Bay Lightning is a 10 minute drive. The DoubleTree by Hilton is central to all of Tampa's fine sports venues, including the Ed Radice Sports Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Doubletree
Doubletree Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.