We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Good Westin; Saty HERE when in Downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Tampa Harbour Island to your Saves list
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #39 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is a Good Westin; Saty HERE when in Downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful! Even with the updating and elevator issues; I have ALWAYS loved this Westin. Great Breakfast ( Steve is a Winner), and The Front Desk is always First Class. This IS the place to stay Downtown Tampa.
Mr. Charlie Barrett (Outlets Manager), good man!

Room Tip: View of Harbour is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island KentW!
It is amazing to hear that you enjoy your stays with us. We pride ourselves on providing personal service that allows our guests to feel at home. We look forward to see you again here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    319
    189
    95
    60
See reviews for
194
269
60
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent one night at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island last week. We were in a king room on the fifth floor overlooking the harbor, which was pretty. We saw some rowing teams out there the morning of our departure. The room itself was large and the bed was the usual, comfortable Westin Heavenly bed. At checkin, Frederick was welcoming and friendly, especially after finding out we were from his home state!

Bathroom towels could use an upgrade. They were dingy and one was actually dirty with some questionable brown spots. Did not use that one! The shower pressure was good, but the water didn't get very hot. We really like the Westin in-room bath products.

Food at The Bar was good. Drinks were a bit pricey, but we were at downtown hotel in a large city, so that was expected. Service was a bit slow considering there were only about 5 other people in the restaurant and they were all at the bar. As with checkin, the service was friendly in The Bar as well.

Getting to the Westin was not too hard, but getting out of downtown Tampa and to the airport was confusing! Once we were out of downtown, we found the airport easily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island WiscDoll!
It is amazing to hear that Fredrick took such good care of your during your stay! We pride ourselves on providing personal service that allows our guests to feel at home. We apologize for the experience you had that were not up to standard and I can assure you they have been passed on to our executive team for future improvement.
We hope to see you again here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
680 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 569 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is located in a good area close to several points/areas of interest. The hotel was in the process of being modernized, so there was several improvements in process even at 0100 in the morning. The staff was extremely helpful and nice, even upgrading me to a better room at no extra cost. You can either self park or use the valet, however the valet parking only costs $4 more and is a good option.

The room itself has all of the necessities that you would expect. but also included a small plate of chocolate and fruit and free bottled water. The king bed was nice and soft and plenty of pillows were provided. The view from the window overlooked the water where you could watch the multiple rowing teams go by.

The Westin's "go Green" program provides you the opportunity to forgo room service and receive a $5 coupon which could be used at the restaurant or other hotel service. You could also turn it in during checkout and receive 500 starpoints. It is definitely worth it, especially for a short stay.

The breakfast at the restaurant was good. You could either try the buffet or select from a menu. At the price, while steep, was better than the menu as coffee and juice were included. Otherwise expect to pay more. The buffet also included the option for omelets as well as a multiple selection of hot and cold items.

I would definitely recommend staying at the hotel if you are visiting Tampa Bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island wbullseye!
It is great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! From the location, to the view, from the room to the complimentary amenities that we provide!
We hope that your travels bring you back soon to the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I picked the hotel simply because it was in down town Tampa, but I generally expect alittle more from Westin. The room I had was dated, almost felt like a lower end non SPG porperty. One of the pillows on the bed had a strange stain on it, they replaced it, but the fact that it even was on the bed doesnot speak wwell.

The bar was ok, menus just OK, room service took forrever for a club sandwich. I don;t plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Greetings JBMartiniguy,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin. Your stay has been shared with our entire staff in order to improve upon the service we provide. I apologize for not providing you with the experience we had expected to provide.
With the improvements, I hope that you will give us another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Westin Harbour Island is a nice hotel and we had a great experience there. It probably isn't worth the rates they charge but we booked on Hotwire and got it for $120/night and were happy with that. The big bummer was paying $20/car for parking. The hotel was comfortable and we had no complaints about it being old or outdated. The staff went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
We are pleased to hear that during your stay you felt our hotel was nice and that we provided great service!
It would be our pleasure to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a good check-in experience and the rest of the staff was friendly and engaging, but this property is in need of a major redo. Close to the Forum, the Convention center and Channelside, this hotel looks like a dinosaur compared to the Marriot and Embassy Suites that are within walking distance. The room, although clean, also shows the age, with outdated furnishings, paint and window dressings. The weather was cool, but although the hallways were freezing, our room a/c struggled to keep us comfortable. Good luck to management in bringing this property into the 21st century.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Greetings traveltc36,
Our staff takes pride in providing only the best service. We are glad that the encounters with our associates was friendly and engaging. While we are currently in the process of many modifications to the hotel to improve the overall experience for our guests we apologize for any inconveniences this may cause.
We hope that when you are in the area again you give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Me and my wife came to the Westin for our honeymoon. We were promptly greeted by Jose Alvarado. He opened the door for my wife and insisted to get her bags out of the trunk for her. I've never had such friendly valet service or worked with someone so willing to do anything to make our hotel stay more memorable. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family solely because of Jose's sincere warm greeting.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Yuri 124!
Jose is an amazing associate that goes above and beyond for each of our guests. He takes pride at making sure that our guests have a memorable stay.
Jose and the rest of the staff hope that you are able to come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Westin Tampa Bay
#43 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#27 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Address: 725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#29 Family Hotel in Tampa
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#33 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Harbour Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.