We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views of waterway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Tampa Harbour Island to your Saves list
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #31 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good views of waterway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This Westin has very nice views of the waterways with shells practicing for races. The common areas are very nice. The room we stayed in was a basic Westin room with a comfortable bed. The window was missing its shade, however, and to get privacy we had to use the black out curtin. We stayed one night. The hotel was only 33% filled so the restaurant was closed. we ate in the bar where Paul the bartender treated us very well. As a Gold level guest I expected an upgrade, but none was forthcoming. All in all, though, a good experience. The facility has a good parking garage below the hotel, which provides convenient access to the hotel. There is a charge for parking.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the waterways in the back of the hotel are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you 1barney for the wonderful comments!
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island takes pride in providing extraordinary services to our guests. From the moment you walk through the front door until the time you depart it is our goal to have you feeling better than you did when you arrived!
It was truly a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    253
    153
    73
    55
See reviews for
164
205
55
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have stayed at this property several times. The location on Harbour Island is really nice. However, the rooms lack a lot--especially since this property has been upgraded (?) from a Wyndham to a Westin. The public areas are quite nice and in your room, somewhere under all the menus shoved under your door you will see an announcement of how proud they are of the renovations to the public areas. I only wish they had paid more attention to the rooms. Sure there is a heavenly bed, heavenly sheets, heavenly towels, etc., etc., but the property is more of your basic Radisson than a Westin. Plastic cups instead of glasses, moderately clean and just kind of dated. When we checked in we were told we were being upgraded to the club level, but next to an elevator. We asked what the club level meant and were told it is on a higher floor--well how great! In fact, I don't even know what the advantage is to the upgrade? Fewer stains on the wall maybe. Parking is $17 a night and, of course, there is a WiFi fee--guess that isn't a perk of an upgrade either. (Maybe we just got more plastic cups!). All in all, a very very average property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us HolaGatitos,
Here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island our staff takes pride in the services we provide. The entire executive committee will be reviewing the shortcomings during your stay in order to improve our services. While your stay did not reflect a positive one, we would like to encourage you to call and speak with us directly.
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island and we look forward to hearing from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Could not believe how well the entire staff extended themselves to make sure my stay was great! - - It is always a good sign that the management of the Hotel is well trained and has a complete knowledge of the hospitality and teaches their staff how to treat travelers both vacationers and business.

Mike, at the front desk was the best - - took the time to help get around both food and drink to areas for my early morning walks around the riverwalk.

Thanks again - -I'll be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you robert m for the wonderful comments!
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island takes pride in providing extraordinary services to our guests. From the moment you walk through the front door until the time you depart it is our goal to have you feeling better than you did when you arrived!
It was truly a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed three days in the Westin Tampa Harbour Island. We arrived last Monday because my husband took the Bar exam in the Convention Center. The price for those two nights was approximately $250/night. We checked in around 6pm and were given room 313. The view was more depressing than taking the Bar I believe (see picture). The room was not good, the bulb of the entrance was not working, the toilet did not flush properly. Wednesday my husband got out of the exam very tired and in no mood to drive at all and we decided that the right thing to do was to stay an extra night. We checked in again and were assigned room 1026 on the 10th floor. The price for that night was $129/night through Expedia and $139/night at the front desk, so check online before going to a front desk when you are doing a walk-in. Well, this room had a gorgeous view to the water, was much bigger and brighter than the previous one and had amenities the other did not have (mouthwash and shower gel, ottoman, balcony). Needless to say the lights worked properly. I am giving three starts because I would have given a two to our first experience and a 4 to the last night. To sum up the first room at that rate was a rip off and the second room at that price was great value. Obviously, we understand the inflated values for the Bar exam.

We had two dinners and two lunches at the restaurant/bar. The food was good, nothing to write home about but the staff was amazing. There was a guy in charge of lunch that was on top of everything, making sure the exam takers got out to the afternoon session on time. He was working hard and had a smile while doing that. Rosa, was extremely nice and just in general the hotel staff was friendly and professional. The bar is bright and modern.

Everything you need is at an extra cost: wi-fi $12.95 a day, parking $20 a day. Just be aware.

Room Tip: Avoid odd room numbers and stay away of the third floor unless you really like concrete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Greetings AVGW,
Thank you for choosing the Westin! On behalf of our entire staff please accept my apologies for not proving you with a 5 star experience during your stay. Your stay has been shared with the staff so that we may provide a better experience for our future guests.
We wish you the best on your exam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We just spent two nights at this hotel and received excellent service. The hotel is conveniently located in the downtown area, very clean, and staffed with friendly workers. Our rooms bath tub drain was clogged. It was repaired immediately and maintenance left a nice note and chocolate hammer. The staff was receptive to any concern and responded right away to remedy the situation. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!

It is truly our pleasure to have had you with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Rooms are in need of renovation, but it looks like that is now being done. Premium rooms have nice views, but are not much on the inside. Basic hotel rooms with nice Westing linens. If you are a lap swimmer, you will love the free membership at the local health club. Outdoor 25-yard pool that is near empty during the day. This was the nicest business hotel perk I've enjoyed in a while. Also, night manager Mike was really professional and friendly. He held my room, even though I arrived very late, and he comped me a nice breakfast. Thanks Mike!

Room Tip: Premium rooms have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island AshAnderson!

Thank you for sharing the experience you had with us! At the Westin guests are encouraged to take advantage of the relaxing and refreshing atmosphere. We are delighted to hear that during the nights you were with us you were left feeling well cared for by Mike!

Thank for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

my name is Hugo Martin. I am a Florida Bar Exam taker, and stayed at the Westin to because of the close proximity to the Tampa bay Convention Center. During my stay, I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Napoli. Mr. Napoli's service was excellent, and he was extremely kind during a very stressful time. After checking in and returning to the front desk to ask questions about the area, my friends commented on Mr. Napoli and how much they enjoyed him. I had to make it my business to acknowledge him, because kindness, and superb customer satisfaction often go unnoticed. The Westin should be aware of Mr. Napoli's contribution to Westin, because he represents the company in a great way. Thank you Mr. Napoli for your awesome service, and i would be happy to recommend Westin to anyone, especially if Mr Napoli is around. Thanks again !

Room Tip: stay on the side facing the tampa convention center. one of the most breathtaking views of the tampa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Mr. Martin!

Taking the Bar Exam is a very stressful time. Here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island we understand that and hope that our interactions and amenities had helped. Mike is pleased to hear that he made such a big difference!

Good luck and comeback and visit us agian!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Address: 725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#23 Family Hotel in Tampa
#25 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Harbour Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.