We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't honor platinum upgrades” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Tampa Harbour Island to your Saves list
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #32 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Doesn't honor platinum upgrades”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

As a Platinum member and frequently travel, I work hard to show my loyalty to a hotel, airline, car rental, etc. And in being loyal to them and them receiving my money, I expect to take advantage of benefits accorded to my status. I've decided to start posting everytime I don't get to take advantage of a starwood benefit. This isn't a unique problem, it's pretty common that platinum benefits like Your24 and Suite Upgrades are not honored. Just google it and you will find many travelers with similar experiences. This hotel did not honor Platinum suite upgrade. When I checked in, I asked if a suite was available, the front desk person didn't even say let me check, she didn't glance down on her computer, she just said, no we are pretty full tonight. However, not only is the parking lot empty, it's middle of the week in Tampa (not a busy travel time) and most importantly, I can pull up the reservations site and book a reservation for a Suite right now, for my entire stay (2 days). So they do have suites available, they just don't honor the benefit.

Other than that, hotel seems pretty nice. Situated along the Harbor.

Room Tip: Harbor View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Greetings rsingleton,
Thank you for sharing your experience. Our guests’ feedback is important to us as it is a tool we use to provide better service to our guests in the future. I know that my associate has already reached out to you in regards to your experience and if you have any additional feedback please let us know!
We hope that if you have the chance again you come back and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    291
    173
    88
    58
See reviews for
179
248
57
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at the Westin. At check in, Mike went above and beyond ensuring I was comfortable with my stay. The views from the 12th floor are breathtaking, and the beds are heavenly! Whenever I am in Tampa, I will stay here from now on! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Ryan2283!
It is great to hear that you were very pleased with your stay! Mike takes pride in providing each of our guests’ with service that goes above and beyond.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 2 weeks ago. Was very pleased with the cleanliness and decor. Bed was very comfortable. Hotel was very close to the port and had a free shuttle. Was a little bit of a struggle to find options for dinner but we settled for Jackson's and was glad! Great food and right on the water. Hotel also had a great view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you Samarie713 for the wonderful comments!
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island takes pride in providing extraordinary services to our guests. From the moment you walk through the front door until the time you depart it is our goal to have you feeling better than you did when you arrived!
It was truly a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here for three nights. Staff was excellent the food was over and beyond good. Location was perfect for whatever you wanted to do. Beautiful and clean hotel ( and I am very picky) with great service. I just can't say enough I loved it so much and will for sure stay here again. KH

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Greetings from the Westin Katie H!
Thank you for sharing the experience you had with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island! At the Westin guests are encouraged to take advantage of the relaxing and refreshing atmosphere. We are delighted to hear that during the nights you were with us you were left feeling well cared for by everyone you interacted with.
Thank for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had an excellent weekend stay at this hotel. Spent a gorgeous Saturday at the pool. Maria far exceeded our expectations with the exceptional service she provided at poolside. Thank you, Maria for your attention to detail. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island kbarkhausen!
On behalf of our entire staff we thank you for staying with us! We are glad that you had an exceptional day at the pool and that the service you were provided exceeded your expectations!
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island over the Labor Day Weekend. First of all, I was greeted by Monet who couldn't be more professional. She was there the entire weekend and every time we asked to recommend a restaurant or a place to visit, Monet had the perfect suggestion. The entire staff was great but Monet is the person we spoke to the most and was just great. By the way, the bed is awesome and the linens on the bed are SUPER COMFORTABLE and you should definitely try the restaurant in the hotel. Very good. The area is nice. Lots to do right down stairs. Parking is a LIIIIIITLE expensive but overall, great experience. The location is ideal for trade shows as its located right across the Tampa Convention Center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island RICIsleworth!
During your holiday weekend in Tampa it was truly Monet’s pleasure to provide you with great service!
If you have the opportunity we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We are 5 days into a 7 day visit to the Westin. Special mention to the excellent service from Mitch on the front desk who handled our check in efficiently and offered friendly advice with regard to local restaurants. We are flying back to the UK on Saturday evening and a request for a late check in was dealt with positively by Mitch. Also the engineer Benny dealt with the problem that we had with our TV promptly and with a smile. A few slightly negative comments. There is a hotel minibus sitting out front we never saw it move. We didn't have a car and had to taxi everywhere, surely the use of the bus as a shuttle to local malls and restaurants at even a small charge would be a better use of the resource. Also apparently the breakfast buffet only operates at the weekend which can make a daily breakfast costly. However, overall our stay at the Westin has been a pleasant experience

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island PeterMooney!
It is wonderful to know that your overall stay was a pleasant one. Mitch and Benny take pride in providing each of our guests with the type of excellent service as you have came to experience.
We hope to see you both again during your next trip to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Address: 725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Harbour Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.