We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Save Saved
You added Westin Tampa Harbour Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #24 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Palm Harbor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Recently completed my first stay at this wonderful property...From arriving at the valet stand, to departing, everyone I encountered went the extra mile to ensure my stay was a memorable one...After checking in and settling in to our room, the Manager on duty (Jason?), sent up a bucket of beer and water ,and snacks to say welcome!..We were pleasantly surprised by this offering..We attended a Tampa Bay Lightning game nearby and when we returned to the Westin we were again greeted warmly by the valets' and the lobby personnel...Although the room was a bit "worn" it was still clean and I would definitely be back to stay here again...The nearby Marriott and Embassy Suites were way more expensive than the Westin, and having stayed at both properties before I would say the Westin far exceeds in customer service..Did not use the pool or spa but definitely will on a return trip..A great place to stay to attend an event at the Forum, or a cruise, and you only need a short walk back to the hotel...Will definitely stay here again...

Room Tip: Southern view to watch the cruise ships depart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Michael M!
At the Westin guests are encouraged to take advantage of the relaxing and refreshing atmosphere. We are delighted to hear that during the nights you were with us you were left feeling well cared for by everyone you interacted with, especially Jason!
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    234
    139
    70
    49
See reviews for
151
190
52
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Usually the service at a hotel can makeup for a drab facility- but not in this case! There was no one to help us get into the hotel- one of us with a broken leg. We were told we'd been upgraded from the Deluxe room we booked to a premium deluxe- I would hate to see the regular rooms! Our breakfast took an hour to arrive and was just a bakery basket. The view is fantastic but that does not make up for the price and drawbacks. There are too many other good hotels around to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Greetings Spaniellady,
On behalf of our entire staff we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you had endured throughout your stay. Your experience has been shared with the staff as an effort to improve the services we provide. Thank you for your patience and understanding and if you would like to contact the hotel directly we would be happy to speak with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great service. Nice snacks for happy hour. Free coffee in the morning in lobby. 3 of us stayed in a suite. Bedroom and pull out couch. But no tv for person on the couch?? Why?
Free wifi in lobby .nice hotel nice staff especially the guys at the door

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island kuteshoes
We pride ourselves on providing personal service that allows our guests to feel at home. We appreciate the feedback provided as it allows us to improve. We hope to see you again here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family spent 3 nights at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island. We booked 3 rooms for our vacation in the beginning of March and I cannot say enough good things about the hotel and the staff. From the time we arrived until the day we left everyone was so accomodating and went above and beyond in customer service. A speical thanks to Mitch at the front desk and Derrick the bartender for your useful information on places to see and restaurants to go to. The breakfast that was included in our price was very good, rooms were very nice (if possible request upper floors) The only negative is the pool area which I understand is being renovated.
Would stay here again. I have also stayed at the Marriott Waterside and for the price difference(Westin is cheaper) it is worth going to the Westin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island buddygirl1225!
It is great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! From the location, to the view, from the room to the complimentary amenities and the recognition of our associates for theservice that we provide!
We hope that your travels bring you back soon to the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Upon first arriving at this hotel, I was already not impressed with the layout of the property. When approaching the hotel street level you have to drive down a ramp to get to the parking garage. You then take an elevator back up to the lobby. The decor was drab and worn, The carpet in the lobby was torn. The front desk agent was as not very polite or helpful. When we asked the bartenders directions they were very short as well. The elevators stopped working while we were there so we had to take the service elevators. We almost missed our dinner reservation due to this problem. Our shuttle driver, I think his name was Patrick, who drove us to dinner was very nice and informative of the area. Over all, if I travel back to Tampa I will not consider this hotel as an option. Boo Starwood

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Greetings alchap83,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin. Your stay has been shared with our entire staff in order to improve upon the service we provide. I apologize for not providing you with the experience we had expected to provide.
With the improvements, I hope that you will give us another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful! Even with the updating and elevator issues; I have ALWAYS loved this Westin. Great Breakfast ( Steve is a Winner), and The Front Desk is always First Class. This IS the place to stay Downtown Tampa.
Mr. Charlie Barrett (Outlets Manager), good man!

Room Tip: View of Harbour is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island KentW!
It is amazing to hear that you enjoy your stays with us. We pride ourselves on providing personal service that allows our guests to feel at home. We look forward to see you again here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent one night at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island last week. We were in a king room on the fifth floor overlooking the harbor, which was pretty. We saw some rowing teams out there the morning of our departure. The room itself was large and the bed was the usual, comfortable Westin Heavenly bed. At checkin, Frederick was welcoming and friendly, especially after finding out we were from his home state!

Bathroom towels could use an upgrade. They were dingy and one was actually dirty with some questionable brown spots. Did not use that one! The shower pressure was good, but the water didn't get very hot. We really like the Westin in-room bath products.

Food at The Bar was good. Drinks were a bit pricey, but we were at downtown hotel in a large city, so that was expected. Service was a bit slow considering there were only about 5 other people in the restaurant and they were all at the bar. As with checkin, the service was friendly in The Bar as well.

Getting to the Westin was not too hard, but getting out of downtown Tampa and to the airport was confusing! Once we were out of downtown, we found the airport easily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island WiscDoll!
It is amazing to hear that Fredrick took such good care of your during your stay! We pride ourselves on providing personal service that allows our guests to feel at home. We apologize for the experience you had that were not up to standard and I can assure you they have been passed on to our executive team for future improvement.
We hope to see you again here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Address: 725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#22 Business Hotel in Tampa
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Harbour Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.