We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice City View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Tampa Harbour Island to your Saves list
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #37 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice City View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I booked this through hotels.com and was told that it had a balcony. Also the photos on the web site also showed a balcony with sliding glass doors. I also requested reserving the highest floor I could get, the hotel knew nothing of this. Gee, I could have called the hotel directly and reserved my own room.
It was a beautiful location the night city view was great and the harbour was also nice. In a great location in downtown.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room up high and with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We appreciate your feedback, Sandy C. We at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island strive to exceed our guest expectations. We apologize about any mis-information you might have recieved during your booking process. I encourage you to please contact us in the future. A member of our guest service team will be more than happy to assist you in acommodating your requests upon availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    315
    186
    93
    60
See reviews for
189
267
60
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The location of this hotel is absolutely amazing. The staff were lovely and extremely responsive to me and my family. But, they really have to upgrade the executive suites in the hotel. At almost $400 a night a lot more luxury is needed in there so called 'luxury suites'. A 25 inch tv in the living room......really. Furniture from the 80's and broken shower head.........And please do something about the lifts........i swear i thought the wires were about to snap with all the creaking and squeaking noises.........
A real shame cause the staff were so wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Greetings from the Westin Tampa Harbour Island nijalowa!

It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our location in the heart of downtown Tampa! Our staff takes pride in the services we provide. Please know that your comments have been shared with our executive committee in order to improve upon our guests’ experience.

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Beautiful hotel, great location. Greeted by Lauren who helped me obtain guest pass to outdoor lap pool. Craig @ the bar found the perfect compliment of entree & local ybor city beer for late lunch. Cozy, private, very quiet. A really special place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Drmarathon56!

It was truly our pleasure to have you as our guest! I hope all went well with the seals!

We look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keldozer
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for a girls' weekend out of town and I really have no complaints! The location was great, close to downtown and within walking distance to the streetcar/trolley. The valet guys were really nice and helpful when we had questions. I have to say the beds here are HEAVENLY!! One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in in my life! The rooms were clean and the shower with the double head was pretty awesome as well! Our view was of the harbor and it was beautiful, well worth the little extra we paid. Overall, very happy with this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you sharing your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island keldozer!

Our entire staff is pleased that you enjoyed our custom made Heavenly Beds and duel shower heads! Also, our tranquil location in the heart of downtown is a great place for a night out and we hope that you come back and visit us again for another girls’ weekend soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Visiting Tampa on business with about 15 colleagues. Plenty of options in this area of Tampa but we took a chance on the Westin Tampa Harbour Island. I wish we had gone to the Marriott 200 yards away. The room was nice and the view was decent but it seems as though the Westin wanted to nickel and dime us for everything. Nice hotel and the staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island autigers5252!

It is nice to know that you were pleased with our hotel and staff. Please know that we do have a preferred guest program which can earn you amenities including complimentary internet as a loyal member!

We hope to see you again and thank you for staying at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel has the best staff I've ever encountered in a hotel. The property is beautiful and close to just about all area attractions. I most likely won't stay anywhere else when visiting the Tampa Bay area. My only complaint is about the slow, ancient elevators. I'm sure that can easily be fixed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island stermo!

Here at the Westin Tampa Harbour we pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service. We are happy to know that you found not only our staff to be great but also our location as well! Please know that we are in the process of updating our elevators and the process will be completed soon!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The price was very reasonable and we had a nice view. Bed was comfy, room service prices were very high. But what really bothered us was a letter they put in our room after our second night, saying among other things, "We ask that when you return to your rooms this evening that you take your neighbors into consideration, keep the time in mind, and noise at a minimum. Parties are not allowed on property unless hosted by the property through our Catering Sales Department in our banquet rooms. Any rooms with excessive noise will receive a warning. Please call our Service Express by dialing 0, if you are disturbed and we will contact our guests in that room. Typically the noise will stop at that point; however, if we receive another call to that room, the guests may be evicted from the property with no refund."
We both felt they left the letter in our room because they thought we were being noisy. My husband called the manager to tell them we are quiet, elderly people and they had the wrong folks. The manager said that is a letter they put in every room and it was nothing personal. We were offended and disturbed, but he did not apologize. We feel the letter was inappropriate; drunk and disorderly guests need to be handled by security, not by a school-principal type of letter to everybody. We did not feel like treasured guests. They need to read the book "Hug your Customer". On another day, housekeeping did not replenish a number of items in our room (cups and coffee supplies, etc). When I called the front desk, they sent up a guy with the items, but only half of what I told them was missing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Greetings from the Westin Tampa Harbour Island adoptsomekids!
I apologize for the miscommunication you had with the letter placed under your door. It was not our intention to ever have a guest feeling offended and disturbed but rather empowered and reassured that here at the hotel we strive make sure every guests leave the hotel feeling refreshed and renewed! Also, I apologize for not replenishing some of the items in your room. Your comments are being shared with our entire executive team in order to improve upon the services we provide.
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Le Meridien Tampa
#24 of 159 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Westin Tampa Bay
#49 of 159 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#25 of 159 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Address: 725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
#30 Business Hotel in Tampa
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Harbour Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.