We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near the Port of Tampa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Save Saved
You added Westin Tampa Harbour Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #24 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“Great location near the Port of Tampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here the night before we boarded the boat. We found the staff very helpful. The food in the bar was excellant as was the breakfast buffet. The room was clean and bed was great. Our room overlooked the harbour. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for one that overlooks the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Lois M!
During your brief stay in Tampa before your cruise, it was truly our please to have helped start your vacation on such a high note!
We look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    237
    140
    71
    49
See reviews for
152
192
52
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a terrible hotel that is very unconcerned with the needs if their guests. As a conference vendor as well as hotel guest, the room in which we had to set up book sales tables was so dark we could not read the titles to organize the books. After several requests for the lights to be turned on I finally had to ask whether they would rather turn on the lights or risk a lawsuit when someone fell and broke their neck. The next day they blasted the air conditioner directly over the vendor tables despite repeated requests by the conference organizer to stop - our conference attendees were the only ones who would be affected by the room temperature and it was frigid. Finally, my boyfriend, who had registered us, could not remember our room number. Despite having the key, despite having his ID and the credit card with which the room was paid, I could not find out the number of our room. I have traveled
extensively across this country and through South America, Europe and Africa. I have never encountered a hotel that had so little regard for its guests. I will never stay here again and am unlikely to choose a Westin hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Greetings Ferretarchaeologist,
On behalf of the Westin Staff, please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you endured. Your experience is being shared with our staff in order to improve upon the services we provide. For ours guests safety we do ask for proper identification of the person entering the room along with the guest registered to the room. Our guests safety is our top priority and we take it very seriously.
My sincerest apologies again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I thought this was a very nice stay and experience. The LL and L appear to be updated and has nice spots to sit and discuss business. I was on the 11th floor with a room that overlooks the water towards conv center. The room was very nice and the bed was great. The rooms are not what I would call top end but the price is not top end either. The hallways could use a refresh and I was unable to open my window (had directions) but was stuck. Everyone was very friendly. I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Stlscuba!
Being on Harbour Island allows for an easy walk to the convention center as well as spectacular views of the Garrison Channel. It is great that you found our staff to be very friendly.
We look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I dont know if people who gave this place 4 or 5 stars have ever stayed at another westin but this place is a dump. Very outdated. Dirty carpets in rooms and lobby, room was not ready on check in even after 3pm, housekeeping left dirty rags in the room and were very rude. The views are nice, front staff friendly but nothing spectacular. I walked over to marriot and embassy and much much nicer. Ive stayed at lower tier starwood properties which were better than this place.

I hope starwood corporate sends someone here to investigate thier quality standards. Im very dissapointed as a long time starwood fan.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island EnjoyingLife210
We apologize and would be happy to speak with you about the incident with your vehicle at your earliest convenience.
We hope you and your family come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have stayed here for brief business trips and found the location excellent for downtown meetings . The hotel feels secluded but is only a 5 minute walk to downtown. The decor is quite dated, it seems like it was at its prime in the mid 90s. Rooms were clean with good showers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Mark Z
Our staff is pleased to hear that we were able to exceed all of your expectations!
We hope to have you as our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel during a getaway to Bush Gardens. Upon arrival at the hotel the valet guys were great and very helpful, even helped us with our bags to the front desk. The lady at front desk was spectacular! My boyfriend asked for a room with a view so she upgraded us to a club room that overlooked the bay. Our room was great. The bed was literally to comfortable. My boyfriend slept like a baby but I like a firmer bed. That night the same excellent lady at front desk recommended us to an excellent Italian restaurant downtown and the valet guy gave us great directions.My only complaint would be that wifi isn't free. At other Westin's I've stayed at the wifi is complimentary but at this Westin there is a significant fee. Unfortunately the next day it was raining, but at check out the front desk guy gave us some excellent suggestions on what we could do and we ended up going to the Aquarium. I would for sure stay here again though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room 8th floor and up with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Christina C
Our staff is pleased to hear that we were able to exceed all of your expectations!
We hope to have you as our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed here for a week in July for a business trip. The front desk staff during the day is excellent and take great lengths to take care of your needs. I stayed in an really nice room big enough to accomodate extra family members who visited during my trip.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island SeoulNY
Our staff is pleased to hear that we were able to exceed all of your expectations!
We hope to have you as our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Address: 725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#22 Business Hotel in Tampa
#23 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and Otel so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Harbour Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.