We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Westin Special Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Save Saved
You added Westin Tampa Harbour Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #24 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Westin Special Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We are 5 days into a 7 day visit to the Westin. Special mention to the excellent service from Mitch on the front desk who handled our check in efficiently and offered friendly advice with regard to local restaurants. We are flying back to the UK on Saturday evening and a request for a late check in was dealt with positively by Mitch. Also the engineer Benny dealt with the problem that we had with our TV promptly and with a smile. A few slightly negative comments. There is a hotel minibus sitting out front we never saw it move. We didn't have a car and had to taxi everywhere, surely the use of the bus as a shuttle to local malls and restaurants at even a small charge would be a better use of the resource. Also apparently the breakfast buffet only operates at the weekend which can make a daily breakfast costly. However, overall our stay at the Westin has been a pleasant experience

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island PeterMooney!
It is wonderful to know that your overall stay was a pleasant one. Mitch and Benny take pride in providing each of our guests with the type of excellent service as you have came to experience.
We hope to see you both again during your next trip to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    234
    139
    70
    49
See reviews for
151
190
52
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have been blessed with the opportunity to travel quite extensively. On a recent trip to Tampa, Florida we had the good fortune of staying at the Westin Harbour Island. We both work long hours and truly value our time off together! We have t\stayed at the Westin on Harbour Island twice with-in the past 2 weeks and every time our expectations have been surpassed. Rarely in life will you meet folks that go above and beyond to make your stay as pleasurable as the staff at this hotel. Angela handled our registration and was able to upgrade us to a suite without being asked. She took the time at every possible opportunity to ensure our stay was a pleasant one. We were able to relax and recharge by the pool. In fact, when our stay ended we both felt like we had been away for an extended period of time. Should the opportunity arise and you have the Westin Tampa Harbour Island as a choice do not hesitate, grab it!

Room Tip: If you enjoy the Harbour views you want to take a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Peter G!
It was truly Angela’s pleasure to have provided you with a personal experience that allowed you to relax, unwind and recharge!
We hope to see you both again on your break from work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in mid August.

The corner suite that we had was spacious and suited our needs it consisted of a lounge, 2 bathrooms and the master bed room.

The stand out feature of this hotel was the staff that couldn’t do enough for us and were very polite.

The hotel is well located to explore Tampa and Ybor City.

Make sure you try out Jackson's Bistro which is situated next door to the hotel, the Sushi is incredible and they also run a monthly beach party in the marina.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island jmangan91!
Our staff is pleased to hear that during you 3 nights you were able to experience one of our spacious Studio Suites and customer service.
We hope to see you and your friends again on your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff was prototypical Westin - greeting me by name, which is not an easy one to say or remember. They helped me with my small 15 person event by letting me get my space early and keep it late, moving items, addressing an emergency promptly when the A/C went out in the room. All in all, I would highly endorse coming to this hotel if you are in the Tampa area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island JLucky34!
It is wonderful to hear that your stay was top notch all around.
We hope to see you again on your next business trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Dear Westin Staff & Management, I wanted to meet you personally and thank you for a wonderful visit. Your staff are all quite tremendous in making me feel like home. During this visit specifically I am most grateful to Murat, Vy, Steve (Food & Beverage) and Lauren at the front desk. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: It's worthwhile to pay more and upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Onofighter!
On behalf of Murat, Vy and Steve we thank you for your kind words as it was our pleasure to have you as our guest!
We look forward to seeing you again on your next business trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a reunion here that brought many of us that had worked 25 years ago back together. The hotel was ideally located, the staff very accommodating to all of us that wanted specific floors/rooms etc next to each other. Many of us flew in just for the weekend and it could not have been more perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Habrour Island Sunshine_78373!

Our staff is delighted to here that your stay was perfect!

We hope to see you again for the next reunion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in a harbor view room on the 9th floor which overlooks the pool and water. The views of the sunrise/sunset were stunning. When we checked in, the front desk gave us a complimentary late checkout for 2pm, which was an unexpected surprise and allowed us to sleep in. We had breakfast in the hotel's restaurant the following morning and this was the highlight of our stay. Our server Steve Tassi was phenomenal. I had the smoked salmon and bagel with capers and onions, which tasted very fresh and delicious. When I had to step out for a phone call, Steve brought my potatoes and bagel back and kept it in a warmer so that when I returned it was still nice and hot. And when were ready to leave, he offered to make us coffee in to-go cups to take with us. Steve went above and beyond my expectations and really impressed me with his courteous demeanor and attention to detail. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Matthew D!
The staff at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island takes pride in providing the excellent service as you described. It was truly Steve’s pleasure to have provided you with service that went above and beyond your expectations!
We hope that if you have the opportunity that you come back and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Address: 725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#22 Business Hotel in Tampa
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Harbour Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.