We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lap swimmers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Save Saved
You added Westin Tampa Harbour Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #26 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for lap swimmers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Rooms are in need of renovation, but it looks like that is now being done. Premium rooms have nice views, but are not much on the inside. Basic hotel rooms with nice Westing linens. If you are a lap swimmer, you will love the free membership at the local health club. Outdoor 25-yard pool that is near empty during the day. This was the nicest business hotel perk I've enjoyed in a while. Also, night manager Mike was really professional and friendly. He held my room, even though I arrived very late, and he comped me a nice breakfast. Thanks Mike!

Room Tip: Premium rooms have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island AshAnderson!

Thank you for sharing the experience you had with us! At the Westin guests are encouraged to take advantage of the relaxing and refreshing atmosphere. We are delighted to hear that during the nights you were with us you were left feeling well cared for by Mike!

Thank for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    232
    135
    69
    49
See reviews for
146
186
51
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

my name is Hugo Martin. I am a Florida Bar Exam taker, and stayed at the Westin to because of the close proximity to the Tampa bay Convention Center. During my stay, I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Napoli. Mr. Napoli's service was excellent, and he was extremely kind during a very stressful time. After checking in and returning to the front desk to ask questions about the area, my friends commented on Mr. Napoli and how much they enjoyed him. I had to make it my business to acknowledge him, because kindness, and superb customer satisfaction often go unnoticed. The Westin should be aware of Mr. Napoli's contribution to Westin, because he represents the company in a great way. Thank you Mr. Napoli for your awesome service, and i would be happy to recommend Westin to anyone, especially if Mr Napoli is around. Thanks again !

Room Tip: stay on the side facing the tampa convention center. one of the most breathtaking views of the tampa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Mr. Martin!

Taking the Bar Exam is a very stressful time. Here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island we understand that and hope that our interactions and amenities had helped. Mike is pleased to hear that he made such a big difference!

Good luck and comeback and visit us agian!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a room here that was to be on floor 6-9. When we arrived the desk attendant checked us in and told us of our beautiful view of the harbor and bridge. He then handed us a key for a room on the 4th floor. When we questioned it, we were told that they were all booked on the higher floors but they would do all they could to get us in our correct room (which we had paid for) the next day. However 10 min later they called back and explained that pets (our dog was with us and noted at time of booking) are only allowed on the 3rd floor, so they couldn't put us in the room we booked. I pointed out that we paid for the upgraded room and were currently staying in the standard room to which I was told "I'm sorry - but that's our policy. You can talk to my supervisor if you want." So they can break that policy and put us on the 4th floor when it suits them, but not put us in the room we booked and paid for because it only suits us? Apparently so. Poor job making our stay great, Westin. I'm still here in my overpaid room for a week. I hope someone from the hotel steps up to fix this. - R. Asbury

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Greetings,

I would like to aolpogize for not providing you with the experience we had hoped to have provided. Our entire staff is available at anytime for any of your needs. Please feel free to let us know if there is anything else we may do.

Warmest Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Westin in July 2013 and were immediately pleased with the location and wide, beautiful views of the harbour. We had two rooms and had an a/c problem with one room. The staff was super-efficient in addressing the problem. They exceeded our expectations by providing complimentary breakfast, a room change and a very nice upgrade to make up for the inconvenience. Several staff members helped us and I would like to pay special thanks to Benny, Harrison and Arianna for their prompt response, follow-up, and friendliness. Also, we were very pleased with the restaurant staff and breakfast buffet. Also worth mentioning is the great location of the hotel with its close proximity to downtown Tampa and short drive to Busch Gardens. We will definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Corner luxury suites are incredibly large and offer panoramic, stunning views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!

Benny, Harrison and Arianna tak pride in providing the kind of service that exceeds our guests expectaions!

Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I recommend to stay at this hotel. This hotel lies across the bridge to Tampa convention center. I liked the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom. One day a lady came to clean up the room but unfortunately she didn't speak any English. I had to communicate by sign language. There are some restaurants around. You can get a nice view of Tampa from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Anil_Pandey!

It is wonderful to know that you liked your stay and would recommend us to others!

Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Westin this past weekend. The staff was efficient and friendly. Our maid was great and I feel she especially did an excellent job. The proximity to the Tampa Convention Center was a bonus, just a short walk across the bridge. Both times I went to the pool (outside) there was only 1 other person. The workout room was also empty. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island jkayb3!

Our entire staff is glad to hear that during your stay with us for the Metrocon Convention that your had a wonderful time!

We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was with my wife on a business trip to Tampa, Fl the Westin Tampa Harbour Island was great, comfortable and very clean. The bed was excellent. The front desk people were nice. I highly recommend it,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Max W!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

On your next businees trip we hope to have you back with us here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Address: 725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#20 Business Hotel in Tampa
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#29 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Harbour Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.