We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, pretty comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Save Saved
You added Westin Tampa Harbour Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 159 hotels in Tampa
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Well located, pretty comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I spent 5 weeks on business in Tampa January-February 2013 and stayed at this property for the duration. The hotel is well located near downtown and the convention center. My group had rooms on the 12th floor "Starwood Preferred" floor, which seemed indistinguishable from any other floor. I had a 12" balcony but the sliding door would not, and could not not be opened (I asked). The King room I had was nicely appointed and comfortable for work, meaning it had a nice size desk, internet connection, and large-screen flat-panel TV that swivels. The Heavenly bed and dual shower head were welcome amenities. After 5 weeks I was just as comfortable there as when I first arrived.

There were some drawbacks, namely the occasional cockroach some of my colleagues encountered in their rooms an dining area, and very slow elevators. There are only three guest elevators, which in the mornings caused 5-10 minute wait times. To the hotel's credit, whenever the property was fully booked, they made the two service elevators, located behind the guest elevators, available to guests, with helpful lobby signs directing you to them. Actually, the service elevators are available anytime so I used them almost exclusively. The pool area is rather small and difficult to get to first time (ask directions). The fitness room was also quite small, the size of a suite, and too warm and stuffy to be inviting.

In-room food service was fine, with expected high prices. The service and front desk staff were universally pleasant, helpful, and eager to please.

If you need to get downtown, the hotel offers a free shuttle (tips appreciated). I chose to walk the mile to my office and found I really looked forward to that every day. You can swing around the convention center on River Walk and get there in 15-20 minutes.

On weekends, tucked under the bridge from the mainland to Harbour Island is a City Bike Tampa rental hut. I recommend taking one out in the morning (open at 10:00 a.m.) and then make a day of it tooling around neighboring Davis Islands, Channel Side, Ybor City, and the three museums downtown (MOPA, Museum of Art, and Plant Museum). Tampa is a beautiful city so get out and enjoy it if you're there on business.

Our group coordinator was apologetic that she couldn't arrange accommodations closer to our office building downtown because our timing conflicted with several conventions and Gasparilla, the pirate invasion/Mardi Gras festival, but I couldn't have been happier that we stayed on Harbour Island at the Westin.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1226 on the southwestern side. Sunrise very morning was a treat and the view south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you jimdago for the wonderful comments about your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Our staff takes pride in providing extraordinary services to our guests. From the moment you walk through the front door until the time you depart it is our goal to have you feeling better than you did when you arrived!
It was truly a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    232
    135
    69
    49
See reviews for
146
186
51
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Last night my husband along with our friend had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful hotel. We booked it thru Hotwire and we could not have been more pleased. The room was perfect and the view of the water and the city could not have been better. Everyone there was so polite. The beds there are to die for. If you are ever there for a hockey game which u can walk to very easy or just want a great weekend away think of this place I promise you that you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: As for a water view room higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Marilyn D!
Our staff is pleased that you and your husband were able to enjoy the view from our rooms, our Westin Heavenly Beds and every associate that you came in contact with!
On your next trip to Tampa we hope you choose to stay with us again at the Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was dining alone at breakfast and my waiter, Steve Tassi, was extremely efficient, friendly and helpful. He was more than willing to provide some history on the area but more importantly for me he provided some good shopping hot spots. Excellent waiter!! I enjoyed chatting with him during my breakfast.

The front desk staff was also very friendly and efficient. The hotel is undergoing some renovations but our room was clean and met our needs. It had a beautiful view.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Kris M!
It is wonderful to know that Steve took such great care of you and provided you with such a personal experience during your breakfast. In addition, it is great to hear that you found our front desk associates to be very friendly and efficient.
Please come back soon and stay with us here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was in town for business and decided to stay the night at the Westin on Harbour Island. The property itself was updated and nice with a great view, but the staff is really where this property excelled. Everyone was so accommodating and helpful, especially Craig. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Ryan M!
It is our goal to exceed our guest’s expectations and it seems that we have done just that with yours! Your comments have been shared with the entire staff including Craig!
We hope to see you again on your next business trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at The Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel the night before our NCL Cruise from Tampa because it was very close to our pier and made our cruise even more enjoyable.We didn't have to worry about getting to the boat in time and even though we had our car for transportation ,we could have taken a shuttle to the boat if needed,The accomodations were excellent ans we would go back there again on our next cruise from Tampa

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island WillieMillie!
Our entire staff is pleased to hear that you found our accommodations to be excellent in the heart of Fabulous Tampa Bay!
Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We (2 parties of 2) only stayed here one night....had a king bed room with a lovely view of the water and shoreline. We found the personnel to be very helpful and courteous. Although we did not request the same floor, they did do some jockeying to keep us together.

This hotel is undergoing some renovations....new carpet etc...and we received 2 letters letting us know what areas were being updated. The hotel is looking a little worn so the updates are timely.
Self parking was $17.00 per day which I thought was excessive.

We had breakfast in their restaurant with the usual buffet or menu ordering. Our waitress was especially helpful and cheerf

Room Tip: Ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island JLSCoralSprings!
Our staff is pleased to know that you and your family found our staff to be personnel, helpful and courtesy. Thank you for your patience as we are modifying many areas of our hotel. In addition, we are happy to hear that your waitress was especially helpful and cheerful!
Your wonderful comments are appreciated and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel was a little tricky to find due to one way roads. However in our driving around, we found a parking lot around the corner for $5 flat rate (no matter how long the stay) as opposed to $20/night parking at hotel. Fantastic! The location of this hotel is ideal, we were there for a concert and this was a 5 minute walk. There wasn't much else around though, the one shopping area at the cruise port was a disappointment (although it was neat to see the cruise ship so close up). We walked around for quite a while and didn't find anything of interest to do.
The room we got was great, we had a nice view of the harbour. The bed was super comfortable but very high. The bathroom was fine. The restaurant was expensive so we did not eat there. There is a Starbucks and a sports bar just down the road in front of the arena. The sports bar was great (Champions).
All in all, a nice hotel and a great location if you can get it for a decent price and eat elsewhere!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island 1SunLovingCouple!
It is wonderful to hear that you found our hotel to be nice and in a great location!
We hope that you and yours come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Address: 725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Tampa
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#25 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#25 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#29 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Harbour Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.