We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Accomodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Tampa Harbour Island to your Saves list
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #38 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent Accomodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The bay views are fantastic especially in the mornings. Currently the hotel is going through some renovations so the elevator service is a long wait than normal. The room definitely need a renovation as it is old-fashion compared to other Westin locations.Service Desk was also so in fulfilling some request I had during my stay. I was not able to go to the outdoor pool as it was quite cool weather during the week I was staying. Prices for room service and fees make for a very costly meal

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Greetings from the Westin bigdaddynyc2006!
It is great to hear that during your stay you were able to enjoy the fantastic harbor views from our hotel!
On your next business trip we hope to see you back here at the Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    319
    189
    95
    60
See reviews for
194
269
60
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at the Westin for Tampa's St Pattys Day event. From the 9th floor hotel room, I had a fabulous view of city of Tampa at night as well as the green dyed Hillsborough river during the day ( dyed green for St Pattys). From the valet to the check in desk to the wait staff --all staff's customer service was fantastic and I felt like a queen ( which is how I have been treated at all SPG brand hotels). The "heavenly" style bed, pillows, comforter were incredibly comfortable ( another trait of SPG hotels). The Westin hotel is connected through a hallway to a great restaurant Jackson's which had wonderful food and a nice outside patio on the water. At night there was a live band there and in another room, the Dj played nice music. There was also a pizza place on the premises that serves food until 2 am. The Westin is in a really convenient location of downtown Tampa on Harbor Island. We walked across the bridge to the TECO Trolley station (5 minute walk) and rode the trolley all around to Ybor City and Channelside for $5.00 round trip. I will certainly stay at the Westin again.

Room Tip: higher up rooms have fantastic view of the city and the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Margaritaville413!
We are glad to hear you found us to be fabulous during your trip to Tampa for a St. Pattys Day event!
Our entire staff hopes to see you and your friends again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

When traveling to Tampa for business or pleasure, Harbor Island is a treat and The Westin is a must for lodging! A short walk will get you a nice walk on the water front, a great meal at Jacksons, and great access to nearby city hotspots like The Forum Hattricks. The service at The Westin is top notch and the surroundings are best in class.

Room Tip: If you can get to the SPG floor or anything above 5 do it. The views are great and it's very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island DCGOLF1!
Your comments have been shared with our staff and we appreciate you feedback. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and we are happy to have exceeded yours!
We hope to see you again soon for your nest business trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I recently spent 9 nights at Westin Harbour Island Hotel while my husband was undergoing major surgery at Tampa General Hospital; the hotel and staff could not have done ANYTHING more to make my stay more pleasant; hotel has certain agreements with the hospital. On arrival a fruit bowl was sent to the room (super room & great view by the way). In the mornings the Valet would take me in the courtesy shuttle to the hospital & pick me up again in the evening whereupon I'd go straight to the Bar, have a light meal a glass of wine (after a couple of evenings Paul would pour a a glass of wine when he saw me approaching); the time spent in the bar gave me a chance to unwind & prepare for the next day's10 hour stay in the hospital. EVERYONE, Receptionist, Housekeeping, Room Service, Parking Valets were exceptionally kind & friendly to me & did all they could to make my situation easier. On my husband's release from the hospital I decided that it was only fair for him to share in the hotel's hospitality - he said it was the best night's sleep he'd EVER had, the beds and linens are superb - wish they had an arrangement with the hospital for purchase of their pillows (lol). Treat yourself to the Westin Harbour Island hotel's hospitality next time you are in Tampa.
Lin R.

Room Tip: Request a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Lin R!
It was truly our pleasure to have you as our guest during your time of need. We wish you and your husband our best!
Come back and visit us for your next vacation, we would be happy to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location for a visit to Tampa. Beautiful views from the rooms. Great service to starwood members. The rooms and lobby are dated. They are working on it be patient. Restaurant very good and busy. Pricey for the amount of food you get, and needs a kids menu.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island LezaM!
It is great to hear that your stay was wonderful, that you enjoyed the views and the location met your needs!
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Add that there is no place to plug in your phone by the bed. You have to unplug the light or the hotel phone. Plus, wifi is not available in the room without a fee.

Who wants to go to the lobby at night to work?!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Greetings luvstotravel22,
We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Please know that we have a loyalty program in place that can earn you complimentary amenities such as in room internet for being a loyal member. If you would like to speak with us directly we would be happy to speak with you!
Warmest Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We enjoyed staying here. It was a quick stay. The good things- It's close to a lot of restaurants and is being renovated. It's got a nice bar and easy parking.

The bad- We were staying with a 3 yr old and requested a roll-away bed or cot. They were out and tried to substitute a crib. He was able to climb out after 3 seconds. Tried to pull out the crib mattress and put on the floor, but not even close. That meant 3 in a bed and barely any sleep. Elevators are under renovation which meant a long wait, but that's okay. Here's a complaint I always have, and this is pretty standard at any hotel. You supply 3 packs of coffee in the room along with 2 cups and enough sugar, but how about more than 2 little tiny creamer cups??

Called the front desk a few times and they were very helpful.

Room Tip: If there's a convention going on, ask where those people are staying so you can avoid the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin palamedes79!
It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay here. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and they have been shared with our entire staff so that we may improve these services that we provide.
We hope that any trips back to Tampa bring you back here to the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Westin Tampa Bay
#43 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#27 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Address: 725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#29 Family Hotel in Tampa
#33 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Harbour Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.